We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cascade Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (80)
Pool & Beach (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
YOUR HISTORIC BASECAMP ON THE NORTH SHORE Cascade Lodge, established 1927, is a landmark property on the North Shore of Lake Superior surrounded on three sides by Cascade River State Park. Cascade Lodge offers a warm, inviting environment with log cabins and lodge rooms that display rustic charm and modern amenities in an extraordinary natural setting. Cascade Restaurant & Pub at Cascade Lodge offers authentic North Shore ambiance with a nod to Irish public houses, and is committed to sourcing local and seasonal ingredients featured on a casual and approachable menu. Beer on drought, exciting wines by the glass list, and inspired craft cocktails are perfect provisions for a truly relaxing and inviting experience. Cascade Lodge is conveniently located nearby Lutsen Mountain Ski area and Superior National at Lutsen Golf Course. Miles of hiking, mountain biking, cross country skiing, snow shoeing and snowmobiling trails start from the lodge and cabins.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lake View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
443Reviews
219Photos
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 243
  • 130
  • 44
  • 14
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I'm sure some would find the old worn out lodge charming, but we just thought it was over priced and desparetly in need of renovation. The bed was terrible, the tv didn't' work most of the time, the furniture was cheap hotel garbage. The rest of the property was great and you
Read more
Response from cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all of our guests. I am very sorry to hear of your experience. I have not had any notices of TV issues recently. If we are not made aware of an issue then we cannot know to fix it. As far as the overall Lodge experience I am also sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We have many, many, happy repeat guests who have come to love this historic property. We don’t try to be something that we are not. All the pictures on our website are current. Our room prices are some of the lowest on the North Shore, please check around. We also do not charge a 9% resort fee on top of the rate, that many properties up here do charge. We’re bound to get the occasional guest who doesn’t enjoy their experience. We wish that wasn’t the case, but you simply cannot please everyone. We have guests who absolutely rave about our new mattresses getting the best nights sleep in years and others who tell the world how horrible they are. They are the exact same in every room/cabin. There’s no winning. We’ll just continue to give all we are able to our guests and this business and know that the vast majority of our guests truly enjoy the experience, the beds, the location, the price and the restaurant. Sincerely, Thom McAleer
Read more
Property's Favourite Review
We just returned from a week long stay at Cascade Lodge and we loved it. It is comfortable, spotlessly clean, with a wonderfully warm and helpful staff and owners and a restaurant serving delicious food just across their driveway. It is a great location on Minnesota's North
Read more
We tried snowshoeing for first time. Loved it. I wish the beds were a bit softer. View was great. Our room was hot but we opened windows. We like it 50 degrees to sleep. That might not be what everyone else enjoys. Staff knows the area well. The restaurant is wonderful.
Read more
We loved everything about our stay at Cascade Lodge in June of 2018! We arrived later in the evening and were greeting warmly by the staff. We had signed on for the Bed and Breakfast deal, so he was quick to explain how those breakfast tickets would work at their restaurant in
Read more
Beautiful location, withal nice view of the lake across Hwy 61. Log cabin was nice for 2 people. No kitchen, but there is microwave and small fridge. Not noticeable from inside, but step outside and you are sometimes overwhelmed by snowmobiled revving their excessively loud
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementCascade Lodge
Cabins 1, 2, 3
View from porch
Lovely view of Lake Superior from the deck,
Clean rustic log cabin with vaulted ceiling, plumbing and electricity!
PreviousNext
12345616
Does Suite 104 have a refrigerator and microwave?
Yes. It has a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, two flat screen tv’s and WiFi.
0 votes
Do they have fire rings for a bon fire?
Some of the cabins have private fire rings, there is also a larger fire ring on the property that any of the guests can use.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there an elevator for handicapped or seniors
Our Main Lodge does not have an elevator. We do have several rooms and cabins at ground floor however.
0 votes
"Don't stay in the lodge"
"Not all rooms have microwaves but the rec room does have one if you need it!"
"Base Camp A"
"Look at all the rooms and cabins to select what best fits your needs."
"Book a cabin as they are peaceful and quiet locations"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cascade hotel lutsen
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaLutsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing