We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aspen Select Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aspen Select Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aspen Select Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Clean rooms and convenient to the Mayo Clinic and St Mary's Hospital. Evening dining is just next door or down the street. Continental breakfast was very complete and a great way to jump-start the day. The hotel staff was helpful and the shuttle service to Mayo's was much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cedarteam
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Aspen Select! I am glad that you found our location convenient for your visit to St Marys Hospital and found our nearby local restaurants were a great option for your evening dining! We hope you choose us again should your travels bring you back to Rochester! Warm Regards, Laurel.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 September 2016

On first arriving to the hotel, we realized the room wasn't going to work for our needs. The hotel manager immediately stepped in and opened the adjoining room and made it available to us! No extra charge! The rooms were very nice. comfortable beds and really clean. I loved being able to sit out on the 2nd floor patio and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P4965KCchristinek
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Aspen Select! It was fortunate that we had an available room for your needs as we are usually sold out during the week. I am happy that we could do that for you this time. I am glad that you enjoyed our outdoor patio and that we were able to make your...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Visiting Rochester for the art/music fair Thursdays on 1st and 3rd. Very nice hotel walking distance to Mayo and 1st and 3rd (about 11 blocks/1 mile); plus shuttle buses and trolleys are available. Clean, quiet room with 2 queen beds and large vanity area, separate water closet (toilet with bath/shower). Nice amenities and great FREE breakfast till 9:30AM with large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nance S
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Aspen Select with other travelers! We appreciate that you took the time to share this with other travelers. I am glad that you found our hotel in a convenient location for your needs and that you enjoyed our breakfast, and yes, the waffles are great! Thank you for staying with Aspen -...

Saipan
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Newly renovated hotel - nice modern decor (love the track door for the bathroom) comfy beds, microwave & fridge, free continental breakfast and a nice outdoor sitting area. Convenient to Mayo Clinic - you can walk but there's also shuttle service and its directly across from St. Mary's. Other shuttles also pickup at the hotel (Apache Mall, Walmart). There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelli N
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Aspen Select Hotel! I am happy that you found our hotel to be comfortable and convenient for your travel here to Rochester. Thank you for staying with us, Warm Regards. Laurel.

anchorage, alaska
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This hotel was perfect for our visit to Mayo clinic. The room was very clean and quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The front desk staff was extremely helpful with directions and providing maps. Great little upper patio area and breakfast room. We will stay again for future mayo appointments! Nice to have free parking also and the patient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McKinley
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy that you found the Aspen Select to be perfect for your visit to Rochester! Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor - we truly apprecaite that you took the time to share your experience with others. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and patio area - they are great. Warm Regards, Laurel.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My family chose Aspen Select for the proximity and ease of getting to St. Mary's, but had to cancel when our circumstances changed at the last moment. We didn't get to stay, but Laurel, the general manager, was very kind and took care of our needs. For others in this situation, be sure to get a cancellation code when cancelling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ushhss
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

I'm here right now and have been for a week. I'm completely insane about staying in hotels because I never feel like they're even close to clean. It is VERY clean here and the staff have been extremely kind and helpful. It is walking distance to several restaurants and steps to St. Mary's hospital. I'm REALLY glad I decided at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanna R
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We work very hard to keep our hotel clean and inviting to guests. I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with other travelors on TripAdvisor! Thanks again, Warm Regards, Laurel.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 June 2016

"I stayed at this Hotel two weeks ago. I accompanied a friend who had appointments at Mayo Clinic. The Hotel is across the street from St. Mary's Hospital so it is very convenient to the Hospital and to the Clinic via car or their shuttle. It was very clean and very quiet and has very good rates for Clinic patients....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minnesota712
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Aspen Select with other travelers! We appreciate you staying with us. I am glad that you found our hotel convenient to your needs while in Rochester and that you found our hotel to be clean and quiit for your stay. We are one of the more affordable hotels on the block and...

Reviewed 4 June 2016

Very nice staff. Rooms were nicely decorated, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was ok, wish they would serve something hot like meat, bacon, ham, or sausage. but it was good.Location was perfect, right across the street from St Mary's hospital. The only complaint I would have to say is the parking is not very good, the parking spots are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about the Aspen Select! I am glad that you found our beds to be comfortable and that our location was perfect for you! Thank you for your suggestions about breakfast, I appreciate your feedback! Warm Regards, Laurel.

Reviewed 3 June 2016

Aspen Select Hotel is a different hotel than the Inn & Suites. Aspen select has great newly remodeled up to date hotel rooms. We originally reserved a king suite and were upgraded to the king accessible suite. The bathroom was set up great if you were in a wheelchair or needed assistance. There is no pool in Aspen Select, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
Laurel S, General Manager at Aspen Select Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel. I appreciate the time that you took to share your experience with others traveling to Rochester! You are correct, Adam is great! Warm Regards, Laurel.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 km away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#9 of 52 in Rochester
264 reviews
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.4 km away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
1,155 reviews
1.2 km away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Remodeled Hotel in 2015! Enjoy all new hotel rooms at the New Aspen Select, formerly the Fiksdal Hotel. All rooms include a free breakfast, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free wireless internet access. New luxury mattresses are sure to please and provide for a comfortable night's sleep. Enjoy our new fitness center and new all day gourmet coffee bar! Renew and Recharge at the NEW Aspen Select, conveniently located just across the street from St. Marys hospital. And with our complimentary shuttle, the world-renowned Mayo Clinic and its downtown campus is just five minutes from our quiet hotel. If you're in town visiting the Mayo Clinic, enjoy our patient discount! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aspen Select Hotel

Address: 1215 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1941 (Formerly Fiksdal Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range: $176 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Select Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Aspen Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fiksdal Hotel Rochester
Fiksdal Hotel Rochester
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rochester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#13 Family Hotel in Rochester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aspen Select Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Aspen Select Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Windows are not on the street so any room will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles McKinley, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Have your room away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Jessb1111, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hospital access perfect for St Marys, wonderful beds, cookies served at night, free parking”
 of 5 bubbles kellerhearthn, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the room was very quiet at night to sleep but the halls on the road side can be a little loud in the day.”
 of 5 bubbles ssvairo, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on Floor 5. Most of the other floors have vending machines or an ice machine on them.”
 of 5 bubbles Ruthie0328, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5