We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Chequers Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chequers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Decided to visit as we've not been here for ages. We all just had main courses. Not one to visit with kids, they didn't have a kids menu & could only do a small fish & chips or roast pork, so hardly any choice for them!! We thought that for the price the portions were small. Didn't enjoy the gammon,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks Claire for taking the time to review your recent visit. We don't actively seek out the childrens market, so dont have a designated childrens menu. We can however offer some of our more straightforward dishes as smaller portions, including roasts on a sunday. Sorry you didnt enjoy our gammon. As the menu says, it has a honey glaze,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

What a find. Never have we eaten such delicious food. The pub has a lovely atmosphere, not too big, very friendly staff. A quaint typical English country pub with exquisite food. Well situated for Bakewell, a beautiful village, well worth a visit, and Chatsworth house - amazing grounds and gardens. We had a discounted entry ticket from the Chequers for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great 5 star review Gill. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

LA, California
Reviewed 20 June 2016

A comfortable and quiet room, friendly welcome, and outstanding dinner and breakfast, and at a package price that is unbeatable (must book directly with the Inn). The Chequers Inn stands out in an area with lots of inns and bed & breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hypefreetravel
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. You are right, the best rates are to be had by calling us directly! Hope to be able to welcome you back again some time.

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We wanted a relaxing stay in Derbyshire and came across the Chequers Inn. We had a wonderful stay. Friendly staff, great service. Room was clean, modern and comfortable. We took advantage of the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal and were not disappointed. The meal was delicious. My wife had the vegetarian gnocchi and I had the Fish and Chips. Desserts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adz104
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 star review..really pleased you were happy with your stay.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Wow! What joy to find such a fantastic place to stay. The welcome, from all the staff, was outstanding. Lovely to find an independent establishment doing so well. We had an early dinner. The food was outstanding and great value for money. Excellent wines and ever. The rooms are very comfortable. Even though we were there on a rare summer's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuscombeSP
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Very kind comments indeed RuscombeSP! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Decor in rooms is very good. Retains old pub charm but a nice modern feel and clean. Good selection of beers etc in the bar and the food was excellent. Chef was even inventing dishes 'off menu' for people. A great place for a few days away. Perfect for couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB17_02
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you ChrisB for your very kind comments..pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary. The room was small but pleasantly decorated and the shower room was excellent. Would have preferred an easy chair rather than a huge wardrobe.We had a nice view and no problem with road noise.The evening meal was superb, really made our stay.Also the eating/bar area is very nice.All the female staff we met were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Best food we have had in eyam and surrounding areas, in fact best food we've had in a long time. My husband was, as he described, 'in food-topia'. We had the pork belly, and the wild mushrooms to start, the chicken and the lamb off the rosette menu for main and both finished with toffee creme brûlée. Honestly to die...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsRBriggs
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

WOW! Thanks for the fantastic 5 star review. So pleased you enjoyed your evening.

sheffield
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We've eaten in some great places such as Swinton Park, Black Swan Helmsley, White Swan Pickering and this was easily as good as any of them. £100 for a lunch for two is a bit of a treat but it was worth every penny. Cosy inn with log fire is informal but the food is top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldpaul
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Well that is some claim! Delighted you had an enjoyable visit, thank you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My wife and I visited here spontateously for lunch, given the recommendations I had read online. It is located in the picturesque village of Foggart, in Peak District. Before lunch, we parked up and just behind the Inn is a beautiful, if not slightly steep, walk that lead up to amazing views. We took the dog up and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review Sam!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froggatt
0.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
360 reviews
0.0 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
344 reviews
0.0 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.0 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.0 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Froggatt
Price Range: $93 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chequers Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear to face on to the main road should not be much between them”
 of 5 bubbles rasenite, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere, in regard to WiFi it is free but so slow that most downloads abort.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbiejo4866, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“didn't stay in the rooms, just went for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles quiltinggirls, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Insist on the one room that is not on the frontage.”
 of 5 bubbles AdTheLad, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Was fully booked when we went or I would have chosen a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles 774JanC, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay