We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butte KOA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butte
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Butte KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 53: English reviews
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

stayed here in August 2016 while riding cross country on my motorcycle. Not a lot of trees in this campground. The store inside has a lot of items inside plus next to the koa store is the chicken shack where you can purchase food items. Seems to be a popular place. Found the washrooms a little rundown and small

Thank Rjfaas
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

When we stayed there the were upgrading some of there sites, so there are piles of sand and dirt at some sites, the premium site we stayed at had a large concrete pad with built in grill and separate fire pit, there is a nice paved nature walk adjoining the property. I think once they are done the premium sites... More 

Thank rupelisa
Joe T, Manager at Butte KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! You hit the nail on the head - we are a work in process. When we purchased the campground, it needed a ton of work - quite literally.....we have hauled in tons of stone and dirt in an attempt to upgrade sections of the campground. The premium sites are located in a portion of the campground... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is a nice, clean park, but sites are very close together. Our neighbor's slide out was almost on our picnic table. The bathrooms and the pool were nice. The Butte Visitor Center is next door and we scheduled a tram tour of Butte and the copper mines. Very interesting.

Thank Paula S
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The current owner is slowly making improvements to the property, but instead of dumping dirt at the patio sites, he needs to put a few loads of fill in the holes at the entrance drive and office. The campground is conveniently located next to the Visitor's Center and there are several walking paths intersecting the property. It was a little... More 

Thank Linda F
Joe T, Manager at Butte KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and you are correct, we need improvement. Those that visit the campground every year can attest that we are spending money on improvements as quickly as cash flow allows. The entrance needs attention, and will be paved within the next 2 years, and possibly as early as this coming Spring. I hope your travels take you... More 

Burbank, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Check in was easy, had reserved in advance. Was taken to site by worker and helped in getting into site. Site was short, camper and tow vehicle barely fit. Internet did not work at site. Hookups were not convenient. Had to run additional water and sewer hose and sewer was uphill making dumping extremely difficult. Took much longer to dump... More 

Thank dadams4863
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I came down to see the "Evel Knievel Days" event, and decided to stay here as a base to travel from. I picked out a small lot for my tent. I was lucky to find a good spot with a small tree, as there wasn't a lot to choose from with shade, and being a hot weekend it was sure... More 

Thank MikeFitton
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
267 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This is our second stay at this koa in the last year. The cabins are very comfortable and always clean. The only complaint and it is very small is the restrooms and showers could use some updating. Otherwise the staff is very friendly and ahead helpful. Will stay again if we are in the area.

Thank P M
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This is the first time I had ever had a camping host or person at the check in counter say "lock your stuff up". I mean it's common sense, and we always lock our bikes up at night, but at check in they really reiterated the fact to lock up your belongings. The map of the campground they gave us... More 

Thank corinnalv
Joe T, Owner at Butte KOA, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our campground. However, I think the staff may have 'oversold' the issue. Butte is a very safe and friendly town, but like every town, we have mischievous high school kids who occasionally like to have too much fun, and as a result, once or twice a season, we... More 

Indio, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Nice little park, sites are level and has a little grass. We Really enjoyed the walking path adjacent to the park. We travel with 2 dogs and it is usually a challenge to find them a place to stretch their legs. The walking path is probably a couple of miles but offers lots to look at. Many bird hang out... More 

Thank shelleywyman66
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Just outside of downtown Butte. They have cabins, a pool playground and wifi. More stuff and amenities. Very friendly staff and nice little store. They have a restaurant called The Chicken Shack ( not just chicken ) While here take a walk over to the Chamber of Commerce and set up a time to take the Trolley ride around town,... More 

Thank Bud B

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (4)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Butte Plaza Inn
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#5 of 14 in Butte
413 reviews
2.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Butte
301 reviews
2.2 km away
The Miner's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Butte KOA

Address: 1601 Kaw Ave, Butte, MT 59701-5267
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Butte KOA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Butte KOA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins were very clean and quaint”
 of 5 bubbles 115budb, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for deluxe premium sites when visiting a KOA or they will most often give you one of their lower end sites. Also, it never hurts to walk the park, especially when it is not full.”
  • One of the few RV parks in the area
 of 5 bubbles FoodieCdA, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
“No tip. Everything was fine”
 of 5 bubbles N0amE, 21 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Check your site to be sure it accommodates your needs. If it does not, they will cheerfully allow you to relocate. The back row has the largest sites with 50 amp service.”
 of 5 bubbles FreedomBus, 17 Jul 2012 | Read review
4 of 4