We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dude Rancher Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Dude Rancher Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dude Rancher Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Billings, MT and is reminiscent of the old west. It is very nostalgic and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and quaint with rustic detail and the bed was extremely comfortable. The attached restaurant was a great place to start your day with breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnna_1964
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate this and are happy you enjoyed your stay. Do come back, where we always have fresh brewed coffee available 24 hours a day for your relaxation.

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight waiting for early m7orning flight. Quiet, pet friendly nothing extrodinary but relatively clean. Parking convenient. Call the office for better rate than website. Air conditioner didn't work very well but bed was comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcrose99
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Hearing a person liked that we were able to serve great western hospitality, is wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

So I decided on this place after reading multiple reviews. The lady wasn't in the office when I came in, but another guest who had been staying informed me that she would be back in a moment. In as nice a way as I could expect from a homegrown New Yorker.😉 Very quick, easy check in and smooth sailing. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us and giving us a great review in spite of the woman who was not having a great time as a guest. We understand what you are saying and did manage to rectify the problem. We hope you come back again and have coffee with us, and enjoy a peaceful night...

Williston
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a night over the Holiday weekend. We came into town for a family emergency, and decided to catch some sleep here. The A/C units weren't working, and we were given this tiny fan at the front desk. We finally had to move rooms to get something cooler on the ground floor. We ended up staying up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, First I would like to thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for the discomfort you experienced. The weather was extremely unseasonably warm, the a/c did not keep up with the onset of the heat Billings was having. We found the problem and it has been taken care of. We do hope you stay again and feel...

Pacific Northwest
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We were visiting friends who recommended this motel since they'd stayed there several times years ago. Well, not a single thing in our room has changed since circa 1970 and I don't mean that in a good way. The bath and bed linens were clean. That is the single positive thing I can say. The towels were worn threadbare and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k8b51
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review. We will work to take steps in rectifying your comments. Hope the rest of your trip was good.

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I wanted to like it, but it's too worn to do so. The old motel smell hits you as you enter your room. Other than the lobby, nothing appealing about it. At $110 a night; its not worth it. Outside, nothing but asphalt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hello first thank you for initially making your reservations with us. We apologize your stay was not pleasant for you. Unfortunately, it is a courtyard parking, but I understand what you are saying, and we are looking into making a more pleasant view. I do hope the rest of your trip went well.

Pinson
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I decide on my road trip to Glacier National to stop and stay in old motel from the past - this motel was vintage 60`s style -old western style decor in downtown - It was very nice, clean rooms with recent re-models and amenities touch on the upscale side as in soaps etc.-- nice bed and quiet - also in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExecChef
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Dude Rancher Lodge. What a great review, we truly appreciate. Very happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast in our Stirrup Cafe. I will make sure to tell the staff of your pleasant time with us. Glacier National Park, what a beautiful wonderful place to be your...

Birmingham, AL
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Nice place to stay. Spacious quiet room. Park in the court yard for more security. Discount breakfast is a nice touch. We did not stay for breakfast. Not to far to wonderful brew pubs (couple of blocks) for great food and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buggett55
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a very pleasant review. We always do our best to make the stay for our guests a positive time. We are in a prime location for those who like to visit great brew pubs. We would love to have you stay with us again. Again, thank you!

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately for us we fell victim to misleading reviews and pictures. Carpets are stained and dirty, decor what decor, bathrooms here just look from the hippie era, no elevator, concrete walls(in our room 107) inefficient ventilation, homeless roaming the street nearby, no near restaurants, no queen beds, I guess I'm use to a hotel giving you a feeling of relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing because we want to know of any concerns and be able to improve the guests experience at our property. Hope the rest of your trip went well.

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Less than one star. POOR and TERRIBLE all the way around. They booked us a room originally with two queen beds and a kitchenette. Then they said they gave to a person who was staying an extended stay because they wanted to stay longer. How RUDE!! I am furious! Big deal they gave us free meals for me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Unfortunately the extended stay guests were extended for another few weeks. We did try to call to let you know ahead of time, unfortunately the phone number provided did not work. Sorry you didn't like Billings, however, Billings, MT has been voted the number 1 city to visit in all of the U.S. cities. For some...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.5 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
370 reviews
0.4 km away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#19 of 51 in Billings
198 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#25 of 51 in Billings
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#5 of 51 in Billings
176 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
3.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Price Range: $90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a room near the front desk, the ones near the back are like a maze to find the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles PHD85, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 is haunted so if you're into that sort of thing...”
 of 5 bubbles 971jaclynp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 102, 104.Smokers stand outside rooma 102 day-night laughing and chatting. Very rude. What does management allow this?”
 of 5 bubbles gebodogs, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel!!”
 of 5 bubbles Flseagal, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“my room on the first floor was nice, no complaints”
 of 5 bubbles L9169EOjackw, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay