We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Massinga Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Massinga Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Massinga Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a fantastic week at beautiful Massinga Beach! The staff are just wonderful - always friendly and welcoming but unobtrusive. The rooms are big and comfortable and with a beautiful coastline to walk along (and warm water to swim in!), the recliners at the beach bar and a good selection of books in the library, relaxation is so easy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay_CB
SuzanneMills01, Manager at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Massinga Beach. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were recommended Massinga by Mozambique Travel in Cape Town for its luxury and privacy. The lodge definitely delivered on both and much more.We chose Massinga for our honeymoon destination as we wanted a private relaxing time away in the middle of nowhere that still offered a few activities if we felt so inclined. Firstly it is a little bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MausiMonkey
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your very details report following your stay with us. This will be a great help to others searching for the ideal honeymoon destination. We are really sorry your lost your ring while snorkeling but send you our best wishes for a blessed future together.

Kenya
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff is fantastic, just lovely people!!! Shame that I cant remember all names but every person we meet there, was incredible!!! We will come back for sure! A big kiss for the little Bonji, the lovely dog ever!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Addis69
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying Massinga Beach, please share with your friends in Maputo.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An absolute gem! The spacious and beautiful palm thatch and wooden bungalows on stilts with breathtaking views from the crest of a dune overlooking a pristine stretch of palm- fringed coast make this lodge a little piece of Eden. The beach bar and staff who couldn't be more willing are a recipe for decadent indulgence. Negatives include the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenLiebenberg
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and valuable feedback about the perception of what the new houses will do to Massinga Beach. We are grateful for the opportunity to clarify our intentions. The Massinga Beach estate is 100 hectares thus providing plenty of space for a full service Lodge as well as self-catering houses accommodating families and groups of friends,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We Stayed at Massinga Beach as part of our Honey moon, all I can say is what an awesome place, staff were great food was great, Des and Kim made us feel right at home, we had lunch at the beach Bar every day and it was fantastic, the rooms were perfect with a great view and were very clean,Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SaffaTrevor
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you foe your feedback and celebrating with us! with our very best best wishes.

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Where to start...We decided on Massinga Beach because of remoteness and we wanted a private and peaceful honeymoon. The pictures we saw of Massinga Beach just made it that much easier. We were greeted at the airport by a friendly man named Dan, from there on we knew we were on holiday, our bags and anything they could were carried...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChantalCufflin
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you so enjoyed our unique Massinga Beach hospitality and value being part of these special memories.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I booked our `dream 5* vacation' through Mozambique GSA agency in Northcliff Our first mistake of many ; we were promised the moon and stars but promises are cheap ! Massinga is not as cheap as the empty promises , rack rate of R5,000 / night for lousy food , poor service , dirty rooms and no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank valianhunters
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ian & Valerie We regret your dissatisfaction most sincerely. However, as you are aware your feedback was followed up personally by our Group Operations Manager in January. We have in fact implemented some of your positive suggestions. We very much want to resolve any problems that you may still have and if anything has subsequently caused you to resurface...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I chose Massinga beach for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere quiet, private and peaceful. We got all this whilst still receiving 5* service and accommodation. The staff and food where both amazing. They really spoilt us and made our honeymoon extremely special. The rooms were stunning and so comfortable. We enjoyed the seclusion, walking down the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveljuice16
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased your best honeymoon memories include Massinga Beach and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice houses and nice staff. But some things were poor. The pool at the beach was not clear. I like dogs but not in a swimming pool. The food was OK, not very special. The vieuw from the houses is great. We had a great 4 days, relaxing on the beach end at the house, overlooking the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBlantyre
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely regret any negative experiences and appreciate the opportunity to respond. Whilst the swimming pool gets constant attention to ensure that it looks inviting, it is really susceptible to changes in the weather and rain at this time of the year. Bonji, the Jack Russell, is a much loved member of the Massinga Beach team who even has his...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a wonderful honeymoon at Massinga. The chalets were lovely with fantastic views and we loved the private plunge pool. What really made our week was the staff. We were so impressed - they couldn't do enough for us. The food was also fantastic. We highly recommend Massinga and will definitely be paying them another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkb2128
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for highlighting the Massinga Beach staff who aim to please! We look forward to welcoming you back and here's hoping that is soon!

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
22.4 km away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Jules
Casa Jules
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
72 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
185 reviews
0.0 km away
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
#2 of 104 in Inhambane Province
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Price Range: $258 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Massinga Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Massinga Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 17 - right next to the main lodge which was great when it came to meal times as we didn't have to walk to far :-)”
 of 5 bubbles NChristopulo, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View rooms are a must - more private than standard ones and the private pool is really useful as the beach pool is quite far.”
 of 5 bubbles 734maurom, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are the best!! Although the rooms at the back have a elevated view which is also very special.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingwithBuddha, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view room is the best”
 of 5 bubbles IB_8322, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Ocean Front Rooms have great views, private plunge pools, comfortable deck and increble 180 degree views ... highly recommend”
 of 5 bubbles travelmad368, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay