We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Moreton Island

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulwer
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Castaways Moreton Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castaways Moreton Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

After Southern Ocean Lodge last month this was always going to be a challenge but we had a new Jeep to test and always knew how Moreton Island was extra special, especially away from the crowded part. Well if you want a low effort break, this is it with boardies & thongs the go & frequent cold showers between beach...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review! We're so glad you had a great stay...the secret brownie recipe is prepared with love by our head chef Lea who is the island "mum" and loves to feed everyone! We hope to see you again soon!

Wishart
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Glamping on Moreton Island is a unique experience. We loved the "Glamp" kitchen which includes modern equipment and anything you need. A good way to see the real Moreton Island for the first time. A must do fory any adventurer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrvdyk
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The glamping tents are way too expensive. After all, even if it is more comfortable than a normal camping tent, it is still camping for the price of a good hotel... The tents and facilities are clean. The tap water is bore water, and smells like sewage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinep887
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Marinep887. As you stayed during the high peak period I can understand why you feel they were more expensive but become more reasonable after the 30th Jan (The Australia Day Weekend). We often do specials for the tents combined with ferry transfers (up to 40% off) in the off peak...

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Awesome location with spectacular beaches and snorkelling smong the wrecks. The glamping tents were great and the camp kitchen was very adequate. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and go out of their way for you. Resident dog was gorgeous. Beds were super comfy. Tents could do with a table inside and a broom but overall a wonderful experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughesfamily2017
Moreton Island A, General Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi, We're glad you had such a great time and thank you for taking the time to share your awesome experience with the world. Brooms, noted.. We have checked and implemented new procedures to ensure there are brooms in all tents at all times. As for the tables I'll be looking in to the options suitable for the tents with...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Not only is Moreton Island beautiful with endless beach tracks, lookouts, swimming holes and camping options, it offers great choices of accommodation. We choose to try the Glamping at Castaways and loved it. The food here also was just fantastic. Staff were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

North Lakes, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The Gent and bedlinen was very dirty, Dogs running loose begging food,to expensive compared to what you get Found soap and old facecloth in bathroom from former renter, old bloodstain on bed cover ,campere kitchen not kept clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank slm2017
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi slm2017, thank you first for your response. I'm very disapointed to hear that you had a sub-par experience while staying with us. We take your comments very seriously and I was wondering if you could possibly shoot us an email and elaborate on the major issues that you have highlighted here so we can address them with on on-island...

Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed for 3 nights as a family of four in the glamping tents. They were lovely, absolutely perfect ! It's a 2 minute stroll to the beach. The common kitchen was ok, even though plates and cutlery weren't really clean and people just kept piling up their plates to dry and wouldn't put them away. It was, however, quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fräulein W
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your constructive review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with the "minimum" nights. Unfortunately, as with booking hotels, we do sometimes reduce the minimum nights for last minute stays to fill empty rooms - I do understand that this seems unfair to someone who books in advance but I suppose it's a bit like gambling...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

4 days clamping here with my daughter just wasn't enough!Very well equipped,friendly staff,clean accommodation and only a short stroll to the beach for a swim or snorkel.My daughter absolutely fell in love with noxie who is the local friendly dog who we will definitely come and visit next time we come! Thank you for such an enjoyable stay we thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review, we're glad you enjoyed your Glamping experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I stayed here 5 nights with my husband and 2 teenage sons, I am going to start out by saying I was happy with my stay and I will return but I would like to offer some constructive criticism :) It would be nice to have some service in the glamping tents, fresh towels that type of thing, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kamejaje
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

First of all a big thank you for taking the time to send us such good constructive criticism as well as point out what we need to do in order to improve (but in a kind and gentle way), we truly appreciate your comments and will work with Nathan & his team in order to improve the services available in...

Warrington
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

First time off road driving meant we were nervous at the start. 10 mins in and we loved it! Amazing island paradise with the most beautiful sea we have swam in! Castaways is a busy hub, being the only shop within 30mins drive. The owners are amazingly helpful and accomodating - we asked for an extra hour before checkout and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bookemdano
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks for your amazing review bookemdano, we're so glad you had a great time and are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
30.9 km away
LaVida on Anzac
LaVida on Anzac
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
85 reviews
11.8 km away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Tangalooma
1,425 reviews
30.6 km away
Oaks Mon Komo
Oaks Mon Komo
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
36.5 km away
Sea Shanties
Sea Shanties
#1 of 1 in Amity
60 reviews
16.4 km away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Bribie Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Price Range: $131 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Moreton Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms perfect, just ring and talk to them”
rebelfishing, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Handy to have repellant/ candle/coils on hand for the sand flies. Once inside the tent with full screens less of an issue. Beds were comfortable. Some small patches of mould up on the ceiling and around the edge of the shower from water leaks. Overall accomodation and facilities was good. Will return.”
M3759KTandreas, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is glamping it is tent accommadation with ensuite. We had tent 3 which we found to be in a good spot.”
kerryn56, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent #1 is near the trampoline, so if you want to be close to the kids this is a good option.”
don11Brisbane, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring own water, food and games/ball for the kids”
frenchiet2014, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5