We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 377: English reviews
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Seven Gables Inn in the Clayton area of St Louis. It was close to my home offce and suggested to me by my management. It is definitely unique to the neighborhood . It is a smallish building built in the 1920's amongst the commercial office buildings. It definitely has a bed and breakfast feel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieWlky
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are listed in the National Historic Registry and decided to keep the building in its unique original form. We do inform guest upon making reservations and check in that we don't have any elevators since we are a Historic property. We can always make accommodations to a first floor renovated...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I had business in Clayton and decided to break the routine and stay in this unique hotel instead of a chain. I am glad I did. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. It located within easy walking distance of any business in Clayton. The staff were very helpful. The only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Warm Wishes, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This Inn is very charming. The courtyard is private and inviting. The staff were very attentive, from the front desk to the valet. Our room was directly above the restaurant below which worried me at first but after happy hour it quieted down & the noise was minimal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galadina
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are a historic build in its original form. We take pride in our hotel. With any noise issues we are always able if rooms are available to relocate you to a different room away from the noise. We hope your stay with us again in the future and look forward...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed for four night on business. This hotel is very tired and dated. The carpets are dreadful and, although it didn't appear to be unclean, it does feel like it. The bar closes very early and the breakfast is limited and poor quality. The staff were friendly enough and helpful though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royster98
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Warm Wishes, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! Very clean with large comfortable rooms, the bed was amazing and breakfast was wonderful. One negative is that there are no elevators so get ready to hike some steps. When I checked in I met an amazing employee named Mitu. She literally was waiting tables for an wedding and stopped what she was doing to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yikaddd
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our hotel and staff. We look forward to your next visit :). Warm Wishes, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Beautiful suite! Good continental breakfast. Historic building. Friendly, accommodating staff. Manager Very professionally handled an issue on an earlier visit. Will definitely return. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rjwilderson
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you visit again soon. Best Wishes, Stacey Wallace General manager

Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I am traveling with my 91 year old mother. The inn looked interesting and it had a restaurant on location, I wouldn't have to get my Mom out again, and the courtyard. We checked in on a Friday night and checked out on Monday. At check in, I realized that I had confused this inn with another...no elevator. My designed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdp43
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfying for you. Unfortunately we are well known for holding a lot of wedding, rehearsals, receptions, birthday, meeting, happy hours..ect on the weekends and once the weather starts getting warm that's our busy time for wedding may, June, and July ....

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 28 September 2016

What a great place and such a wonderful staff. We had three rooms for two nights while attending a wedding rehersal dinner and wedding event. All three rooms were perfect and Mitu went out of her way to accomodate our every need. Truly a St. Louis gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel truly is a St.louis gen build in 1926. Warm Wishes, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at seven gables for one night. The workers were very nice and helpful. The air conditioner did not work well in our room. I assume that's because the hotel was built in the 20's. There was a fan in the room to help. No exhaust fan in the bathroom. The hallways and rooms had musty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathanq261
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We take pride in our hotel and our hotels appearance We're sorry that your stay was not pleasant for you. Warm Wishes, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Kendrick, Idaho
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I like to get off the beaten path and away from the chain hotels sometimes and sacrifice points and glad I did. It's an older property but clean and very quiet. Beds were awesome and the staff was very helpful. Had a rental car and it looked like parking was limited. Being Easter Sunday the restaurant/bar wasn't open so had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnmannedFarmer
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you chose to forgo the regular hotel experience and even happier you chose us! When you come back to visit, you'll have to try our delicious pub, Molly Darcy's. It's open from 11AM-10PM (we serve alcohol a little later), Monday-Saturday (we are closed on Sundays and holidays). Again, thank you so much...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
The Cheshire
#33 of 120 in Saint Louis
866 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
887 reviews
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#37 of 120 in Saint Louis
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $189 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a third floor room for noise reduction.”
 of 5 bubbles taburfield, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a Historic building and does not have elevators. Request a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 736ToddP, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5