We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sears Motel and Cabins

Save
Share
1023 Highway 49 Box 275, East Glacier Park, MT 59434-5008
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (39)
room_amp_suite (32)
phototagging_dining (1)

About

#6 of 6 hotels in East Glacier Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Here at Sears Motel & Cabins, you can always expect a warm welcome in from the long road. We're a humble haven for families and out-of-towners with cozy cabins complete with free Wi-Fi, satellite, furnishings, fire pits, and good times. Our affordable resort is also within walking distance of fishing posts, hiking trails, restaurants, churches, and even a library if you need a good book to curl up with for the day. We love being here to share our beautiful community and scenery with folks from near and far. So, when the road is long, and you need a place to unwind, stay a warm while with us here at Sears Motel & Cabins.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
hotel_amenity_free_internet
hotel_amenity_convenience_store
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_5184
125Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 39
  • 23
  • 14
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Ben H wrote a review Oct. 2019
Saint Paul, Minnesota
I knew we were in trouble when the checkin person took 5 min. to find an old-fashioned key for our room #6. Then there was no chain lock for the door. We were sitting in the room (luckily we were there) when someone else tried to enter our room with a key for room #6. The person in the office had left the office for an hour, and left instructions (via a phone number) for people checking in. So he had left the our room #6 key to someone else. The person had to call the number and explain the problem (and get another room). So obviously, terrible security. After that, we put something heavy in front of the door. Other problems in the cabin: No curtain on the side window (we put up a towel); paper-thin walls; no toilet paper (we had to go to the office); terrible wall heater (the dial was busted); busted portable heater (didn’t work at all); WiFi was out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Noel S, Owner at Sears Motel and Cabins
Responded Oct. 10, 2019
It sounds like you didn't experience the best of what we have to offer when you visited, and for that I sincerely apologize. I'll be sure to talk to the staff so mix-ups like this can be prevented going forward, as your safety and security are of the utmost importance to us. In regards to our amenities, we are a tad on the rustic side, but everything certainly should've been in working order for you. I'll definitely be looking into what may have been wrong with your heaters, and the WiFi situation is being corrected as we speak. That said, if you're ever out our way again, I hope you'll consider giving us another shot to show you the five-star stay we're capable of providing. All the best, Noel Stewart, General Manager
Read more
Tom E wrote a review Sep. 2019
New Ulm, Minnesota
Before posting this review, I sent an eMail containing this information to the address that I used to book the cabins. I wanted to give the owners a chance to comment before going live with this. After one week, I still have not heard back from them. I and my traveling companions were also quite pleased with the cabins at the property. Even though they look like they were built in the post-WW2 surge in motor camps, they were clean, the beds were comfortable, there was a good supply of hot water, and so on. Unfortunately, this is where things started to break down. - Breakfast When I picked up the keys to the cabins, I asked about the location and times for breakfast. The young lady behind the counter told me where the breakfast room was located and said that it would be open at 8:00, or 9:00, or anytime that I'd like. I thought that was a bit odd. The next morning I found out that the breakfast room appears to be open 24/7 because the door to that room doesn't close and it's contents seemed a bit chaotic. The first day, there was a large box of prepackaged pastries as well as bread, cereal, milk, butter and so on but the water cooler was empty and wasn't refilled during our four day stay. Needless to say, there wasn't any water to make coffee. One morning a guest took one of the pitchers and went back to their cabin and returned with water to make coffee. The pastries that were on hand the first morning never reappeared. It pretty much looked like "here's the stuff - you make your own breakfast." - Television and internet I applaud the owner's attempt to join the high tech world by using smart television sets in the cabins that connect via the Internet, but while we were there, it was a total failure. I am a computer networking instructor so I know a little bit about these things and I also use a Roku device on my home TV. The first night (Tue, 3 Sep) I attributed the slow speed and poor reception to be a problem with the hotel's Internet service. The next day after returning from a day in the park, I spoke with a young fellow in the office who said that the phone company would be installing a new wireless access point the following day and that there would be better WiFi service after that. Well, that didn't turn out to be correct. In addition to slow connections, the WiFi signal would drop out from time to time, with the television set displaying a message saying that we had to go through the network set up process again. And again... And again... On Day 3 (Thu, 5 Sep) I noticed that when I attempted to connect to the internet with my phone, I received a web page saying that the hotel hadn't paid it's internet bill and as such there wouldn't be any access until the account was cleared up. Needless to say, there was no internet service that night at all. On Day 4 (Fri, 6 Sep) which was our last night before leaving, I used some of the networking tools on my phone to check the situation in the area. I was prompted to do this while having pizza across the street at Brownie's Cafe and noticing that the hotel's WiFi signal was stronger there than in the cabins. I measured the data speed at four different locations. The minimum speed for a single smart TV is 3 megabits per second. The highest speed that evening was 0.85 megabits per second, and that was measured across the street at Brownie's. There is no way that all the smart TVs in the cabins would be able to run off of an internet connection with that speed. - Front desk staff The young folks working in the office, while very friendly, weren't able to help much with the chaos in the breakfast room or when dealing with the internet and television situation. One of the mornings, there were three people waiting to check in at 9:00 AM and the office wasn't open. One of the young ladies on staff said that she couldn't help because she didn't have a key to the office. Later that day when one of my traveling companions mentioned the TV and internet problems to one of the fellows in the office, he was told that we would be receiving a 25% refund on the bill. I'm not certain if he was authorized to do that, but in any case, nothing has shown up on my credit card bill as of today, 11 September. The motor camp has great potential and the cabins that we saw were fine, but management of the place is out of control.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
ur_question.prompt.11
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Noel S, Owner at Sears Motel and Cabins
Responded Sep. 19, 2019
While I'm grateful you found our grounds and facilities to be satisfactory, Tom, it's unfortunate that our Internet troubles put such a damper on your visit. As you said, we're doing our best to keep up with the high-tech age, but we're still working out the kinks with our wi-fi, and I sincerely apologize if this was an inconvenience for you. Our main goal is to provide a clean and comfortable home-base for you while you explore the beauty of your surroundings, but we're also working hard to upgrade our amenities to suit modern travelers. I'm sorry as well for any lack of communication you may have experienced. You're welcome to call (406) 226-4432 if you'd like to discuss your stay in further detail. All the best, Noel Stewart, General Manager
Read more
Jeff H wrote a review Aug. 2019
Saint Louis, Missouri
I came in on a motorcycle. Talked with Nolan Oldperson at the desk. He was great to work with. It’s not luxurious, but my cabin was clean and quiet. I’d stay again. I was on a tight budget, and this filled the bill.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Noel S, Owner at Sears Motel and Cabins
Responded Aug. 15, 2019
Glad we could provide you with a comfortable place to stay without breaking the bank, Jeff! It's also wonderful to hear that Nolan took great care of you throughout your visit. I hope to see you here again sometime! Until then, Noel Stewart, General Manager
Read more
Megan wrote a review Jul. 2019
Absolutely disgusting establishment, especially room 4. No running water for 2 days, unclean bathroom/shower with a sink that leaked constantly, very rude and unprofessional staff, and no working WiFi or cable... Upon arriving, the motel had no running water. No refunds or accommodations are offered by any staff. The water remained off for 2 days. I tried to call the property, Noel, for multiple days, only to be directed to try again as her voicemail box was full. Ultimately she never returned any of my calls. There is no accountability. I have been better off sleeping in my car than paying any amount of money to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Noel S, Owner at Sears Motel and Cabins
Responded Jul. 29, 2019
Megan, I sincerely apologize for our plumbing issues as well as any lack of communication you may have experienced during your stay. The service you describe is certainly not what we aim for here, so it's truly disheartening that we missed the mark when you visited. I'll be sure to look into this immediately and hope you'll feel free to give me another call at (406) 226-4432 if you'd like to discuss this in further detail. Kind regards, Noel Stewart, General Manager
Read more
Lloyd W wrote a review Jul. 2019
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
This place was dirty, plumbing didn't work, shower wouldn't drain, screens on the windows ripped. Uninhabitable! When we informed them about the clogged shower drain they said it would be taken care of but when we came back from hiking it was not fixed because they said that they did not have another key to get into the room. The only key was they one they gave me!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away!!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Noel S, Owner at Sears Motel and Cabins
Responded Jul. 25, 2019
Our guests come here to find a relaxing escape, Lloyd, so it's extremely disappointing to hear we didn't provide this for you. I'm sincerely sorry if you were inconvenienced by our plumbing issues, which we've now taken care of. I hope we can welcome you back in the future so we can show you the five-star experience we're capable of. All the best, Noel Stewart, General Manager
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
sears motel and campground hotel east glacier park
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaEast Glacier Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing