We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cascade Lodge

TravelocityUS$99*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cascade Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cascade Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Phillisburg, Nj
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We spend 2 nights at the Cascade Lodge as the last leg of our 10-day NE Minnesota birding trip. We were glad that we stayed at this lodge instead of busy and crowd Grand Marais area. The Lodge offers hotel room style accommodation as well as cabins and a walking-distance restaurant. We stayed at the main lodge building with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mraquila
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for becoming one of our repeat guests! We really appreciate your informative review. Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Reviewed 31 July 2016

A very nice location right next to Cascade Park. The trails along the Cascade River are manageable by most hikers. You can join the trails right from the Cascade Lodge. You have a great view of Lake Superior and the deck on the south side of the lodge was very relaxing. We stayed in a rustic cabin and were quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your excellent review of our property! We especially appreciate you noticing our Irish themed entrees and specialty drinks. We are thankful to be surrounded by Cascade River State park with it's many visitors and speed control laws in place. Take care and hope to see you again some time. Michael and Maureen O'Phelan, Owners

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed two nights in room 104 (the honeymoon suite). Loved the private patio and lake views. At times, the truck traffic was a bit loud but it never kept us up. The property offers easy access to the lake (it's a rocky beach but you can swim here easily) and excellent access to local hiking trails and the Superior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweeting_Travel
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our Main Lodge suite 104--one of our air conditioned units! I am glad you took some time to enjoy our wonderful trails and the awesome Lake Superior shoreline that is accesible to all of our guests. Hope to see you again. Michael O'Phelan, Owner

Northfield, Ohio
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed at the main lodge. It's a very old building so the walls are paper thin. We could here everything. The people next door to us were up with their little kids until 2 am talking and yelling at them. It was more of a mtater of poor parenting rather than a problem with Cascade Lodge. I complained when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blee89
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry your stay at Cascade Lodge was disrupted by other guests. I appreciate you noting that it was not Cascade but the other guests that were the problem. This happens at all hotels from time to time and is unfortunate. For the record, all of our rooms have insulated interior walls to cut down on noise and our room...

Minnesota
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Great location for North Shore day trips. From front porch of lodge a fantastic view of lake right across the road. Not a beach, per say; pretty rugged, but a beautiful, hike-able shoreline. I should have asked for a room on the 2nd floor. My room was right off the lobby. Didn't like the idea of a public area, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of our property. You most likely stayed in room 103 I'm guessing and you most likely booked online. 103 is very popular with families because it is located off of our great room and they an enjoy a large game filled space just outside their door. I am glad you liked our facilities and amenities as...

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Classic old Lodge- homey and comfortable- with games, books, and a piano in the lounge. Wonderful service from the staff- and great views of the Lake. We enjoyed the Cascade Hiking Trails right there on the property as well as the Restaurant next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. And a special thanks for mentioning our very nice award winning restaurant! We hope to see you again--perhaps you might enjoy our Hikers Delight Package which includes a shuttle to a trail head and 20 miles of hiking plus breakfast and lunch over a 3 day period! It's a very popular...

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

My husband and I had a great stay at the Cascade Lodge. The property is very conveniently situated between Lutsen and Grand Marais. We loved being able to hike directly from our cabin. Our favorite part was enjoying a bottle of champagne on the rocks in front of the hotel, with the only other noise being the waves from Lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review of our property! I love sitting on the ledgerock on Lake Superior and enjoying the view of Cascade Bay. I am happy you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again. Michael O'Phelan, Owner

Reviewed 23 July 2016

The area was beautiful. Our cabin was comfortable but very unhappy to find out that there was no AC. The site that I used to make reservations stated AC in cabin. All other information on web was pretty accurate. Our room was clean but outdated and the mattresses were horrible, very old and uncomfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I don't know who you booked through but it's always best to call in for the most accurate information. We do indeed have air conditioned units but only a few. If you book online it may state that we offer air conditioning but not in all units. Frankly, we are right on Lake Superior which is the best air...

Minnesota
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Whether you are hiking the Eagle Mountain High Point of Minnesota or the Cascade trails this hotel has a great location. The views are also perfect since there are no buildings between you and Lake Superior. The rooms are small but adequate, clean and minimalistic. The restaurant next door is great for breakfast and it is a quick drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate you mentioning the great hiking trails on and near our resort. In the winter we feature 60km of groomed ski trails for both classic and skate skiers--we like to say that "all trails lead to Cascade." Thanks for becoming another repeat guest! Michael O'Phelan, Owner

Willmar, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stopped on the off chance they had a vacancy - and they did! Cute, basic needs cabin, no kitchen but we didn't need one. (Cabin 3) Nice staff; helped us plan our walk that night and the hike the next day. The porch was a nice place to view parts of the lake, had a nice cross breeze. Clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sherry m
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Also, thanks for mentioning our fabulous lake shore with access to all of our guests. We have been upgrading our seating on that side of the resort and it has been well received with campfires and picnics happening all the time. Hope to see you again. Michael O'Phelan, Owner

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutsen
15.8 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
15.4 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
27.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
9.1 km away
Solbakken on Superior
14.7 km away
Caribou Highlands Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Price Range: $118 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cascade Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cascade Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins are great for some time away. Lodge is good for casual interactions with staff fellow guests.”
361raymondm, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“look at the cabin lay outs, for different room sizes and tubs, cabin 7 has a good lake view!”
346juliea, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view. Make sure your room has a bathroom as some don't!!”
patdC1931MS, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms in lodge overlook Lake Superior. Cabin #11 is tucked into the woods,surrounded by waterfalls.”
  • Cabin #11, surrounded by waterfalls and streams
  • Guests can relax here overlooking Lake Superior
janetkay01, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The highway was noisy, even in April. There is a constant roar from the stream when the water is high, but you get used to it.”
SaintPaulPaul, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$99* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
Hotwire.comUS$99
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates