We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaway Norfolk Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaway Norfolk Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room at the Castaway was clean and modern. This property is in a wonderful location, so close to everything in town but with a feel of being in the countryside. Friday Night Wood fire pizza night and happy hour perfect way to meet the locals. When I return I will be staying at the Castaway

Helpful?
Thank MattandStev
Burrum Heads, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary whilst on our trip to Norfolk Island and stayed at the Castaway. Tony and Sarah were the perfect hosts and made us feel so "special". Located close to the main shopping area, a spacious room, comfortable bed, great meals plus sensational sunsets from the deck. It was the perfect location. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Haupty
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

20 people can't be wrong. It was the best. We all had smiles for the whole week. Rooms were great, the grounds and the location perfect. Best of all was was our happy hosts. Nothing was a trouble to them.

Helpful?
Thank Monica E
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Dear Monica Thank you so much for a beautiful review. Im glad you all enjoyed your week. We absolutely loved you staying too. We would love to see you again sometime. We wish you all the best. And say hi to everyone! Regards Sarah Tony Stella and Pepsi! xxx More 

Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at Castaway was very good. Our hosts could not do enough for us. All amenities were available. Went on many Pinetrees tours, some great some just OK but overall it was very enjoyable. Norfolk Island is a living piece of history and you need to be interested in these things to enjoy it all.

Helpful?
Thank robybedford
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi And thanks so much for leaving a review. Thank you for staying with us at The Castaway and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We wish you all the best Sarah and Tony Watts More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a group of photographers to the island and stayed at Castaway. Sarah was a wonderful host who always said 'yes' no matter what the request. The rooms were very spacious, immaculately presented and the beds... I wanted to take mine home!! Thanks Sarah for a lovely week in paradise :)

Helpful?
Thank Arcadia L
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Dear Arcadia - Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. And Thank you again for Choosing Castaway as your hotel for your group of photographers. They all were a great group of people. I cant wait to see some of the pics. I'm pleased you liked your rooms and especially the beds. We hope to see you... More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found the Castaway to be fantastic. Very close to town. Owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the Chef was particularly helpful with foods considering I have intolerances. Rooms were lovely and clean and serviced daily. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Flame0204
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi And thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay - but especially pleased you enjoyed your Meals. Our Chef has only been on the island a few weeks - we feel he is doing a fabulous job! We hope you got some great pics of our little island. Thanks again for staying at the Castaway... More 

Pambula Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic trip, Sarah took us down for a swim (2 elderly ladies, Mary & myself) and picked us up 1 hour later, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly helpful hosts. Rooms good, food good, a very pleasant place on a very friendly island. Recommend staying with Sarah & Tony...... great friendly people.

Helpful?
Thank robbojen2549
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having your group stay. Im glad you enjoyed your swim. Emily Bay has to be one of the best in the World!! We wish your group all the best. Thank you again for staying with us. Regard Sarah Tony and Stella More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The rooms in the Castaway Norfolk Island are large, modern and well appointed. Most have a separate bed room, en-suite and lounge area. Most of the rooms have been recently renovated. The entire complex is on a single level which was of great assistance to our group (age range 55 - 82). Sarah and her team are very friendly, accommodating,... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnb19532016
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you to you and your group for choosing to stay at the Castaway for the long weekend away. Im glad you were all pleased with what we offered over the weekend. It was the first time we had organised a guest speaker. We thought he was fantastic too! 3 Days visiting our little island is just a... More 

Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

On arrival I felt welcome in this family friendly run motel. I'm a fussy eater and they cater to my needs as if it was not too much trouble... Unfortunately I was near the dining room and every noise carry through to my room...was quite noisy until 11 pm. Perfect position to walk to town and pick up zones. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank 74minerva
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your stay. However I wish you had told us that your room was noisy as we would have been very happy to move you to a quieter room. We appreciate your feedback and are doing our best to ensure the room you stayed in will be... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Sarah and Tony are owner operators at Castaways, and they go out of their way to make you feel welcomed from day one. The hotel is tucked away from the main drag, but is a short walking distance to the centre of town. Rooms have been recently renovated, are quite spacious and very comfortable. Highly recommended if your staying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrie R
castawayhotel, Owner at Castaway Norfolk Island, responded to this review

Hi Barrie Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Castaway. We love it that we are right in town but tucked back enough that it feels like you are in the country! Thank you for recommending or hotel. Regards Sarah and Tony More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.9 km away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
149 reviews
0.9 km away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.6 km away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#4 of 5 in Norfolk Island
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 13 in Burnt Pine
235 reviews
0.7 km away
Fantasy Island Resort
Fantasy Island Resort
#2 of 13 in Burnt Pine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
About Castaway Norfolk Island Castaway Norfolk Island is owned and run by Sarah and Tony Watts who have undertaken an extensive refurbishment program to present Norfolk Island's newest addition to its accommodation offerings. Built in the 1970s by Sarah's grandfather, Ken Prentice, The Castaway, as it then was, had a long and illustrious life as one of Norfolk's cherished accommodation houses. Sarah has taken on the rejuvenation of this Norfolk icon as a personal challenge and Castaway Norfolk Island has flourished under her energetic approach. Sarah, Tony, baby Stella and schnoodle, Pepsi, make Castaway Norfolk Island your home away from home. Location Situated in the heart of Burnt Pine, Norfolk's shopping, cafe and commercial hub, Castaway Norfolk Island is the most centrally located guest accommodation on the Island. But don't expect hustle and bustle! Our breakfast cafe has panoramic mountain views, while our well-appointed rooms overlook our enormous banyan tree or neighbouring Phillip Island. Staying at Castaway Norfolk Island, you are at the heart of everything, but enjoy the peace and quiet of a secret hideaway. The Property Castaway Norfolk Island underwent a major refurbishment at the beginning of 2015, so you now have the choice of fourteen freshly renovated rooms and apartments in a beautifully landscaped garden. In addition, you can enjoy the amenities of the brand new breakfast cafe and bar, with French windows overlooking Mt Pitt and Mt Bates and the massive fire place promising cosy warmth in the cooler months. The extensive renovations have been carefully designed with our guests' comfort in mind. The fresh vibrant look and the latest fixtures and fittings invite you to kick back and soak up that holiday feeling. Unwind at the bar, on the cafe terrace or the patio of your room. Take a quick stroll to the shops, or take in one of the many tours or attractions on offer. You will have a wealth of choices at Castaway Norfolk Island. Facilities: - Lively Restaurant and Bar - Meeting room - Complimentary guest laundry - Clothes lines - Fully serviced rooms - Mobile wood-fired pizza oven - On-site managers - One of the largest banyan trees on the island ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaway Norfolk Island

Address: Taylors Road, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Price Range: $146 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Norfolk Island 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castaway Norfolk Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Norfolk Island South Pacific - Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaway Norfolk Island staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castaway Norfolk Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the Nobb Suites have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles robybedford, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room had just been redecorated, good position 204.”
 of 5 bubbles robbojen2549, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the airport (in the SE over hills, in the distance) have a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnb19532016, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from diner”
 of 5 bubbles 74minerva, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the hotel rooms (not apartment style) and had an amazing view over the ocean. Can't comment on any other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 175deirdreg, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay