We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

959 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 944: English reviews
Start your review of Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
 Click to rate
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rude staff. Valet parking only (horrible!). Water leaked on carpet in middle of night. Out dated bathroom with rusty/dirty/moldy shower. If looking to stay in Jackson and are flexible with location, I highly recommend any of the HHonors locations in Flowood. Book there instead of this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V2671VTmartinl
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 29 January 2017

This weekend, the MS State Teachers of the Year hosted a teacher leadership conference. Almost 100 of the top teachers in the state were invited for a weekend of celebrating our profession. We had almost 70 rooms reserved, the grand ballroom and 4 breakout rooms. We had a dinner, breakfast, lunch and snacks. I cannot say enough great things about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey T
About Hotel's Favourite Review
David R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

We were very pleased when your group chose to have your event at the King Edward hotel and we really do appreciate the kind words about the hotel as well as the team members you had mentioned.I will pass this along today to our group during our meetings and praise them for the excellent job they are doing. Brian B...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This beautiful old hotel is in the heart of downtown Jackson. It is within easy distance of most downtown attractions. We visited the Old Capitol Museum, the State Capitol building, and the old Greenwood Cemetery. One drawback is that there isn't much open on Sundays. The hotel is very close to the train station, but there wasn't a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated concerning your stay here at the King Edward.The city is full of culture and heritage so we invite everyone to visit downtown to re-live the Southern way of life. Brian B Berry

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very dissatisfied we was celebrate our 20-year anniversary the housekeeper did not change our sheets for the next day all they did was just made up the bed we came in from all day shopping to discover that the bed was not changed we had dirty sheets we had to take the sheets off the bed and go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juicy387
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. In our environmental and sustainability efforts, we offer daily housekeeping service, while sheets and towels are changed upon request, as indicated by the Green Initiative collateral in the room. A quick phone call to the front desk upon your return would have allowed our team the opportunity to change the linens in...

Eros
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very clean and upscale. The location of it was perfect for what we were there for. It was within walking distance of a very good restaurant and conveniently had a nice coffee shop located inside of it. I don't necessarily like that your only parking option is valet but considering where it is and that there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary D
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

The team and I take great pride in the appearance of the King Edward Hotel and we are glad you noticed as well. We feel the hotel offers ameneties such as the coffee shoppe to better provide for our guests and their needs. The bar and restaurant are also available if needed and the valet service is an easy entrance...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel offers spacious rooms with historic charm. The bed provided a very comfortable night's sleep as well. In room amenities include both a microwave and refrigerator. Staff was efficient and friendly from valet parking to checkout. Although the rooms provided all modern comfort and furnishings, the carpet had seen better days. Also, the view from our room reflected that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Originally the King Edward was built in 1923 and was closed in 1967. HRI the company who did the renovation opened it again after an extensive renovation 8 years ago and guests are extremely excited about the hotel to this day. We are working on another renovation which will include carpets as well as new lobby furniture so bear with...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall good facility and staff. Location not the greatest but central to everything. Self parking is limited. Beautiful atrium and entryway. Rooms were clean and updated. Can walk to several restaurants but not the best area.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Tripadvisor on your stay and the compliments. We did read the response and we are working on the Downtown market to make it a better place to visit as our project across the street is underway. Please return so you can see it when completed in September. Brian B Berry

Jackson, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The housekeepers were extremely loud for long periods of time and it was not clean in the bathroom. There was dirt and shoe prints on the floor. The lobby was beautiful and location great, but that was it.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catriniac2017
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have discussed your stay with my Executive Housekeeper and have told her about the noise as well as your bathroom not being up to your standards. We will continue to work with the housekeeping staff to ensure we have clean rooms and bathrooms for our guests. Brian...

Columbus, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If your looking for somewhere to stay in Jackson, look no more. Everyone was telling us to stay in Ridgeland, but we wanted a more authentic experience and this place delivered. Great food and nice bar. Easy highway access and great Hotel staff.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeromer302
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice compliments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. The King Edward is a special place and we are delighted you took the time to come see the hotel that was built in 1923. There is a large amount of history here and we hope you really did get to enjoy it. Brian B Berry

Stilwell, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great hotel. From the time you pull up to the front and are greeted by valets to doormen to the front desk experience you will feel the warm southern hospitality. Beautiful lobby and great clean rooms that are quiet. This is a downtown Jackson gem. Over look the street construction and stay at this hotel that reminds...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William G
Brian B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being able to get by the construction here by the hotel, hopefully it will be completed by the next few months. I hope you also noticed the construction across the street in which we are developing the older buildings into Artists lofts so the neighborhood will look even better and have more options for our guests. We...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
11.9 km away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
831 reviews
0.5 km away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 38 in Jackson
322 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 38 in Jackson
189 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 38 in Jackson
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Price Range: $139 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Park on the street if possible to save valet parking fee.”
 of 5 bubbles BonnieB81, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors would perhaps increase the chance of getting a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles PattyL286, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to eat at the hotel, or drive, try the Mayflower Café. It's a bit of a Jackson institution.”
 of 5 bubbles deew726, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles MarthaW962, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that might be farther away from the train tracks.”
 of 5 bubbles WantToSeeItAll_NC, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5