We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Andor Wenneson Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Andor Wenneson Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Andor Wenneson Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend in Peterson as guests at the Wenneson Historic Inn. Not only is the inn itself very unique and charming, but the hosts were very gracious and accomodating to us, such as offering to lock our bicycles into their own garage overnight for safekeeping. We stayed in a separate building - an old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We can not thank you enough for such a wonderful weekend. You not only meet but exceeded all of our expectations. The room was extemely comfortable, breakfast was great and the game of 'Words with Friends' will not be the same without you. Our very best to you and your bed & breakfast. We cannot wait to come back to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 13Diane
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent this past weekend at the Wenneson Historic Inn. We were very pleased with our room selection (The Loft) and the thoughtfulness of the hosts, Pam & Barry Erickson. We had selected the Wenneson Historic Inn due to its proximity to the Root River bicycle trail, which we are very familiar with. Pam & Barry offered us the opportunity... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I read the recent posts from the family that stayed here and was a bit surprised. This was not our experience AT ALL. It's sad that an entire family (who obviously does not like rules - which most B&B's have very strict rules) would sign up on tripadvisor just to post bad reviews. My first thought while reading these reviews... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we were very excited to book all the rooms in this inn, thinking it would give us a great place to be together for our family reunion. while we certainly enjoyed our time together, we were made to feel like a major imposition on the owners. they graciously allowed us to have our party, but we were told we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank tande13
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

This is the same family that has been giving us bad reviews because they're mad. They rented all our rooms but thought they owned our place. They told me when they reserved, two months prior they only needed the front porch for the get together.We had originally been told it was a small, (Quiet) family get together.We were informed shortly... More 

Winona, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

So sad to say how rude these people were, stomping around upset becuase guests(which by the way were all related) were up past 10;00 pm visiting on the porch because were not allowed in living area. Brothers and sisters and their families that havent been together in 10 years. No other guests around. We are not roudy people, we just... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

This family is mad because they had 66 people to our 9 room B&B and we asked them to Please quite down at 12PM ,I see that they are writting 10PM ,The second night I didn't say anything and they were out to1:30AM. I think that the thing that really made them mad was we told them that they were... More 

New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Quite frankly, I never complain. However, after spending 3 nights with several other unsatisfied family members, I felt this time it was necessary. The Inn was extremely CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED on the interior except. The exterior of the building is in need of a full painting and front deck/porch maintenance. The owners forced us to keep the thermostat at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andersons6_5
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

We have central air conditioners, keep them at 73-74 degrees with the airconditioner fan on at all times so all three floors stay the same temperature. If you turn off the fan of course it will be cooler downstairs and upstairs it will be hot-that is what they did. I don't know anyones airconditioner that could keep up when there... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you book this place, please note the following: 1. You may not stay up after 10 pm 2. You may not touch the thermostat 3. You may not open the windows 4. You will not be served breakfast Monday -friday 5. If you don't eat the cold cereal and fruit we serve you as our breakfast on Saturday, you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Janyne P
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

This family was telling us how much they loved there stay until we told them that they were responsible for getting rid of the pickup load full of trash that came from the party that they had of over 60 people in our 9 room B&B.We asked them to Please Quit down at 12PM (not 10 )because we didn't want... More 

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

While the Wenneson is lovely in apprearance and very clean.....it seriously lacks in hospitality. We were asked to go bed by 10pm, they regulate the thermostats (and they will come in your room and adjust it), they provided no ammenities other than a less to be desired breakfast and our rooms were not cleaned throughout our stay we had to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

This person is one of the group that was staying here who evidentally is trying to ruin our business. This group seemed pretty happy and said they had a nice bithday party until it was time for them to leave. Please see other comments from all our other guests who have been here "Not this group" and had a much... More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We rented the whole house and were made to feel like we were an inconvenience to Pam and Barry. The owners scolded us for being up past 10, requested that we pay for our own trash removal and were not friendly at all. We were afraid to feel at home and it was hot, the kitchen was locked, no breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review

Same unhappy group as they were evidentally left with the impression that it was a whole house rental--wasn't. I guess they are trying to ruin us now as they have left bad reviews any where they can think of. Please read other guests reviews and come to your own conclusion. Thanks More 

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterson
32.3 km away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
29.1 km away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
8 reviews
33.4 km away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 km away
Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Address: 425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962
Region: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Andor Wenneson Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Coachman offers privacy the others don't”
 of 5 bubbles Techlysmic, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go to their website and look at the different choices. They also have a bank they are re-doing that will be fun!”
 of 5 bubbles JoanS474, 19 Aug 2012 | Read review
“We loved The Loft - a nice quiet location with its own entrance - (may not be suitable for folks who have difficulty with stairs, though)”
 of 5 bubbles BetsyS31, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
“The Coachman's Room is on the top floor away from the other rooms. If you want to be away from it all, this room is great.”
 of 5 bubbles 277MaryC, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Betty's Room [the blue room] on the north side has west and north windows for great light and cross ventilation.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaR599, 19 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5