We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
    1.2 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed yesterday
Location and great staff makes the hotel
This hotel was originally a Ritz Carlton (so I am told) and you... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,392: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was originally a Ritz Carlton (so I am told) and you can tell by the heavy use of marble and dark woods. The hotel is in need of an update and was told it was going to take place this winter (2017) for the lobby and first floor areas. Granted the rest of the hotel can use a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed multiple times at this hotel and is our preferred place to stay. The hotel is close to where we have our business meetings. Unlike most other hotels in the US, you get water in the room (no running around the ice vending machine post mid night). The rooms are reasonably big and clean. Also, there are many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adatar
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear adatar, Thanks for staying with us again. We appreciate your continued patronage and your kind words on TripAdvisor. We will all look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Vanessa Heathcock was a joy to work with! We had a business dinner for around 50 with cocktails and appetizers. I didn't have to worry about any of the details. She had her team on it. Hussain, one of their waiters even helped us with a cart to get the centerpieces to our car. He was even loading them in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Jessica L, With 30,000 square feet of meeting space, including rooms with a spectacular view of the Country Club Plaza, the InterContinental Kansas City is the perfect location for both small and large events, whether for business or social purposes. We are fortunate to have a very experienced staff at all levels who make the planning a painless process,...

Junction City, Kansas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mr. Rob Stiver, was an absolute pleasure with whom to interact. His attentive professionalism and charming personality made even the trivial experience of getting a couple of drinks at the bar an excellent customer experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank admiraljedi
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear admiraljedi, Thank you for staying at the InterContinental Kansas City and for letting us know how much you enjoyed the service provided by Rob. Rob always does a great job job serving our guests, and please know your comments will be shared with him. We realize guests have a choice of where to stay on the Plaza, and we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was a great time many wonderful places to eat and sites to see. Stayed at the Inter Continental Hotel Great staff nice rooms and Craig in the concierge lounge is always amazing on how he can get you last minute reservations

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Btillotdon
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Btillotdon, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate and value a 5-star rating. We'll be sure to let Craig know how much you enjoyed his service. We agree that "amazing" is a great way to describe it. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General...

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

When I reserve a room at a five-star, 366 room hotel, located on the corner of one of Kansas City's premier shopping and entertainment districts, I expect the best of the best. Well, I won't make that assumption again. This reservation was part of a surprise 60th birthday gift for a friend. When I booked the room, I expressed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hitheroadwithme
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Hittheroadwithme, Please accept my apologies for not providing you with an experience that exceeded your expectations. The interactions you describe with our staff is extremely unusual. Our team is known for consistently providing a very high level of friendly and professional service. We regret this is not what you sensed. A complete renovation of all guestrooms and corridors started...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After loving the intercontinental in Boston, I figured this one in Kansas City would be right at the standards of the one in Boston. I was wrong in assuming that. When we arrived( which was around 10-1030) on a Saturday, there was no valet or concierge service. My boyfriend ran inside to check in and ask about help with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianaseippel
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear brianaseippel, Please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced while our guest. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to communicate with you directly so I may personally apologize and learn more details so we may follow-up internally. Please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Please note my comments are based on my experiences with other Intercontinentals and hotels of a similar standard. Whoever is responsible for cleaning needs to reconsider their profession. >Room: Day 2: half-full coffee cup and dirty towel behind door not removed; iron left on floor from previous night not put away. Day 3: The cleaner arrived at 4:15 asking if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Rick
Management response:

Dear Wandering_Rick, Thank you for the positive feedback about the staff members you encountered during your stay. Candice will be very happy to hear that you appreciated her outstanding service. We would like to further investigate the issues you mentioned in your review. The problems you described are not acceptable and not a true representation of the InterContinental. If you...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our recent stay at the InterContinental Hotel on the Plaza. We had a plaza view king suite with a pull-out couch. We were very comfortable and really enjoyed the view of the plaza lights. We had drinks in the lounge downstairs both nights, and a couple of appetizers one night. We wished the wine list had a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCD-OK
Management response:

Dear DCD-OK, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the plaza lights, guest room and your dining experience. I am excited to say that all 366 guest rooms will be renovated by May 2017. Next time you are in Kansas City we hope to see you again and we know you will enjoy our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I are from Kansas City but live in Cincinnati. We decided to book an overnight and it was a wonderful experience!! Thomas Hall, the head of housekeeping went out of his way to make sure our stay was incredible and we are planning on staying here everytime we come to Kansas City. Thank you Mr. Hall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinny M
Management response:

Dear Jinny, Thank you for your kind words about the staff members here at the InterContinental. I will be sure to pass along this great review to Thomas. Thomas is new to our team and has been a great addition! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when you...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 110 in Kansas City
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
5.2 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: $249 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles admiraljedi, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was 607. It allowed for great views of the Plaza shopping district.”
  • The snow falling on the Plaza
  • Fridge inside cabinet
  • At the window panel sides inside the room. Yuck!
  • Before the snowfall
 of 5 bubbles Hitheroadwithme, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking The Plaza are not worth the cost except during Christmas and New Years Eve.”
 of 5 bubbles Wandering_Rick, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the tower have the best views. Rooms in the west addition are largest.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnTerry13, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to reserve a room in the "tower" with a view of the Plaza, on a high floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TrendWolf, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5