We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Budget Host Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Budget Host Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I travel for work a lot of the time in Detroit Lakes... I stay here every time I'm in Detroit Lakes and I've never had a bad experience.. rooms are very clean and nice.. the owners of the hotel are very friendly and are there when you need something..Very good people!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDstroud
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and for the price this was a great place to stay. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the bed was comfortable. Oh, and the staff is super friendly. We periodically make trips to Detroit Lakes and I'll definitely stay here again. This is a family run motel. They clean the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette J
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The staff is very friendly, always welcoming, and kind. The rooms are very clean. I have stayed in two different rooms at different times and both were decent size. Large bathroom in one and a nice little kitchenette in the other. Could make dinner in room which was nice. There was plenty of parking. From the outside it may put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrettbrittany19
Melrose, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I made a reservation directly thru TripAdvisor and they made a very big mistake. I requested a 2 bed room. I was given a 1 bed room when I got there. The front desk was so accommodating, they gave us the cottage, at I'm sure at a very difference is price. They didn't charge me the difference, which I'm sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carnut113
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Stayed here for the night and the free Wifi was not very good connection and the front desk said that it was working fine and my computer must be the problem. Lame excuse for poor Wifi. Need to update this whole place as we will not be back any time soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

First of all we would like to thank you for posting the review and we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations Mr.Douglas . Now as you may recall we had come to your room to fix the issues on your laptop with regards to your WIFI and your smartphones were already connected to WIFI and...

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Our room was large and clean. Did not expect the refrigerator and microwave, so that was a pleasant surprise. The manager at check-in and check-out was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
Cochrane
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Ok this is not a 5 star resort but it provides all you need for a very good price. The owners are friendly and very accomodating. I would stay here again. It's well worth checking into this charming motel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

This room was the most disgusting thing I've ever laid my eyes on. We paid $150 to set our bags in while we attended a wedding. We tried getting our money back, if not all at least a break. The lady at the front desk was rude and said there wasn't anything she could do about it. We ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle W
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we did leave up to your expectations ,but we request you to call us and let us know what did you find that was so `DISGUSTING` in the room as we know that our property is little old but the rooms are kept very clean and are inspected everyday , We will wait to hear back from...

Roseville, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The owners are wonderful people, very polite and accommodating. The room was quite small, but we just needed it for sleeping between our active days! It had a microwave and refrigerator, which were BIG plusses. It was very clean and quiet while we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGo48
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and we certainly appreciate your business .

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We were asked upon exiting our vechicle if we wanted some Jello shots by a group of 20 something men that were sitting in chairs outside their room and appeared very drunk. When entering our room we noticed a terrible smell of what can be called a porta potty and found the refrigerator open and not working. The noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debdew10
Rakesh O, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We are exetremely sorry the hotel was not upto your expectations. First of all we do not allow partying and noise at our porperty ,so we are requesting you to call the hotel let us know what day and room number you stayed in and we will be happy to look into it. Secondly on...

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
1.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
0.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
39.1 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a value Hotel located less then a mile from the Detroit Lakes public beach. What you can expect from our hotel are clean room with microwave ,refrigerator and coffee maker in all rooms,we do offer free continental breakfast (not hot) during summer months,free WIFI,great service,free mini golf for guests staying at hotel with the RATES YOU CAN SLEEP WITH . Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 895 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budget Host Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great price!”
 of 5 bubbles barrettbrittany19, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose any!”
 of 5 bubbles janewS6876OZ, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles TabithaM807, 29 Sep 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay