We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Spicer Castle Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Spicer Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Green Lake is Beautiful and Spicer Castle is a great place to enjoy the lake. The Mystery Dinners are fun and well orchestrated with the Castle Staff. The rooms are lovely and comfortable we stayed in Martha and William which are a small cabin on the property. There is very little light pollution so the stars are brilliant especially from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillyBean210
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay. You are right, the sky at night is beautiful by the lake. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway at our Historic Inn. Again, thank you for your kind review.

Bloomington
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Nice little inn and restaurant on south end of Green Lake. Good food and great views of the lake. Owners and staff are very nice and accommodating. They have a murder mystery dinner that I would highly recommend. So much fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed participating in our hilarious murder mystery dinner. Again, thank you for your post.

Saint Peters, Missouri
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had made our reservation on a travel site. I ended up calling and getting more info on my room and check in times. The staff helped me change my room and dates to a smaller cabin so we could stay an extra day. I could not be happier with our time there. The owner even stayed up (til midnight)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jherold05
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our historic property. We look forward to your return visit.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 September 2016

First off - the reviews noting the wear and tear on the Inn are fair - the home is in need of updates and repairs. Even just some cosmetic upgrades would do wonders! (Landscaping, plant some flowers, get rid of junk/garbage around the property, etc.) Aside from that - our stay was very nice. The staff was extremely accommodating, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickarita2016
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and the patio at sunset. The view of Green Lake is beautiful and I am delighted that you had the opportunity to mingle with other guests. I will pass along your nice comments regarding your breakfast to our staff. Again, thank...

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We decided to stay at the "castle" for an overnight visit. We have stayed in historic B&Bs all around the country and understand quaint and old - but the Spicer Castle Inn lacks charm and simple amenities. The furniture in our space was uncomfortable to sit (cracked wicker chair) and the bed had no pillows! They had pillows with decorative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon H
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your lodging experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable accommodations and noise that you experienced at our Inn. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the poor service and the staff that resulted in your unfortunate experience. This is...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

There is nothing I can say about this place that would include "Castle" the house was dirty, musty and really run down. The website for this inn is nothing that it appears to be in person. The website is extremely misleading. We didn't like our room so asked for the cottage outside. We were informed the cottage was available but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taunee T
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable service you and experienced at our Inn. I will pass your comments on to the proprietor for his review. I regret that you did not find our Inn acceptable for your getaway. I...

Minnesota
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I came up to the castle with my sisters and my mother as a surprise for mom's birthday. The rooms were tiny, and the bathtub was dirty (it had some gross brown stains on it and hairs stuck everywhere) so we actually just opted not to shower at all this weekend. The dock was broken and swamped. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ande8477
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable service you and your guests experienced at our Inn. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the poor service and the staff along with the lodging accommodations that resulted in your...

Savage, Maryland
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This is a charming Victorian-style hotel with stunning views of Green Lake, especially at sunset. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and air-conditioned. I was also provided with a fan on request. There are larger rooms and smaller rooms, all on second floor -- no elevator. Most rooms in the main building have a free-standing tub with a shower enclosure. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 356lizf
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spicer Castle.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This is a charming Victorian-style hotel with stunning views of Green Lake, especially at sunset. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and air-conditioned. I was also provided with a fan on request. There are larger rooms and smaller rooms, all on second floor -- no elevator. Most rooms in the main building have a free-standing tub with a shower enclosure. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRpep
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spicer Castle.

California
Reviewed 25 July 2016

This was my third visit and second stay at the Spicer Castle. It is truly like stepping back in time when you enter the Castle. Each of the rooms is unique and named after family members/descendants of the original Spicer Family. On this visit I stayed in the quaint & comfy upstairs Frances' room. The room is spacious and comfortably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvanvugt
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your return stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway at Spicer Castle. We look forward to your return visit.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
15.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
15.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
15.7 km away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#4 of 8 in Willmar
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
19.7 km away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
97 reviews
15.5 km away
Days Inn Willmar
Days Inn Willmar
#5 of 8 in Willmar
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spicer Castle Inn, circa 1895, is located on five wooded acres along the beautiful shores of Green Lake. There are 18 guestrooms, private cabins. Enjoy central Minnesota's lake region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicer Castle Inn

Address: 11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288-8626
Region: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Price Range: $138 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spicer Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Spicer Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicer Castle Hotel Spicer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicer Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look at the online pictures”
 of 5 bubbles JillyBean210, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eunice's Room has a cool hanging bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 356BrianH, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I will be staying in the log cabin on the property next time! It was simply gorgeous.”
 of 5 bubbles jherold05, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own charm - whether it was lakeside or garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles vickarita2016, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles 356lizf, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay