Astoria Hotel and Suites

Astoria Hotel and Suites

201 California St Merrill Ave, Glendive, MT 59330-3702
Traveller (46)
Luxurious King Suite
Room & Suite (38)
Breakfast Area
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 11 hotels in Glendive
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel is conveniently located Off I-94 exit 215. It has restaurant/bar within walking distance. Hotel has indoor pool with Jacuzzi, complimentary breakfast buffet, exercise room, business center, wireless and WIFI, guest laundry, luggage room, outdoor patio. The hotel is all interior corridors. Rooms are available in 1 king, 2 queens and suites. All the rooms have micro/fridge units, Wireless and hardwired, iPod alarm clock radios, internet, hair dryers, iron/boards, coffee makers, Cable TV.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family

Location

201 California St Merrill Ave, Glendive, MT 59330-3702
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Dawson Community Airport
Richland Municipal Airport
247Reviews2Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 103
  • 77
  • 25
  • 20
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathy A wrote a review Jun 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was a bit disappointed in this hotel. It is beautifully decorated and looks like a nicer end hotel but when I arrived everything was broken. The pool was closed, one of the elevators was out of serviced and when we went to our room, our shower was not working and there was no stopper in the tub (not that i wanted to take a bath but that wasnt an option if we did). We were moved to a new room and the toilet seat was broken and the AC so noisey that it kept me awake all night. There was also an ice maker that was just up the hall from my room that unbelievably noisy and acted like it was continuously making ice. The pricing for this place was on the higher end so I expected more. I do have to admit that the staff was nice and the rooms were very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BobinBeijing wrote a review Sep 2023
Bothell, Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was comfortable. With the exception of an ice machine not working, whatever deferred maintenance that has been mentioned in previous reviews is no longer a problem, as both elevators are working.
Check in was a breeze. The location is right off the freeway. The complimentary breakfast was good omelets, sausage and hash browns as well at the usual cereals and toast.
I'd stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kiersten L wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Three of us passed through Glendive on a road trip and stayed here at the Astoria. The staff was so friendly and helpful; they went above and beyond to make sure we had everything to make us comfortable. I had my dog with us and they were welcoming and accommodating. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beachp58 wrote a review Jun 2022
Baker, Montana
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In the interest of speed, I will make a bulleted list:
1. Made reservations in person back in March for a June wedding stay. Overall, our family rented 15 rooms over several nights. Several other friends also stayed at this location. They made plenty of $$ off our stay.
2. Pool and hot tub were out of order.
3. One elevator was out of order
4. Three days in a row, breakfast was always out of food. ALWAYS. Had to beg the desk clerk to please set out some bread so we could at least make a piece of
toast. Waffle maker out of order, coffee cups gone...Terrible.
5. There were NO housekeeping services over the three nights we stayed. No towels exchanged, no garbage removed, nothing. Just a "sorry" from the manager.
6. When we first checked in, there were only two towels in a room for four. Had to go to the front desk in the morning and wait 10 minutes to get towels and wash cloths for our room. We were told there would not be anyone cleaning rooms for the weekend.
7. Two rooms we rented had very little water and AC didn't work. Requested room change and moved everyone to a new room.
8. Manager said we could have an extended time for breakfast on Sunday morning after the reception Sat. night so our family could have a place to visit. It was written on our contract by the manager himself. The desk clerk/breakfast person/housekeeper got mad at us and snapped that "breakfast gets torn down at 9:00 a.m." So again, what we were told did not happen.
9. Our room had dirt, food crumbs and hair rubber bands all along the edge of the carpet around the room as if it had only been "quicky vaccuumed". There was also a collection of childrens paints, brushes and a half eaten toaster waffle in the desk drawer.
10. With all these items "not happening" we were never told we would be offered a reduced rate or anything. Paid $15.00/room/night more than the cost of the room as it is advertised online right now. We stayed 6/9 - 6-11, so it was last weekend, two days ago. I would not stay here again, and I would not recommend it to anyone.
I very, very rarely give a scathing review like this. I would not attempt to make things difficult for a business unless I felt things were handled badly all around, and I have to say that this is exactly the situation at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, where it was very quiet. Family members on the 2nd floor did not have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heather A wrote a review Jul 2023
Almonte, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel as there had been a campground in close proximity. We had been travelling with our son and his family in their RV and arrived late in the evening. We were unaware the campground had been closed. Despite my husband and I paying for a room for the night the front desk clerk was less than friendly, gave the impression that we were interrupting her evening, and said our son would have to go down the road and back onto the highway despite the parking lot of the hotel being near empty. In the morning the hotel was obviously very short staffed as the 1 girl had to deal with the front desk (phone calls, checkouts, etc.), laundry, and breakfast. She was unable to keep up with the demand of all the guests. We went to breakfast at 8 am and there were no eggs left, no white bread, the waffle batter and orange juice had run out, plastic forks had been deleted and the poor girl was running back and forth. She was very pleasant and apologetic and it was obviously not her fault. The hotel could do better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Checking in was not the best experience. The manager, Sara, was rude to me and the guest in front of me after we waited for about 10 minutes for someone to come to the desk. The shower curtain in our room was covered in urine. I didn’t notice until the shower was turned on and the steam made the smell come out. The smell was so strong it was making me gag. We had to shower with the shower curtain open. We went to the front desk to request a refund at 6 am. No one was at the front desk. We waited awhile and no one came. There was a sign that said to dial 0 on the guest phone for assistance. No one answered the first try. The second try the manager picked up saying hello? I said hi. I need help at the front desk. She asked me what I needed help with and I told her I would like my money back. She instantly had an attitude saying “You want your money back??” I said yes and she finally came up front. It appeared that she was sleeping in one of the rooms. I told her about the shower curtain and she could’ve cared less. She told me that she didn’t know how to issue a refund... funny that the manager doesn’t know how to issue a refund. She said she would have to call the owners. I asked how long it would take and she told me that it’s 5 in the morning like it’s my problem, it was actually 6 am. She didn’t even know what time it was because she was probably sleeping. I told her that I know it’s early, but I just inhaled someone else’s urine while trying to take a quick shower with the curtain open. She told me the owners live in India and offered to let me in another room to shower. At this point I told her that I just wanted to leave. She asked me a good number to contact me about the refund. I haven’t heard anything and it’s been almost a week. This hotel was a very weird experience. Ive never dealt with such awful “customer service” I will never stay at this hotel and I will be sure to tell everyone else going to that awful town to stay far far away from Astoria.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sara Haslid, General Manager at Astoria Hotel and Suites
Responded Jul 16, 2020
I apologize for the errors in your stay. I was working a 48 hour shift, so yes I was sleeping when you called. Unfortunately because you booked online, I could not process a refund. We hope you come back so we can fix the problems that had happened to you. I was definitely not trying to be mean or rude to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elli wrote a review Sep 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beds are hard, pillows are awful! Hot water for showers was mildly warm even though it was turned all the way to hot. Rooms are decently clean but there is definitely some improvement needed. I wouldn’t choose to stay here again or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cindysteile4 wrote a review Jul 2021
Hawley, Minnesota
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We pulled off the road to stay here, the elevator had not been vacuumed in months, they were out of coffee, juice in the continental breakfast area, it was 4th of July morning and the owner had his help pulling weeds , there was a young boy sweating as it was 84 degrees out, the owner was driving around the parking lot in his air conditioned Denali pulling up to workers telling them to keep working, I explained I was walking to my car to get something and said to the young boy it’s hot out !! The owner drove o we to me and said don’t talk to him he is working as the boy looked at me he said I have to listen to him he is my boss !! How inappropriate and disturbing it was seeing this. Our guest room still had used coffee grounds from the prior visit , the walls were filthy..this owner has no business in the hospitality world!!! Find some where else to stay !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy wrote a review Sep 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has seen better days. I was passing through with two small kids, and a hotel pool was essential.

On the front desk sits a misspelled sign stating the pool is closed -- I got the impression the sign had probably been sitting there a while. I waited in line to cancel my reservation, which they let me do. I go pay a significantly higher cost to stay in the Holiday Inn instead.

Two days later my credit card is charged for the full cost of the Astoria stay. What a pain.

Also, before arriving at the hotel, I needed to contact them regarding my reservation (had mistakenly made the reservation for one person only, but we actually a family of four) and neither the e-mail address on the website nor the phone number actually work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinay H wrote a review Aug 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff person was reprehensible behavior reached new heights of despicability with his overtly racist attitude. The combination of his rudeness, incompetence, and racial bias left me utterly disgusted and appalled. It’s baffling how a supposedly professional establishment could employ someone so profoundly unpleasant and unprofessional.
I would strongly advise anyone considering a stay at this hotel to steer clear unless they enjoy being treated like dirt and subjected to the worst possible customer service. This experience was beyond unacceptable
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Singh H
Glendive, Montana
Yes we do allow pets but not each and every room ,only in pet friendly rooms which is on 1st floor.
sunydaze2016 asked a question Aug 2016
Burnsville, Minnesota
Want to book. Having two smaller dogs.
Answer from Peggy K
Lindstrom, Minnesota11 contributions1 helpful vote
I don't know if animals are permitted. Might want to check their website.
brownhair69 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Billings, Montana13 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place!"
Read full review
Matt H wrote a tip May 2023
Addy, Washington11 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book Directly with the Hotel"
Read full review
beachp58 wrote a tip Jun 2022
Baker, Montana3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed on the 4th floor, where it was very quiet. Family members on the 2nd floor did not have such a quiet experience."
Read full review
Termite1998 wrote a tip Feb 2021
Billings, Montana20 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very nice hotel for the money"
Read full review
D&D wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glendive area.
PRICE RANGE
C$156 - C$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaGlendive
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Astoria Hotel and Suites - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Astoria Hotel and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Nearby attractions include Makoshika State Park (4.0 km), Glendive Dinosaur & Fossil Museum (0.3 km), and Frontier Gateway Museum (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yellowstone River Inn, Los Amigos, and Bloom Coffeehouse & Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Astoria Hotel and Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Astoria Hotel and Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Is Astoria Hotel and Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Glendive HotelsGlendive Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GlendiveHotels near Astoria Hotel and Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars