We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Malthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Malthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Malthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed last night at this fabulous pub/eatery/hotel and we dined with 8 of us. The room was lovely and breakfast was superb. At £80 for B&B for me and my wife it was good value. Our meal in the restaurant was perfect and the best belly pork I have had. They even have a deal on next week of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dljmobile
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing food and amazing staff. Food is not the cheapest in the area but you definitely get what you pay for. The food is fantastic! I have only been here once since it changed hands and it is now at a much higher quality. I would totally recommend to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oliviamain123
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Lovely restaurant, has a great feel to it. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Went for an evening meal with some friends and really enjoyed the whole experience. Looking forward to going back in the colder months when the open fires will be lit, it looks very cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie M
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Being local residents, my wife and I visit most of the restaurants on a fairly regular basis. However, after our second visit to the restored Malt House yesterday, we shall be making this our regular dining out venue. The welcome is friendly, the tables have plenty of room and the service is first class. The menus offer a wide and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce S
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Called in for a quick lunch with my girlfriend and daughter. Been in a few times for drinks since refurbishment and change in ownership but not had anything to eat until today. Went for hot sandwich as wasn't looking for main meal but if I had plenty of reasonably priced options. Food was home made and well presented. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris B
Yorkshire
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

After recently being reopened under new management it was clear that they intend to impress. Warmly welcomed by all the staff, they couldn't do enough to be of assistance (even carrying one of our heavy suitcases up to the top floor room and allowing us to take our pick of 3 rooms!) An old building, with old infrastructure, you can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Theo232
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We recently moved to Rishworth and have visited The Malthouse three times in the last week, on each occasion we received a warm welcome, followed by first class food and service. The menu is extensive and innovative with things to temp any pallet. We would defy anyone not to be impressed by this establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James N
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Food excellent and rather unusual. Staff amazing. Went out of way to find us accommodation when they had no rooms available. Beer very well kept. Scallops divine.Best beef salad I have ever eaten. Surroundings very smart. Helpful service.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elaine M
Philip H, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this review

Hi Elaine, Thank you for your recent review, with such positive feedback, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Phil & Adele.

Oldham
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Since it's re-opened we have been a few times and have had a really enjoyable experiences, good food, service, value for money. However we went one Friday night in July and it was terrible. It wasn't very busy and every thing that could have gone wrong did....they got the drinks order wrong on two occasions, very very poor, slow service,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tillyoldham
Philip H, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this review

Dear Tillyoldham, Thank you for your recent review, just such a shame you did'nt review us after your previous enjoyable experiences, but chose the only one not so good one! I am sorry you had a bad experience and could not have dealt with your issues myself. I have only missed one Friday service since we opened due to a...

Lancs, England
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Quick visit before attending an evening event at the local school. Two-course evening meal (around 5 pm) absolutely excellent - and speedy service. The staff were helpful and advisory, and understood that we needed to be served promptly in order to be at the school event on time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Whewell
Philip H, Owner at The Malthouse, responded to this review

Dear Whewell, Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback and are glad we could help you and serve you promptly before your school event. hope to see you again soon! Philip H.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rishworth
5.1 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
268 reviews
11.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
7.1 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.0 km away
The Fleece Countryside Inn
The Fleece Countryside Inn
#1 of 1 in Barkisland
332 reviews
2.4 km away
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Sowerby Bridge
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country pub with restaurant and rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: 270 Oldham Road, Rishworth HX6 4QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Rishworth
Price Range: $123 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Malthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay over so cannot comment on this”
 of 5 bubbles PamC348, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Number 3 is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles sarae700, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“Traffic was buisy first thing in a morning at the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 878patf, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“Different fro cube normal everyday types of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles debswebs25, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 was at the back which we found O K”
 of 5 bubbles frankk578, 17 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5