We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hunter Winfield's Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hunter Winfield\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Hunter Winfield's Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The resort refund policy is shady and unprofessional. My reservation was cancel by the resort due to weather condition. I was ok with the cancellation of the reservation but very upset with the refund of my deposit. The resort cancel my reservation on Tuesday stated a full refund of my deposit. The shady part was asking me to wait till...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pao Y
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Great time. you will have an excellent experience when dealing with the staff from this resort. Nellie completed the booking and had answers to any questions we had and she was great. Had a chance to meet the owner as he was servicing the ice houses. He took the time to speak with us and is just a great person....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review! Glad you had a good time, hope to see you again!

Edina
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We had a great time at Hunter Winfield's for our office outing. The cabins were great and cozy. We rented 4 and all were clean and in good shape. We did some ice fishing one afternoon and the setup was amazing. Staff was all super nice and very accommodating. Highly recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshd827
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing - glad you had a great time this winter, hope to see you again!

Metro Minneapolis-saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Hunters provided top notch service and event planning for my group. They were very friendly and put us on fish. Also, they have the nicest houses on the lake! Satellite TV, Oven, Stoves, and plenty of room to relax in comfort! I will be back next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Project3482
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - looking forward to seeing you next year! We had a great fishing year on the lake this winter, glad you had a good time!

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This was our first trip to MN to ice fish. We usually rough it in IL but the trip to Hunter Winfield's resort was awesome! The staff was very friendly and helpful! I was the only female on the trip so the fact our wheelhouse had a "bathroom" was a big perk! No wandering around on the dark ice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickic9912017
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and thanks for making the trip from IL - looking forward to having you again next year...normally we have TP in the houses, we'll make a note to keep an eye on that!

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 17 January 2017

After researching ice fishing spots for a while, we took a shot on Hunter Winfield's, and it was a WINNER! I took my father and 10-year-old son on a guys' trip and we had the best time. My father, who has been a successful lake fisherman for many years actually said this was his favorite fishing trip ever! We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris_mcray
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Glad your boy had a great experience - Mike is one of the best guides on the lake and he loves it when kids especially have a great experience! Hope to see you again, thank you for choosing us!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Our family, from Houston, rented a fish house so our kids could experience MN. The Hunter Winfield staff was beyond excellent and the fish house was exceptional. The boys even caught a bunch of fish! Great job, Hunter Winfield's Resort!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troywhouston
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing - we love it when kids get to catch fish, we are glad you had a great time this winter, hope to see you again!

Rogers, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Took 6 kids and 4 adults on an evening launch back in late July. The pontoon was very spacious--plenty of room to fish and grill. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the guide was great as well. Caught plenty of fish and had plenty of fun. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldManBurgus
Pine City, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Air conditioner in the cabin did not work. When we called to complain manager was very rude. After our experience I emailed the resort to let them know about the manager on duty and how rude he was. I sent 3 emails before I got a response from the resort. The response came from the manager that I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlindahl06
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Sorry for the issue you had. Dave was the appropriate resource to escalate to. I did find out about your issues from my father-in-law who somehow received a phone call at his home. I am not sure how that happened, but Dave did send us the information and we felt he had it handled. Apologies for mis-communication.

Urbandale
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We came up to Mille lacs for a week for the first time and rented Hunters 2013 Pontoon, Nelle and Dave were both awesome in every way possible!! I would recommend Hunter Winfields to anyone and everyone for all your boat rental needs!! When we come back we will definitely be back to them again!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SchroederIowa
mac0916, Owner at Hunter Winfield's Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying this past summer - glad you had a good time, we appreciate the review!

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle
19.4 km away
Eddy's Resort
Eddy's Resort
#2 of 5 in Onamia
78 reviews
22.5 km away
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
34.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Mora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
McQuoid's Inn & Event Center
30.7 km away
Twin Pines Resort
Twin Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Garrison
28 reviews
9.0 km away
Izatys Golf and Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hunter Winfield's is located on beautiful Isle Bay on Lake Mille Lacs' SE Corner. We feature log cabin rentals, guide fishing, boat rentals, charter/launch boat fishing, bicycle rentals, ice fishing house rentals with DirecTV and fish house sales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hunter Winfield's Resort

Address: 510 Lake St W, Isle, MN 56342-4902
Region: United States > Minnesota > Isle
Price Range: $61 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hunter Winfield's Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your blanket and pillow.”
vickic9912017, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rent the Libery log home for the best experience!”
nancyb890, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A small fan in the main bedroom would be great. The A/C doesn't seem to get into that room.”
roxannemcintosh, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“This review is for the Hunter Winfield launch only. Bring a jacket, it is 10 degrees cooler on water and cooler in evening.”
  • Sunset on Hunter Winfield evening launch.
busymom11, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Many cabins and ice cabins to choose from. Check out their website for more info.”
KevinBieganek, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5