We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Show Prices
#7 of 14 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is limited accommodation in Butte. I spent a night here because of its high rating. The restaurant was closed (this at 5 PM), the room I was given was in need of a sprucing up, the towels were half sized and the TV was tiny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you didn't find every aspect of your stay satisfactory. The Finlen doesn't have a restaurant on site, so I am unsure of what you are referring to that was closed. The bar that is onsite is open every day except Sundays and holidays at 4 p.m., but it is not...

Reviewed 24 February 2017

I love the history that tied this place to many golden artists spend their night here while performing shows when Butte was full of people, miners, money, it was like Vegas and New York together! It is sad that the city has not longer economic activities and it became somehow into a ghost town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Driving cross country in early November is a good time to travel and find some inexpensive but beautiful hotels. The Finlen was the nicest surprise we had on this trip. A local restaurant within walking distance was also another great find. ( forgot the name but the desk can tell you). Definitely would recommend staying in the old part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Clancy, Montana
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed at the Finlen on Saturday, February 18th. We were in Butte to attend the Irish Rovers concert. Unbeknownst to us, the time of the event was incorrectly listed in the Lively Times as starting at 8:00. The desk clerk at the Finlen asked me if we were in town for the concert when I checked in and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlc2345119
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you were able to get to the concert on time, our desk clerks try to stay on top of the local events. We do apologize for the noise, being in an urban location we unfortunately cannot control the noise level from the local bars. We hope to see you again...

MOBILE
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The main reason for our trip to Montana was to visit the Finlen Hotel - we had a great stay and a great visit with the owner. Comfortable room, clean, updated but still retained its old charm, convenient

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MIKE F
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are honored to be the reason for your trip to Montana! Thank you so much for staying with us, please come back again soon!

Reviewed 11 December 2016

We were 2 nights in original hotel. We were on the parking lot side. It was quiet, very nice. A beautiful hotel. Very nice staff. Priced right and great location. Lots of parking. Close to some good nightlife and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel got decent reviews and the price was right. We stayed in the motel section since we needed a refrigerator and the hotel rooms with a fridge were at least $20 more for the night. Room was basic, but somehow about perfect in the layout. The coffee was in the lobby, but it was good coffee, which was nice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review and thank you for staying with us! We try to offer as many amenities as possible and keep our prices affordable. Please come stay with us again!

Newport, OR
Reviewed 8 October 2016

When the Finlen Hotel was not available, I settled for the Motor Inn that shares the same parking lot. Either way, it would be like time travel back to the 1920s or the early 1960s. Like much of Butte, both these properties have character and is vintage. The Motor Inn was clean and everything worked. The walls were painted concrete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaboSisters
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We found the Finlen on route to Glacier from Yellowstone and opted for the Motor Inn due to the convenience; we could park right in front of the room and be in and out quick. The 14 hours we did stay in Butte were full of historical architecture, interesting joints to eat and drink, and a huge copper mine. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are very fortunate to be located just about half way between Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks. We are glad that you found us and were able to explore Butte during your short visit! We hope to see you again, thank you for your business!

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We enjoyed staying at this classic hotel. However, the bed left a lot to be desired. It was too soft, swayed with each movement of myself or my wife. The noisy street outside was a distraction at 2am with motorcycles and loud drinkers from the Acoma bar. Glad we stayed but would not do it again at $87.74.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scpousncb
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. The street noise can certainly be a nuisance in the uptown area, it is something that we are actively addressing with our community leaders. We appreciate your review as it lets us know where we can be improving our guest's experiences...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
499 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 14 in Butte
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
0.2 km away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#4 of 14 in Butte
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Price Range: $108 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix, Arizona
2 months ago
Belgrade, Montana
Spokane, Washington
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room away from the street.”
mlc2345119, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for old hotel back side to get full experience of this classic.”
T9563ASmikeh, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“motel rooms are very convenient for loading unloading and on ground level”
Travelbug1155, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing South”
scpousncb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good. they have two bedroom rooms great for 4 people”
RogerK1939, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5