We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$142
Fully refundable before Sat, Dec 16
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
US$142
Fully refundable before Sat, Dec 16
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
US$142
Fully refundable before Sat, Dec 16
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
TripadvisorUS$142
Priceline
TravelocityUS$142
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)

About

#10 of 21 hotels in Butte
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn offers 1920’s glamour and sophistication nestled in the rugged beauty of Butte, Montana. We offer 24 hotel rooms located in the historic tower and 31 mid century motel rooms located right next door. Take a step back in time in the Finlen's breathtaking lobby, ballrooms and event space, and have a drink in the Cavalier Lounge. Why drive all over town, when you can stay in the heart of Uptown Butte, take a step back in history, and experience the magnificent oasis that is the Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn. The Finlen and Motor Inn is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
309Reviews4Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 103
  • 51
  • 15
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Random drifter wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Cool historic hotel with great location in uptown Butte, within walking distance of good restaurants and historic district. We stayed in the tower, not the motel. Check-in was supposed to be at 3 but our room was not ready for another 30 minutes, even though the hotel was not full and we hardly saw anyone else. This was not a bid deal for us, but worth noting. Also, as 119ashlynm commented, the small floor A/C cannot cool the room at all and Butte can get hot in the summer months. Despite running constantly and set to 68 degrees F, the A/C never managed to cool the room below 77 degrees. The room was uncomfortably warm and we had a poor nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are so sorry that your stay was not perfect. We hope that you will stay with us again, thank you for your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lloyd O wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions
I am glad that they are trying to make a go of it. I like Butte. This town of people descended from miners still has people who know how to build things and have a work ethic. We stayed at Finlen Hotel Saturday night, checked in 10 PM and found no parking either on the street (their lounge was busy), or in the motel parking lot. The desk attendant told us there was additional parking in a lot across the street and that it was secure. Sunday morning I went to get my car and the car next to me had its passenger door window completely busted out. Two other cars also had windows broken out with two pairs of heavy gloves left nearby (they were prepared). The hotel called the police, they told me today but the police can't do anything. They have security cameras but "they aren't
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are so sorry that this happened to you and few of our other guests. This is not a normal occurrence at our property and we are sad that this happened. We filed police reports and that is the extent of what we can do at this time. We have been working on improvements to our lighting and security all across our property to avoid any future issues.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slas86 wrote a review Aug 2022
Glenpool, Oklahoma702 contributions125 helpful votes
We stayed in the motel part--the main hotel is deceiving because it is mostly businesses. The lady at the front desk kindly allowed us to turn on the lights in the grand ballroom and the history looked to be glorious. As a motel, nothing special. Good location. Large room. Comfortable. Quiet. But this is quite a has been.....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We thank you for your business and hope that you will stay with us in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashlyn M wrote a review Aug 2022
Lolo, Montana5 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location, perfect for walking and hanging out downtown. When we arrived, our room (in the tower) had to have been at least in the mid-80s. There was no central A/C, but a small standing unit in the room that was not on when we arrived. I was surprised that when the weather is in the 90s they left all the blinds open with the sun shining through so that didn't help with the heat. They also left the window A/C unit off, which if they knew ahead of time like they did with us that it would've been nice to cool the room off a bit. We slept with the A/C and the fan on all night and neither of us slept well at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Being that this a historic property without central air, it does present challenges during the unseasonably warm periods. I have passed your concerns along to our maintenance team to see what we can do to about improving our A/C units for next summer. We hope that the next time you are in town you will give us another chance! Thank you for your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie M wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions
The Finlen was was top notch at one time. No longer. The lobby is lovely but that is about it. Difficult to find the bathroom light... it was a small switch above the sink. Had to grope around in the dark to find it. Talking about lights... the only lamps were on ONE bedside table and the other on the desk. No overhead lights. However there was a bright naked lightbulb showing through the window from another room that was kitty corner directly into our window and even closing the blinds did not keep that light out. Tiny room. Bathroom falling apart. The air conditioner sounded like a locomotive was going through the room. The bed was comfortable. Very expensive mistake staying there!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would have been happy to move you to a different room if you would have mentioned your dissatisfaction with the room during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we do appreciate your business and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MEADOW B wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
This Motel stays in uptown Butte and it is very comfortable very clean and people that work there are very kind and caring I've never been into a city that a stranger opens the door for you or even helps you out to your car with your takeout with not even knowing you Butte Montana
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We love that you enjoyed your stay, please come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike wrote a review Oct 2021
13 contributions9 helpful votes
I recently had occasion to stay at Hotel Finlen. I stayed in room 157. The bed was awfully soft, the tub/shower diverted did not work sending most of the water to the tub, and the bathroom sink filled up with waste water. There is no thermostat in the room so you have to manually adjust the radiator vales both in the bedroom and in the bathroom. It is also located in a run-down section of Butte.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. All of your concerns have been turned over to our maintenance team. Thank you for your business and your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Skierfamilymt wrote a review Oct 2021
33 contributions47 helpful votes
Heard neighbors being intimate. Loud & clear, complete with thumping headboard. Serious concerns about many outlet extenders and power strip under desk. Teeny room. Room for two nightstands but only one provided. Really bad pillows. Screenless window is the only ventilation. Smoke detector doesn’t appear to be functional. Funky smell in corridor. Still use cut key room door locks and no deadbolt. All this splendor for $150/night! Pretty sure we won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Go782282 wrote a review Sep 2021
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Extremely noisy. Tv in next room, loud street traffic, people yelling after bars closed at 2:00 am, doors slamming, etc.. Downtown is mostly deserted with shuttered stores. Hotel is a shadow of it's former glory. Couldn't find an open reataurant. AVOID!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Shortjo wrote a review Sep 2021
Lewiston, Michigan72 contributions22 helpful votes
Nice historic hotel in the downtown area. Our suite room had a separate living area with fridge and sink. Walked to restaurants and bars although some were not open due to COVID . We were disappointed that their on site bar was not open for our nightcap due to renovations but we had been informed of that prior to our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SM Front Desk Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Finlen Hotel and Inn
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We are now happy to report that the Cavalier Lounge is now open, we would love to see you again the next time you are in Butte!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
US$153 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
finlen hotel and motor butte, finlen hotel butte
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaButte
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Finlen Hotel and Inn - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Butte, MT) - Tripadvisor