We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Greyhound Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Greyhound Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

I had heard wonderful things about this place sadly it was destroyed. We visited the restaurant with family, it started ok, we weren't pressured straight away to order and given time to think about our choices, the order was placed with a slight disappointment of having no steaks with no prior notice of items not on the menu. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Caroline, Further to your review please can you call me direct on 01942 671256 so that we can discuss your visit further. It is always disappointing when our guests leave unhappy which thankfully doesn't happen very often and I now look forward to speaking with you soon. Regards Linda

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

First time in five years of staying at this hotel that I had to chase the staff to order a meal and to then make things worse had to go to the bar to order my drinks for my meal. Waited 10 minutes to then get served only to sit down and see the new staff chatting on on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
LindaTonge, Sales Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please can you contact me direct to discuss your last visit or drop me an E-mail to greyhound.sales@hfyh.co.uk. Regards Linda

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

I paid for my Christmas do at the greyhound for the pop diva event. (Which was the more expensive one) Only to be told they had double booked and we were to be in a smaller room with Motown music. As I didn't book Motown I asked for a full refund to a woman called MARIA! and was told no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in December for one night. The reception staff were very polite and helpful however once we went into the room although spacious was very run down. The decor was in desperate need of a refresh. The bed/mattress was very rickety with very thin pillows. There was stains all over the under sheet and loads of cobwebs all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaye577
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Not to bad, room was a good size. I didn't actually use the pool but I was told it wasn't to bad and had a sauna room as well. We only stayed the one night and we went to to the hotels restaurant (carvery) which was actually quite nice. If I was asked, would I recommend it I would probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen E
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights (tried to book other nearby hotels after seeing our room but all full). Toilet wouldn't flush which we reported to reception (somebody did come up to try and fix it but it broke again just after). Room had a horrible eerie feel about it and is in desperate need of updating. Carpet badly stained and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becksie42
Atherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Food was really good, really enjoyed it, Tables where all set nice,everything was clean and tidy..staff where very nice..waiting on staff where lovely ..tribute act where good,ABBA but just two ladies,would of been better if two male singers joined them,but the ladies where very good...Got us uo dancing and singing...Good nite xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula j
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Decided to stay here on the sat 18th with my partner! Never again! We was first in a double non smoking room however there was no signal from the TV so the lady on reception upgraded us to a smoking suite! The room itself felt so strange and draining had a very uncomfortable eerie feeling, when I say suite think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emily1066
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

One of the noisiest & most uncomfortable hotels I have had the 'pleasure' of staying in. It is situated directly next to a main roundabout with cars revving, screeching & beeping. The customer service was NOT welcoming either & I will not be retuning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrBruce2015
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The restaurant facilities were almost non-existent due to Christmas parties. I've never experienced that before with a hotel. There was a sandwich menu available on the Friday and Saturday night until 8pm but no evening meals whatsoever. The weather was quite bad and the last thing we wanted to do was have to go and drive somewhere for food. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
7.9 km away
Novotel Manchester West
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton-Le-Willows
717 reviews
11.4 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: $61 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had family rooms 408 /410 due disabilitys but does have lift”
Misskps, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
  • Stains on bed
  • Blood stains
  • Gab between ceiling and wall
530272, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel over look fields, so quiet !”
chattypops, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“always read reviews”
1tonyhewitt, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 314 and 210”
REBELWALES, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5