We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Northwood Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northwood Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Northwood Inn and Suites
 Click to rate
Rochester, MN
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came up as first choice with Trip Advisor. It was cheapest overnight stay. Staff was pleasant enough but the place is generally so old and run down that , even though we left our car there, we decided not to sleep there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLCRochester_MN
muscatine, Iowa
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

hotel really bad. Its my first time giving bad review but necessary. The locks was broken. Has one ned queen and one full when its supposed to be queen boths in the suit. Stove with mold. Strong smell in the room start to feel my eyes burning in less than 20min in the room. Change hotel fast with free cancelation!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 821kathy
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

OMG, if I could give a zero I would. Where do I start. Stayed as a stop over after visiting family. Arrived, reception looked ok, then it hit us what a dive it really was, the stench of stale smoke and fresh smell of the what you can't buy in the store, type of smoke. Overwhelmed to say the least....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
South Dakota
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We chose this hotel primarily because it was close to the airport and we could leave our car at no extra charge and take the shuttle. At $130/night, we did not expect a luxury hotel, but also did not expect a dump, but a dump is what we found. To get to our room, we walked on carpet so dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjcSouthDakota
Elon, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I debated on giving this terrible place two stars - only because the staff was friendly and the location was convenient to the airport. However I couldn't do it. I can't believed we were taken for $90 thanks to the Ryder Cup. Had I paid $39 maybe I wouldn't be surprised. The room was large and had a good TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherrieARC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms had the basic amenities. No coffee pot however. Beds were comfortable and a nice flat screen tv. Cleaning was horrible and the carpets were DIRTY. The tile in the bathroom was very dirty and needed a good scrubbing and also the wall around the toilet needed cleaning. I found a remote to some old tv in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mexicohopper1
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience....

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We were suppose to stay 3 night but only stayed 1 because we couldn't handle how disgusting dirt it was !! The pull out bed was broken ! Towels were dirt and used !! It was unbelievable that people stay there !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wibankrr
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience...

Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The motel appears to be a hotel in the picture so this is deceiving. I was nervous when I dropped my car off for a park and fly stay due to the age of the motel. I found that the lobby smelled like smoke which made me even more nervous. Upon my return from my trip I had to take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GypsyWannabe90
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry our hotel wasn't a good match for your needs. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I was satisfied with the stay. This was my second time stay in last 2 years and I will stay again if I am in Minnesota. Close to everything I visited, respects culture, authentic, staff very much friendlier, nice breakfast especially the coffee, large safe room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam K
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback. I’m glad that our hotel impressed you enough that you would stay with us again. Our goal is to provide an experience worth repeating for every guest, every time. I hope you will tell others about our hotel and make us your first choice in the area for the future. We’ll be here for...

Colorado
Reviewed 12 May 2016

I booked this hotel through Expedia and then happened to look at the reviews. I was preparing for a bad experience, but actually it wasn't so bad. I was worried about having my room door face the outdoors, as I've had a bad experience in other hotels where it was too noisy to sleep, but there is a separate building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCrowder
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#37 of 44 in Bloomington
468 reviews
0.2 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington East - Airport
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
1.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Northwood Inn and suites Bloomington! The Mall of America is 1 mile from the Northwood Inn & suites for numerous shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Northwood Inn and suites is four miles from Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and offers comfortable accommodations while having a central location near the region's main attractions. Guest services include 24-hour attendant, free parking, indoor heated pool, business services and a complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Dining options near the motel include Denny's, Split Rock Grille, Shells Café and Outback Steakhouse. The Water Park of America is three blocks from the motel featuring the largest indoor water park in America. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northwood Inn and Suites

Address: 1225 E 78th St, I-494, Exit 3, Bloomington, MN 55425
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Price Range: $85 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Northwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwood Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Travel Lodge
Bloomington Travelodge
Travelodge Bloomington
Travel Lodge Bloomington
Northwood Inn And Suites Bloomington/Minneapolis, MN
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northwood Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Northwood Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have any allergies or breathing difficulties DO NOT stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles GypsyWannabe90, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with the doors facing in.”
 of 5 bubbles KCrowder, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“We staid in a one bed king room. It wasn't large, but it was fine for one night.”
 of 5 bubbles tonybN8905XW, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay at the quality inn down the road!! Avoid Northwood inn”
 of 5 bubbles kirsty2436, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay on a cold day...or night or figure on using the "free"wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinD16GT, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5