We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Otter Lodge

Save
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Battle Lake, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Sunday buffet is terrible> Burger night is a big joke! Five dollars for 2 12oz.glasses of soda. No refills were offered! Very bad place. Need someone who knows how to run a restaurant and serve good food.

Helpful?
Thank lhjohns
Dan H, Owner at The Otter Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you haven't enjoyed your experiences with us. Our Sunday Buffet is $10 per person, or $8 if you have our loyalty card - a relatively low price point in the grand scheme of things, so our offerings are limited to reflect this price. We consistently offer biscuits and gravy, fried chicken, broiler pot roast, and... More 

Onamia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed here on our way from Canada to Southern Minnesota. It is a clean,, comfortable place to stay and a reasonable price. You get what you paid for. The Supper Club had good food and drinks. The staff were very friendly. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank topager49
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night to visit friends in the area, and those the staff were very nice, it was clear they did not have a record of our reservation. They found a room for us, but we were put in a suite right over the bar where a very bad band played until 2 a.m.! We certainly will travel the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We stayed here with a coupon because we like to be adventurous. I have been by here a few times before so I knew it wouldn't be anything great, but I was pleasantly surprised by the room as it had been remodeled fairly recently and it was clean which were two things I didn't expect. The beds had duvets so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luvndbison
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I am with XSarge and muskrat2 - I don't know where Myrna stayed, but the Otter Supper Club and Lodge is not it. We had a family reunion July 28-29 in Henning. We stayed at the Otter 26 - 30th. We stayed in the room with the center balcony - we came back one night after our family reunion in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshyne_Day
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Even after remodeling the place, I would stay clear unless you have no other options. They need to hire a skilled maintenance person and qualified house staff. The rooms have A.C. but the entrance/lobby does not. They have live bands that play until 1:30 AM on Friday and Saturday. You can hear the music in your room as well. Then... More 

Helpful?
Thank XSarge
North Dakota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A friend told me it's an excellant supper club with a so-so hotel. That about sums it up. When we first arrived we really were not impressed with the lobby area--dirty worn carpet and very hot. We had to go into the supper club to register, but the staff was very helpful and it went smoothly. Once in the room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank muskrat2
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Otter Lodge (a small 15-20 room hotel) is in a great location right off HWY 78 in Ottertail, MN. I have been in the Lake Ottertail region several times and even eaten at The Otter but never knew it had hotel rooms! The rooms are basic, but comfortable (and some were being updated). The best part about The Otter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna P

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Otter Lodge

Address: 306 N Highway 78, Ottertail, MN 56571
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ottertail
Price Range: $107 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Otter Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Otter Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay