We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spicer Castle Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spicer Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Spicer Castle Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My hubby and I wanted a relaxing weekend and chose to spend it at Spicer Castle. We arrived on Friday evening and stayed till Sunday morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms of the Spicer castle are decorated and in the period of the house. I can't say enough how wonderful the staff is. They wanted to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marin777
Oronoco, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time that my friend and I have chosen Spicer castle for our girls getaway weekend. We have loved it both years! We always go during spring break week so have never tried the murder mystery. We love the charm of the house and the super friendly staff. Allen, the great grandson of mr.Spicer is so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bloomin_cook
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for kind post. We are delighted that you and your friends had a great return visit to our historic property. I agree with you that Sibley State Park has lots of great hiking paths. Again, thank you for your post. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Mary

Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the Murder Mystery was the objective of our trip to Spicer Castle, we were also looking forward to our belated Valentine's night away. Getting to the property (Property owners, please recheck the website directions from Mpls./St. Paul - much more direct to take Hwy 12 than 94 to St. Cloud) took longer than expected. Due to the unseasonably warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Cathy, Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway and the murder mystery dinner. Thank you for letting us know about the directions, we will have this revised. Again, thank you for your post.

North Branch, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Wonderful staff, cooks and chef. The food was amazing and the afternoon tea was delicious. Charlie who checked us in and narrated the mystery dinner was right in character and answered all our questions about Spicer Castle. You can be guaranteed of a fun and entertaining evening with a delightful breakfast. Allen, the owner & host, treated us to many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denny-Sandy
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our historic inn. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable getaway with great food, laughter and suspense. Again, thank you!

Isanti, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We chose this Bed & Breakfast because we wanted to go to the murder mystery. They sent us an email the day before the date and said it was cancelled. We decided to go anyways and when we got to the Inn there was a murder mystery going on. We were very disappointed. Also they advertise that they have whirlpool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable accommodations you and your guest experienced at our Inn. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the cancellation of the murder mystery dinner along with the maintenance issue that...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

While the Spicer Castle Inn is a little careworn and at times a little understaffed, the friendly staff worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. The food was excellent. We had breakfast at the Inn both Sunday and Monday mornings of the 3-day weekend, and it was both well-prepared and well-presented. We also ate in the restaurant at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Chad, Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our historic property. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable getaway.

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We came as part of a group of 20 for my husbands office holiday party. It was a total surprise to the entire group, the boss rented a charter bus and we had cocktails on the bus on the way there. It was dark and we were not familiar with the area so when we pulled in it was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C D
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for kind post. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday party at our historic property. We look forward to your return visit.

Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A group of us participated in the murder mystery on New Years Eve. Walking in I really did not know what to except. Our show did not start till 8pm and eating a five course meal that late was a little too much for me, knowing this upfront we thought we would give it a try. The servers worked really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taraba
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Taraba, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the murder mystery dinner.

Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 19 December 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Raymond's cottage.From check in to check out the staff was great! Enjoyed the ambience of the wood burning fireplace on a cold winter night. Also had an delicious dinner at the restaurant in the evening. The included hot breakfast was also was delicious. The service at both meals very attentive. We hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Deb, Thank you for your kind review. I agree with you that the fireplace is cozy on a cold winter night. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Historic Inn. Again, thank you for your kind review.

Onamia, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had a group of 15 that had never been to a murder mystery dinner before. Let me tell you the food was amazing! we had the Pork tenderloin and the 5 course meal option. The host was great and explained everything to us on how to play. We laughed for hours as we tried to solve the murder! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minwewebinesiikwe

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
15.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
15.7 km away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#5 of 8 in Willmar
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spicer Castle Inn, circa 1895, is located on five wooded acres along the beautiful shores of Green Lake. There are 18 guestrooms, private cabins. Enjoy central Minnesota's lake region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicer Castle Inn

Address: 11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288
Region: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Price Range: $139 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spicer Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Spicer Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicer Castle Hotel Spicer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicer Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Frances seems to be the largest room without a whirlpool which we never used anyway :) but I think Jesse is the most beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Bloomin_cook, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Carriage House which was cosy and comfortable. The rooms in the Castle were decorated with antiques.”
  • One of the Castle rooms
 of 5 bubbles Denny-Sandy, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try the swinging bedroom!”
 of 5 bubbles minwewebinesiikwe, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“look at the online pictures”
 of 5 bubbles JillyBean210, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eunice's Room has a cool hanging bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 356BrianH, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5