We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We had to travel to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester and chose to stay at this hotel. At the last minute notice, we had to leave out a day early and arrive there one day before our reservation. Jayla and the staff there accomodated us and immediately made us feel at home. I have no complaints at all. Where I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Troy4754
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our great staff. Customer service is a top priority of ours, so I'm happy that we succeeded in that mission. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope that you will stay...

Reviewed 12 November 2014

The hotel was nice when you walked into the lobby. However room did not have any pots or pans, silverware, glasses or eating utensils. When we finally received glasses they were plastic. Couldn't cook the entire time we were there because no pots or utensils so had to eat out every night. When we asked for toilet paper could only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GodsFav1
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 6 November 2014 via mobile

Overall, this wasn't a bad place to spend a night. Not overly comfortable, but I was just looking for a place to crash while visiting someone in the hospital. The front desk service was friendly. Hotel is tough to get to, need GPS to find your way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moboley
Hebron, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Great place to stay if you don't want to pay twice the price for fitness center and hot breakfast. Friendly staff and only hotel in Rochester that still has smoking rooms available. Clean rooms and comfortable beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin Y
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and that we were able to accommodate you with a smoking room. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to...

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed 22 September 2014

there was no place to sit and eat downstairs by the lobby. the "GRAB AND GO BREAKFAST" was a joke, it matches it's name, as there is no place to eat it. it consists of a granola bar,some fruit, muffins and coffee. oh, and oatmeal that you have to eat on the shuttle on the way to Mayo clinic. there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. The situation you described regarding your handicap room not being available is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am working to review our reservation system and procedures so that we can work to prevent this from happening again. As...

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy.. kitchenette, all working facilities (A/C, TV, shower, laundry) and convenient to the Mayo Clinic where we went daily. However, there is no fitness center, lounge or outdoor seating. The benefit is the price. Half of what most hotels charge if you book in advance online. If you're on a budget, I would recommend this place....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CBRabenecker
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel overall and that my staff provided you with such great service. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be such a great value. The staff and I would like to thank you again for...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the second time in five weeks we paid for a non-smoking room and received a room that smelled like an antique ash tray in a smoker's lounge. It will not happen a third time as this is our last stay at Extended Stay America South in Rochester, MN.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Brad - We read your comments about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We can assure you that we have spoken with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Just so you know for future reference, if you book through a third party site, it does state that room...

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel staff are excellent - friendly and help you to the best of their abilities. The only draw back is the corporate office decided they were no longer going to have their kitchen amenities that they advertise. Poor decision on their side. I will no longer be staying at any ESA's

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Janet - We read your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff; however, we apologize that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs. We are now storing our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guest's receive the cleanest items possible. Our guests can customize their kitchen with whichever...

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Rochester South Extended Stay America on July 17th. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel could use some redecorating & Updating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there since we had a family member at the Mayo Clinic. We would definitly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanley V
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Stanley - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you were pleased with your clean, comfortable room and that our staff provided you with friendly service. We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I like this hotel because the room is only cleaned once a week, I don't mind making my own bed. The hotel carpet needed to be cleaner, but other than that, it was fairly clean. Staff was very nice and the hotel was quiet. It's a bare bones place, the price was right

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sequoiababe
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping service; however, I do apologize for the cleanliness issues with your carpet. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. The staff and I would like...

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
11.0 km away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - North
1.9 km away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
2.3 km away
No photo provided
Rochester Inn
#39 of 52 in Rochester
16 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#22 of 52 in Rochester
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range: $116 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Extended Stay and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Rochester - South staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Muscatine, Iowa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Rochester - South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We prefer the larger rooms and the 3rd floor but the 2nd floor is fine, too.”
 of 5 bubbles juliemsw1, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the recently remodeled room on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles kellyfrank2016, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles RonG183, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on third floor. the floors are not well insulated and you can hear people above you”
 of 5 bubbles 815briank, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Even the highway side is very quiet. The all new windows is probably responsible.”
 of 5 bubbles T4888AWjamess, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5