We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Booking.comUS$110*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Ramsey, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We have stayed here many times. Used to be nice & always enjoyed it. The last few stays have been sub par. Front desk staff is not the most friendly. Had a free room from the debacle of our previous stay. Met a young couple in the lounge who actually voiced the same complaint we had from previous stay. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria L
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Maria L, Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for your recent stay being sub par. We take our reviews very seriously and are always trying to improve our hotel and I'm sorry to hear that there were a ton of kids and drunken adults near the pool area. The...

Reviewed 18 February 2015

We, Grandma, Grandpa, Dad, and 5 and 7 year old girls stayed one night when traveling from Northern MN to the twin cities. A good break with young children on a 300+ mile trip. We used both pools, and the restaurant. We had a suite that comfortably slept 6. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keneh
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Keneh, Thank you for doing a review on our hotel and for staying with us at the Holiday Inn & Suites. It sounds like you and your family had a nice stay and you enjoyed our two pools, restaurants, and your room. I'm glad to hear that my staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying with us...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 February 2015

My husband and I were looking to take a cheap getaway to Duluth, so we booked one night at Holiday Inn Downtown Duluth. It was a GREAT location, its connected to the walkway that leads to Canal Park. But that being said, we were on the 8th floor in a hallway next to the pool. Be wary, there is also...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ltracy08
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ltracy08, thanks for staying with us recently and for filling out a review on your stay. I'm so sorry that the pool area was noisy during your stay. We make every effort to keep the pool area quiet between 10:30p-8a but it sounds like we had a couple of "gate jumpers" that our security team had to kick out...

Michigan
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Stayed here a Saturday night at the end of January. Lots of kids and I believe it was most likely a hockey night in town. Common areas are worn and dirty. I have visited this hotel several times in the past and have always stayed in a king suite. The suites are nicely updated but the king room I had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JustABeachBum58
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JustABeachBum58, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and I will share this review with my management team to research further some of the issues you had and I apologize for those. Could you email me at: gerry.goldfarb@hiduluth.com to let me...

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We stayed there 3 nights for a medical appointment. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even mapped out where I had to go for our appointments. Super nice shuttle drivers and always on time. Great restaurants and shops right in the building. We were very happy with everything. Will be staying there again anytime we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepsiface1941
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Pepsiface1941, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our front desk staff and our shuttle drivers. We appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to you staying with us again soon! Sincerely, Gerry...

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We had a great stay again. Noticed they've even done more great things to the hotel since our last stay. My kids loved the market in the lobby for some late night snacks. I liked their large exercise room. Breakfast in Porters was good. Loved the pancakes! Kids ate free and they liked theirs too! Enjoyed Duluth, walked the indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoTwins_Vikings
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GoTwins_Vikings, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our hotel in Duluth. We appreciate the positive feedback and also thank you for staying with us! We look forward to you staying with us again. Sincerely, Gerry Goldfarb General Manager

Rydigital
Reviewed 19 January 2015

My family and I travel to Duluth a few times a year and we always stay at the Holiday Inn. The location is ideal for us being downtown and close to a lot of the activities you can do in Duluth. The kids enjoy the two pools they have, when one is busy we move to the other. The recently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rydigital
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Rydigital, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Duluth. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that your kids like our two pools that we have. Thank you for mentioning the suggestion to switch pools if one is busier than the other as I recommend that too which...

Reviewed 16 January 2015

I am staying in this hotel right now. It is almost 10pm and there are still kids running around in the corridor and SCREAMING, literally in capital letters. There are also people walking back and forth and talking extremely loud. I travel for work a lot and this is by far the noisiest place I have been to. Last night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelBip
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TravelBip, Thank you for staying with us and for your review on your stay last Friday night. I am so sorry for the noisy experience you had during your stay at our hotel. We did have some hockey teams in our building which kept our security and guest services team busy and we make every effort to keep our...

Thunder Bay
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Best customer service in town. We were on a last minute get away and decided to stay the night. I booked a hotel online and when I arrived I was shocked!!! The chain was under new owners and was no longer the chain I booked. I quickly called over to the Holiday Inn across the street and was greeted by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travler10_12
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Dear travler10_12, Thank you for the kind feedback and review on the service you were provided at our Holiday Inn and for staying with us while you were here in Duluth. I'm glad our front desk team was able to take good care of you and you enjoyed your dinner in our Sneakers restaurant and service from Brandon. We are...

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed here poolside in December. Staying in December you have the advantage of this hotel being part of the skyway. This means you can get anywhere downtown or even to Canal park in the warmth of indoors. Unfortunately that is the best part of the hotel. The room walls are paper thin and you could literally have a conversation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive Z
Gerry_Goldfarb, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown, responded to this review

Clive Z, Thank you for your review of your stay and for staying with us. I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing night at our hotel. Our two pool areas can be busy at times but we do want our guests to have a great stay and it sounds like it didn't happen while you stayed with us....

445 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (63)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (47)
Viewed
Standard King Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.5 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
455 reviews
1.0 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
0.4 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown is the largest, full service, NON SMOKING hotel in Duluth. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown on the hub of the Skywalk System; directly connecting us to DECC. We have two pools, saunas, whirlpool, children's wading pool as well as three restaurants within the hotel. We offer complimentary shuttle service, free parking, free Wi-Fi, 24HR business center and a 24HR fitness center. Room variety includes King, Two Double Bed rooms, Lakeview rooms, Jacuzzi, King and Two-Double Bed Suites. Welcome! We'd love to have you as our guest! Duluth starts Here! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown

Address: 200 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802-1921
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $163 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn And Suites Duluth Downtown
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Duluth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
9 months ago
Edmonton, Canada
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
7 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very clean hotel and two pools!!”
HBaum24, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you need an elevator - choose a different hotel”
MeSoTan, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I always ask for a room with 2 queen beds for a little extra room”
NinaP248, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pool is on the 8th floor and is very loud. Avoid any room on 8-12th floors between #'s 20 and higher.”
christostavrou, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view of the lift bridge or at least part of the harbor. Can be lovely.”
434jordans, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$110
getaroom.comUS$118
HolidayInn.comUS$110
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates