We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 744: English reviews
menomonie
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel and staff were friendly for the most part. Lady who checked us in talked to us like we were dumb because we had so many questions about parking. We didn't understand how to get to the parking ramp.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amyluvsboe
North Aurora, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a Diamond member with all the choices of other hotels in the area this Double Tree is a great choice. Rivals restaurant had a very nice menu and the staff was extremely attentive. Nice choice of beers and wines.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
Leawood, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is ok, but quality of the internet service is unacceptable. Some times it works, other times you can not get connected or if you do get connected, you get disconnected in a short period of time and have to start all over and you may or may not get reconnected.,

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G9844SFjamesp
St Louis Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently visited this hotel as part of a wedding party. The hotel was very accommodating. We arrived at 11 and was able to get into the room early even though check was 3p.m. Given hot cookies also. We found the staff pleasant. The hotel well kept. Rooms were nicely decorated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJStravels
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, as well as for your wonderful compliments! I hope you were able to relax a little before the big event. Thanks again; we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for a wedding. We had some complications with rooms not being ready and longer lines at check-in. There were also some minor issues throughout the weekend. However, I believe this hotel has a good Manager and is trying to turn around some of the past issues. If you are staying in the winter, on a higher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels4work86
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your thorough feedback. Indeed, there are a lot of changes that have been happening at our hotel. As long as we continue to get great critiques like these, we can only keep improving on them, so we really appreciate you taking the time to leave those comments. I will certainly...

Atlanta, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bathroom had stains in shower area. One bathroom light fixture broken. Requested foam pillow, never received. Quality of room was not up to par for DoubleTree. Location was great. Breakfast was good for the money (no free breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S7505ONjamesl
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback, James. I recognize that some of the issues you had during your stay were disappointing, and I apologize that our quality was not what you were expecting. We will definitely be taking your comments and using them to improve our services.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for four nights during December (think winter!) as part of a business trip. Decent hotel and was happy with the experience. It has a spacious gym and pool area with only a few machines so make sure you get in early enough if you're are a morning exerciser. There was also one all round weights machine (which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradRevell
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Brad, I am happy that you were able to report no bad surprises during your trip, and that you enjoyed your stay and all of your needs were met with our accommodations. We are actively seeking to provide an increasingly unique, memorable experience, and in that process, your feedback is very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to leave...

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 14 December 2016

It was absolutely terrible from the moment we arrived until the morning we left. The guest receptionist had to asked a dozen questions just to get basic information like what time breakfast was served and how the parking worked. There was no information being given. I had to ask if I was in the system as a HHonors member. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beethoven1812
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback so that we can use this as a training opportunity for our staff. I completely agree with you in that there were many communication issues, and we did not follow up on your requests with the standard of service that we expect. If you...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to St. Paul and stayed at the doubletree by Hilton. Dec (9-11). Tv in our room had many problems with freezing up while watching shows. Ordered one breakfast with a yogurt and room service brought me 2 breakfast and a yogurt. ($42). We both forgot our deodorants and toothbrushes, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your substandard stay, Bobby. First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. More importantly, I agree that this is not the service level that we consider standard, and I apologize for the issues you encountered. All of these things will definitely be addressed with...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I am shocked that Hilton would put their name on this hotel. Such poor/rude customer service and complete disorganization. We had our room block here for our wedding and was an awful experience from the start of people booking rooms to the time of check out. The staff had placed our guests throughout the entire hotel, even those with children...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U8082XEamandag
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I apologize for any negative issues you experienced during your room block set up and stay. Our general manager will be contacting you to discuss the situation. Thank you again for taking the time to respond.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
356 reviews
0.4 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 16 in Saint Paul
679 reviews
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
294 reviews
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: $162 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
over a year ago
Des Moines, Iowa

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 16th floor”
 of 5 bubbles BJStravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Turn off the thermostat and open the windows if room is too hot during the winter”
 of 5 bubbles Travels4work86, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to Candyland! It's a classic handmade candy shop you just don't see anymore.”
 of 5 bubbles sansovino2, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the atrium as it can be noisy sometimes in the atrium”
 of 5 bubbles JanaR807, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room on top floor didn't really have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles angelacK9954FY, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay