Spirit Mountain Duluth

Spirit Mountain Duluth

Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (180)
Pool & Beach (34)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 3 hotels in Proctor
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
At Duluth Inn and Suites you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Spirit Mountain Duluth will stand out among other hotels in Duluth,MN. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, Duluth Inn and Suites will provide you with superior customer service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Green
Languages Spoken
English
612Reviews6Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 172
  • 82
  • 43
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kellyjalbers wrote a review Sep 2021
Lakeville, Minnesota
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very short staffed. Front desk staff are kind but seem frazzled with workload. Clean hotel room needs updating and some minor repairs in the room such as door not locking and Faucet loose. Breakfast was horrible. Arrived at 9 AM breakfast was till 10 AM. No bagels no breakfast sandwiches no peanut butter no jam, no coffee and no syrup. Asked for these items at the front desk clerk was too busy. And couldn’t get to it for over 30 minutes she didn’t know where any of the supplies were and said it was her first day. I felt sorry for her. The breakfast needs to be staffed and supplies need to be replenished and re-ordered. When you’re paying $250 a night I would expect to have the basics available for my breakfast for my family. We had to go elsewhere to get coffee and food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn S wrote a review Jan 2020
Palm Harbor, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pool and hot tub room was such a perfect place to unwind and relax after a day of enjoying the snow. Spirit Mountain (skiing/snowboarding/tubing) and Proctor Golf Course for sledding (ask the front desk if they have sleds left by previous guests...we left ours!). Staff was always pleasant and they were so meticulous about keeping up the cleanliness of the lobby and scraping the ice in the parking lot. Great experience and we’d love to come back again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
infoO1285TI wrote a review May 2020
Blaine, Minnesota
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at this location many times on business and am use to the level of service and amenities offered by this location. This was my first stay during the work and travel restrictions because of the pandemic, and as a result, many of the services and amenities that we had usually enjoyed were not available. Despite this, is was good to stay somewhere that was comfortable and felt safe. The only downside was that the hotel back up against active train tracks, but that didn't bother me much since we were working there for the railroad anyway.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan wrote a review Jul 2021
Cedar Mill, Oregon
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a reservation here for one night, passing through on the way north. I made the reservation a couple months prior, and it was one of the more expensive hotel rooms on my ten night trip. The room I was given was not clean - not like it just wasn't cleaned right, but possibly not ever touched by housekeeping after the last guests stayed there (bed wasn't made, there was garbage around, the night stand was covered in something sticky). I went back up to the front desk and explained this, and she gave me someone else's room that hadn't checked in yet. I went into that room, and while it wasn't as bad, it still didn't look like it had actually been cleaned (probably the people that last stayed in it just weren't as disgusting).

So, back up to the front desk. She said "I can make the bed for you." Um, not the issue here. The room wasn't cleaned, or at least didn't seem like it was, and making the bed with dirty sheets is not what I'm looking for. At that point, it seemed I had no choice but to just go look somewhere else. She said "I won't charge the late cancelation fee." Um, you think? She also said that they had "hired a couple of teenage boys, and their idea of clean isn't the same as most" or something along those lines. Okay, I get there's a staffing shortage, but what you don't do is keep reserving out rooms you can't clean. You set a lower maximum occupancy, and only reserve out the rooms that can be cleaned.

I tried calling Best Western, but they didn't return my call. I emailed them, and I also didn't hear from them. It seems like Best Western is imploding. I haven't had much good luck with them in a while, and it may only be getting worse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
becky394 wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The original room we were sent to had not been cleaned from previous guests, but the male front desk employee politely & efficiently got us another. Our replacement room was dirty and cleaned poorly by staff. It had inadequate lighting & a strange odor. The hot tub's jets didn't work, so it was like sitting in a tub of warm water. The continental breakfast bar was almost empty and not restocked by staff with 30 minutes left. The hotel was not well maintained & also a little dated. Overall I am very disappointed with the $230 spent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Spirit Mountain Duluth
Responded Apr 1, 2022
becky394, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arica D wrote a review Sep 2022
Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t usually write reviews but was compelled to after our stay here. First of all, I called to book as part of a wedding block over the phone about 4 or 5 months in advance of the wedding weekend. I gave the man my name, the name of the wedding party, and he said “ok you’re good” and that was it. Thinking it was a weirdly simple booking but he said we were good I didn’t think about it until a few weeks before the wedding. I called the hotel to confirm we were actually good and they couldn’t find our booking or even the wedding block at all! Finally, they did locate the wedding block but there wasn’t a reservation under my name. They mentioned this man who took my call was apparently fired since for doing a bad job. This also was apparently now out of the timeframe of being able to book on the wedding block to receive the discounted room rates. I was able to still make a reservation, however it was also not guaranteed we would have the same room for all 3 nights of our 3 night stay.

Fortunately we were able to keep our same room for the 3 nights. But our toilet in our room did not work our entire stay and there weren’t any other rooms to move to now. Even after 2 people showed up to “fix it” or turn a pump on in a different room. We ended up problem solving it ourselves and just dumped 2 trash cans full of water in the back tank EVERY TIME we used the toilet…

We arrived late (10:30pm) our first night and signed the papers that matched the rates on the email confirmation I received a few weeks before when I “rebooked” our room. But when I looked at my CC statement after checking in, the pending charge for the 3 nights was about $300 more than I was expecting! So an additional $100 each night for our 3 night stay!! I don’t think this hotel is worth more than $100/night to be honest. It was late so I waited until the morning to talk to someone, she said she didn’t know why that was like that and clicked a few things and said it was corrected. At checkout, I double checked the final bill again before confirming payment and it was again incorrect by about $150 requiring another “fix” to finally be the same as my initial email confirmation.

Overall, the hotel itself I would say was fine, no frills, quiet rooms, we weren’t actually at the hotel other than to sleep. So it had a bed and was the closest hotel to the wedding venue we were going to. But based on our experience with the service and the headache of staff/toilet/room charges issues, I would not stay here again or recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Spirit Mountain Duluth
Responded Sep 4, 2022
Hi 944aricad , We want to apologize for the toilet issues and to assure you that this inconvenience has been addressed thanks to your feedback. Also, we are sorry to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our staff at that time. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving the best service. We are in the process of retraining our staff to further better our services in handling our valued customers. Rest assured that in the coming days, we will be offering a much better stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katy310 wrote a review Feb 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived our rooms furnace made a horrible noise and smelled like it was on fire, we contacted the staff (at 1 in the morning after it wouldn’t stop) and they set us up with a new room. The new room didn’t have bedding, and had obviously not been cleaned. The night staff (Jacob? Red head who was very, very patient and accommodating) was helpful at getting us new sheets and pillowcases. He was the only redeeming staff member during our stay. We went out for the day to ski, and when we returned (14+ hours later) our room had not been cleaned at all. The hot tub was murky and low on water. There were no towels in the entire pool area. Front desk staff were unhelpful and crabby. We’ve been staying here for more than a decade, but will book elsewhere next year. At least the American inn across the way will probably make the bed…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Spirit Mountain Duluth
Responded Apr 1, 2022
Hi Katy31089, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry for the cleanliness issues that occurred during your time at our hotel. We do strive to present a super clean property and were reviewing your comments with our housekeeping team to make sure all needed improvements are made. We do appreciate the compliments to our front desk staff and we are addressing our policies to prevent the housekeeping issues that you experienced from occurring in the future. Please keep us in mind for your next stay in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A G wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start by saying the cleaning staff tries their best. That being said, we had nonstop problems from check in to check out. We almost got turned away with our stay being cancelled after being delayed a day due to weather, water gets shut off without warning, the only place for some water is the tap in your room, and the staff will lie about maintenance to amenities to avoid problems, which is impressive because it's the same two employees at any given time.

We've only seen two of the same staff members the whole time we've been here, and one cleaning staff to the whole place. The rooms are clean and well put together despite this, which is the only credible thing we experienced here. What's incredible is shutting off water without warning in the hours before check out for maintenance, which interrupted a shower and was deeply unpleasant.
Part of the reason this hotel was booked was for its hot tub to enjoy after a long day of snowboarding. It was closed for maintenance in the afternoon but we were assured it would be opened within an hour. Needless to say, it never opened. From the top to bottom floors there is not a single water fountain or cooler anywhere - the options given for water are the water cooler in the fitness center, the Holiday next door, or tap water, and the water cooler in the fitness center was tapped dry. You could melt ice, but even the ice maker on the third floor was out of order. Go figure.

If the cleaning staff hadn't been on point this would have been an email to corporate instead of a bad review. Hopefully nobody makes this same mistake we did in assuming this place is worth over 100 a night.

Humbug.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Spirit Mountain Duluth
Responded Apr 1, 2022
E8603DVag, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. We are sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations, and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan F wrote a review Jul 2020
Brookings, South Dakota
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel and good location. Very well maintained and staff are friendly. Just make sure you book on Expedia or some external source (even when extending your stay) as they will charge about 20% extra.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis H wrote a review Apr 2020
Bismarck, United States
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable and clean room. My only disappointment was the not having a breakfast option, other than a bag option. When I spend over $100 with tax and cannot use many of the amenities due to COVID-19; perhaps a voucher for a local restaurant for a to go breakfast would be appreciated.
As an essential worker, I am getting sick of McD's, etc. and need real hot food once in awhile.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
occams-razor asked a question Aug 2020
Antioch, Illinois87 contributions69 helpful votes
is the pool open? how is breakfast being handled?
Answer from Dan F
Brookings, South Dakota12 contributions13 helpful votes
Not sure if they even have a pool at this location. I don't think it would be available in Minnesota as they are requiring a face mask in all public areas. You go to the breakfast area entrance and tell them what you would like and they get everything ready for you. I was very impressed with how quick they were.
gw7421 asked a question Aug 2016
Minnesota21 contributions24 helpful votes
How close to the bike trail that goes to Hinckley and lower Duluth?
Answer from VampCBS
Thunder Bay, Canada128 contributions72 helpful votes
Sorry I have no idea. It is located on the edge of Duluth on the Hinkley side.
Bixboy asked a question Jun 2016
Solon, Iowa
Are you pet friendly?
Answer from BWPLUSDuluth
No, we are not pet friendly.
bonnier291 asked a question Aug 2015
3 contributions
What do you have available for family style?
Answer from BWPLUSDuluth
We would be more than happy to go over all of our room styles with you. Please contact us by phone at 218-628-0668.
Answer from BWPLUSDuluth
Yes, You will need to have your credit card and an ID present at check in.
Amber D wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Seriously, don’t waste your money! "
Read full review
Ted G wrote a tip Mar 2022
Minnesota160 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid… try one of the newer hotels on the hill that are comparable or better pricing."
Read full review
Mack Doyle wrote a tip Aug 2021
24 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was okay"
Read full review
Turtle549 wrote a tip Dec 2020
Lahaina, Hawaii58 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"just so you know, a train passes by the property sometimes. My family staying in rooms in the even numbered rooms did not hear the train."
Read full review
MiscJMM wrote a tip Aug 2019
119 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"RM125 faces and the train tracks. Major train rumble about 2-3 times per night. You cannot open the windows for fresh air in this room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Proctor area.
PRICE RANGE
C$162 - C$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn & suites duluth south hotel duluth, country inn and suites duluth south, country inn proctor, proctor country inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Country Inn & Suites Duluth South
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaProctor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Spirit Mountain Duluth - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Spirit Mountain Duluth
Which popular attractions are close to Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Parkway (4.6 km), Spirit Mountain Recreation Area (0.8 km), and Lake Superior Zoo (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Duluth Grill, Black Woods Grill & Bar Proctor, and Clyde Iron Works.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Spirit Mountain Duluth offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Spirit Mountain Duluth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clayton, Jackson, Mcghie Memorial (11.8 km), Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial (11.9 km), and Duluth Civic Center Historic District (10.8 km).
Is Spirit Mountain Duluth accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Proctor HotelsProctor Hotel DealsHotels near Spirit Mountain Duluth
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars