We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brookside Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Brookside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The people were great. Rates seemed reasonable. However,the room we reserved was given to someone else. I can only review the one we did have. Tiny - very tiny shower. Many plugs ganged together that my husband thought it was a fire hazard. Not much room to walk around. Not even continental breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank minntac
St Paul MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My wife checked in. She said the owner was very pleasant and friendly. Hotel is in a convenient location and parking was abundant. Our room was large but bathroom tiny. No outlet in the bathroom. Frankly the place needs a 100% overhaul. Hate to criticize a place owned but such a nice person but I will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank Lowteck
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you won't be back. It IS a work in progress and we've been working on the place for the entire 4 years we've owned it. We are aware the bathrooms need work and we are getting there. It all takes time and we have to address issues/upgrades when we have the empty rooms to do so.... More 

Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Cozy, cute, comfortable,and quiet little place. Feels more like staying at grandmas cottage than in a motel. Everything was clean, the room had a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, and super-fast wifi, and the owner was most helpful, if ever in the area again would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank SigaVB
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! In today's busy hustle and bustle, it is greatly appreciated that you took the time to give a pleasant review. We do hope to see again in the not to distant future! :-) Michelle More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2016

If you are looking for friendly staff and a great value, this is the place! Any poor reviews on this place are obviously from someone looking for "special treatment" and thinks that they are above having to follow the rules. You pay ahead, and if you cancel she will refund you're money. That's pretty standard in today's travel industry. Thank... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kolette O
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review, Kolette! It's wonderful guests like yourself that makes owning this little motel such a pleasure. We look forward to having to you back with us in the near future!!! Michelle :o) More 

minneapolis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This is one of those typical roadside low end motels. Rooms are very small although the bathroom was unusually roomy. Shower was perfect for a skinny 10 year old or large cat. The folks who I assume are the owners are as nice as they come and made the stay a bit more pleasant. Nothing really wrong with anything, just... More 

Helpful?
Thank BCNDWorld
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Not all rooms are the same size but we do try to make each room as "comfy" as possible. If you felt the room you had was a little smaller than you'd prefer, let us know which room you had next time you need accommodations and we'll do our best to get you in a... More 

Falcon Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The room was clean, well equipped, and contained many items, like fancy soaps and shampoo that I would expect only in a more expensive place. The bathroom had been recently remodeled and featured a walk-in shower. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Only stayed one night, as I was moving on the next day, but I would definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice words. We are constantly trying to improve and appreciate all feedback so we know where to focus our attention. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Michelle Cox-Unterseher Owner Brookside Motel More 

Mosinee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I understand a need for a credit card in case of damage or theft but not letting a family member use theirs so you can get a room? ridiculous! I still plan to go to my class reunion since I still have plenty of family members in the area. rooms available for that weekend. obviously they do not want paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank RayEngelke
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. We do and will continue to require a credit card to check in to our motel in the name of the guest that is staying. We will NOT hold someone else responsible for damages caused by a guest which is why we WILL NOT take another person's credit card. Under no circumstances did we ever... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed there last summer for a wedding. The rooms were clean and inviting. No frills, but it had everything you needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we ever go through Wadena again, we would definitely stay here.

Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyL354
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We know your time is valuable and appreciate that you took a moment out of your busy schedule to review our motel. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Michelle Cox-Unterseher Owner Brookside Motel More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2014

If you are looking for friendly, basic rooms to make a home base while exploring central Minnesota, this is it. The single rooms are small, but have microwave, refrigerator, and coffee service. Even though it is right off of 71, there was minimal road noise. All rooms are non-smoking, but each has a smoking area in front of it. Bed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kris S
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Kris, Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's nice people like you that keep us going and we want you to know how much we appreciate you taking the time to write this review! We do hope to see you again in the very near future!!! Sincerely, Michelle & Michael Unterseher Brookside Motel Wadena, MN More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a very pleasant surprise! The ownership was very friendly and they upgraded our room without asking upon check-in. Our room was very clean, the air conditioner worked great and the two queen beds in our room compete with Westin Heavenlys. Driving through central Minnesota, this was a very nice, restful oasis for an overnight.

Helpful?
1 Thank mntravelbug94
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is our honor to be able to assist you with your accommodations and that all of your needs were met. We do hope to have you visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Michelle & Michael Unterseher Owners - Brookside Motel More 

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadena
1.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wadena
26.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in Staples
22 reviews
34.9 km away
Thumper Pond Resort
Thumper Pond Resort
#1 of 2 in Ottertail
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
154 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small family oriented motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 1410 Jefferson St N, Wadena, MN 56482-2315
Region: United States > Minnesota > Wadena
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brookside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are into 5 star hotels, this one is not for you, if you love cottage charm - this is the place for you.”
  • Our cozy room, perfect for two.
 of 5 bubbles SigaVB, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Guessing they are all exactly the same?”
 of 5 bubbles BCNDWorld, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“find another motel”
 of 5 bubbles RayEngelke, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Call ahead to get doubles as they go fairly fast.”
 of 5 bubbles kriss195, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“We could have easily included a third person in the available single bed.”
 of 5 bubbles minnesotasparky, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay