We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Swan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Swan
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can not really review fully as we only had drinks but a very beautiful looking pub. It was very quiet but it was a week night!. Would like to come again possibly with the family on a weekend and maybe try food. Loved the ducks in the garden area and plenty to do for children!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good evening, Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan pub its always great to hear customer feedback, We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards Stuart Wraith Operations manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yet again we have been been left disappointed with our trip to this pub This was special joint birthday for my son and daughter in law We walked in carrying a cake and cup cakes to give out to the guests we were shown our table and left to it No one offered to take the cake from us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good Morning Linda, Thankyou for taking the time to send us your feedback, We are whole heartedly sorry for the service you received which are way below what we aim to provide. Your comments have been passed onto our GM who is looking into the issues you have raised. We did have some service issues on the day of your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such a beautiful setting, a lovely country pub, great place for families as play area for kiddies, duck pond, really lovely, but the food they just can't get it right, it's forgettable and there are 3 or 4 places just a few miles into the country side who do get it right . Fish and chips can't go wrong with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good evening Judith, Thankyou for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important to us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry that we have fallen short of your expectations on this visit and have passed your comments onto our team to look into the issues you have raised. We shortly have a new head...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff great building beautiful,that's the only best bits,ordered steak pie and mash ,mash hard and tasteless,veg over cooked the best part of this meal was the gravy ordered apple pie custard it came and it looked so bad couldn't eat it,it was so bad looked like vomit on a plate,don't serve what's is on menu and then say some customers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbrad2359
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations on this visit and are currently reviewing our food offering. We would like to apologise for the issues you have raised which are far from the service and...

carlisle
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Easy parking; not far off the M6, and worth the detour (approx 2 - 3 miles?) Pleasant airy and light conservatory-style dining area, and other rooms. Good menu; interesting pie style, tables well spaced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank izziebon
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good Evening Izzie, Thankyou for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kindest Regards Stuart Wraith Operations Manager

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had looked at the menu on line before we left and my son who is a bit of a fussy eater saw the burger and that is what he decided he wanted. We booked a table and arrived to be greeted by a lovely young lady Charlotte who showed us to our table. We were given our menus but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon, Kindest Regards Stuart Wraith Operations Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The pub is in a lovely setting and is pretty inside. That's where it all stops. The service was slow. We were given the wrong bill and the food was just mediocre but overpriced. We arrived between services, which is strange.We were told we had to sit in the pub until 5 o clock when we'd be allowed into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lumb12
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations on this visit and are currently reviewing our food offering. We would like to apologise for the issues you have raised which are far from the service and...

Manchester
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Being a soup lover I ordered "Soup and a Sandwich". Big mistake! The soup came in a TINY tea-cup and the sandwich had a very small piece of beef in it. Not only that, but the beef was tough and gristly. The sandwich was padded out with loads of salad, and there was a huge pile of salad on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank New2nA
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations on this visit and are currently reviewing our food offering. We would like to apologise for the issues you have raised which are far from the service and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My husband and I recently visited for Sunday lunch, not been before and won't be going back. The staff were lovely but the food was overpriced and although not the worse lunch I've had it definitely wasn't the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations on this visit and are currently reviewing our food offering and pricing. Thankyou for taking the time to send us your comments Kindest Regards Stuart Operations manager

manchester
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed here for a 60th birthday celebration; Our room was fine, very nice in fact, but the Breakfast was a let down; The Eggs were hard,,,sausage cheap and greasy soggy Hash Brown. Just 1 slice of toast; For £75 a little more could be expected;

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catsandkittens
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thanks for taking the time to review The Black Swan its always important for us to hear feedback from our customers. We are sorry we fell short on your expectations on this visit and are currently reviewing our food offering. We would like to apologise for the issues you have raised which are far from the quality we...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollins Green
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
4.1 km away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
802 reviews
4.6 km away
Statham Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
1,211 reviews
7.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
437 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#13 of 21 in Warrington
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: Hollins Green 550 Manchester Road, Hollins Green WA3 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Hollins Green
Price Range: $96 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask when booking”
Manchester11, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the Bridge room and it was a lovely room did overlook the road but no noise”
DonnaG746, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“We had deluxe room which was great.”
H1314DGjohng, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Specify a room not above the bar if you're planning an early night on quiz night”
TravelllingDave, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not over the bar”
_whyley2, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5