We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welch
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Treasure Island Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Treasure Island Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Great value, very friendly staff, knowledgeable Captain, good food and lovely trip. I really enjoyed this trip and would like to go out during the fall so that I can see the fall colors along the Mississippi river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret o
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Spirit of the Water lunch cruise here at Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Our cruises are very popular for lunch and dinners and especially during the fall as the leaves change. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we hope to continue providing you with outstanding experiences during your future visits to The...

Becker, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The only thing pushing this to a three star rating is the cleanliness of the room and the large bathroom. Other than that, the walls are thin and the layout is a long way from the casino floor with a different layout that is not accommodating. When the neighbors would leave their room and slam the door, our headboard would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDad2013
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you have shared from your recent visit. We take our guests comments very seriously. We have started construction on the addition of two new hotel towers that will include 300 more rooms. We hope that you will visit us again so we can provide you with a more desirable experience here at The Island.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We will never go to another concert at this outdoor venue. As the other person stated , seating was horrible. You could not see from the bleachers and there was a huge gap in between the bleachers and the center sections. It took over an hour to get a beer or any kind of drink! Very poorly setup!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyetacs
Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Haven't been here for several months. We like the gaming floor, there are lots of penny slots available and lots of room to move about. We tried the buffet again as one of us received a free birthday buffet and the other person in our party got theirs for half price. The food was average compared to other Minnesota casino...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NANCY B
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed the gaming floor and the slot machines. We regret that your buffet experience did not meet your expectations. The prime rib and our seafood night are always favorites with our guests. We will review your comments with the appropriate departments to further improve our service. Please...

Kenyon, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 August 2016

After paying $220 for two tickets to see Toby Keith, we left after only a half hour of his concert. It certainly wasn't Toby's fault. It was the venue. They have allegedly built an out door amphitheater where they certainly did not effectively plan the layout well. The seating were folded chairs, very small in size. The woman next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mare P
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I was here with about 90 other people for a conference. We all showed up to check in at check in time and most rooms weren't ready. Some desk staff were very friendly while others were rude and unhelpful. We waited over an hour for our room to be ready. We hung out in the bowling alley which was fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
Onawa, Ia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We had lunch and dinner buffets there and the food was excellent. The employees were all very nice to us. The slot machines didn't like us and we certainly didn't get to play very long. So glad the food was good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marge22
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not have the experience you were hoping for at our slot machines. At Treasure Island we make every effort to ensure that we provide nothing but the very best in slots, table games, bingo and pull tabs, while following the guidelines set forth in our Compact Agreement with the State of Minnesota. Every game...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Decent stay this year. Nothing fancy, prices are a little on the high side, unless you are a gambler in their program and get a deal through that. Room was nice, but nothing to say it was amazing. The new waterpark was a hit with the our friends family, and we all had a good time. I would give this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mspreh
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the feedback you have shared from your recent visit. We take our guests comments very seriously. Please know that your patronage is extremely important to us and we hope you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more desirable experience during your future visits to The Island.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Checked in our hotel room about 5 hours later a lady comes in the room w a hotel key. I call the front desk the hotel manager comes down ask for my id then comes back and tells me I did not have a reservation for today and this room was checked in that ladies name. Say what I made...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Maria K
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments with the appropriate departments to further improve our service. Please know that your patronage is extremely important to us and we hope you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more desirable experience during your...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is about what you'd expect out in the middle of nowhere attached to a casino. The rooms are basic but in decent shape. My main disappointments have been three things: Room not ready until 5 p.m. on day of check in; room with very noticeable funky smell that seems to be from the bedding and towels; and WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim B
Cindy T, Public Relations Manager at Treasure Island Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments with the appropriate departments to further improve our service. Please know that your patronage is extremely important to us and we hope you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more desirable experience during your...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welch
7.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
11.5 km away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
282 reviews
10.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
283 reviews
10.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
31.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by picturesque views of rolling Minnesota prairies and the scenic bluffs of the Mississippi River Valley, lies a Caribbean getaway filled with sights, sounds and experiences you won't find anywhere else. Filled with thousands of slots, row upon row of blackjack tables, mouth-watering cuisine, top-notch entertainment and luxurious hotel accommodations, it's no wonder Treasure Island Resort & Casino is the Midwest's premier entertainment destination.Treasure Island Resort & Casino began as a one-room bingo hall in 1984 and has since grown into a bright economic opportunity for members of the Prairie Island Indian Community, who own and operate the casino.Located just forty miles from the Twin Cities outside the town of Red Wing, MN, some of the casino's most unique offerings include a marina, golf course and 100-passenger cruise ship. With so many entertainment and dining options at your fingertips, you're going to want to take your time and stay awhile. Our luxurious casino hotel boasts 500 rooms with accommodation options to fit any level of luxury and convenience. Opt for our standard hotel rooms, indulge in a spacious suite or if you prefer sleeping under the stars, there's our marina and RV park in the warmer months. Go all in any which way you choose at Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Located just outside the Minneapolis / St. Paul metro in Red Wing, MN, our 150,000 square foot casino floor is bursting with excitement. We offer over 2,200 state-of-the-art slot machines, over 50 table games including blackjack, poker, video keno, video poker and bingo. Additionally, Treasure Island Resort & Casino boasts the largest non-smoking casino area in the Midwest. When it comes to entertainment, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is raising the stakes. From the biggest names in music to the funniest comedians, we'll put you in front of the action. Check out the local music scene every weekend in Parlay Lounge or come down for a headlining performer in our 3,000 seat Island Event Center! Any way you play, Treasure Island Resort & Casino is a sure bet for a good time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort & Casino

Address: 5734 Sturgeon Lake Rd, Welch, MN 55089-9647
Region: United States > Minnesota > Welch
Number of rooms: 493
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Welch
Treasure Island Resort And Casino
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Treasure Island Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Treasure Island Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High up to see the area”
 of 5 bubbles margareto179, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not sure, our room was very noise both nights.”
 of 5 bubbles celticgirl349, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even though the rooms are non-smoking, when you get off the elevator in the older rooms, the smell of smoking is strong from the casino”
 of 5 bubbles davis-erick, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Many folks that go to the casino or water park never travel to the marina or on the cruise ship and they are missing out on the experience.”
 of 5 bubbles 29margareto, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try the end of the hallway for less noise?”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyDad2013, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5