Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

stickers on sink
Traveller (143)
Panorama of the Deluxe King at the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
360
Panoramas (7)
Guest Suite
Room & Suite (113)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 23 hotels in Kalispell
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Bicycles available
Casino and Gambling
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More

Location

20 N. Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Glacier National Park Airport
13.5 km
See all flights
838Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 230
  • 118
  • 77
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lindsay B wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love staying at Red Lion in Kalispell. Comfortable beds and great breakfasts. Staff is always friendly. It is close to downtown and easy to access other areas of Kalispell. Attached to the mall for convenient shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve T wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Canada77 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is located pretty much down town and is convenient to everything, the room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was good, especially the made to order omelettes.

A couple of problems though, firstly the security guard kept harassing my 17 year old son, he would chase him away from communal areas (seating) as he was just chatting to friends on his phone, he was told that he could not loiter in the area, this occurred on both nights of our stay and as a paying guest this was unacceptable.

Secondly I have been billed twice for my stay which has been confirmed by my credit card company and my credit card statement, I am currently struggling to speak to anyone that can or will help, the only excuse I have been given is that the credit card system in the hotel was down during my stay, regardless why have I been billed twice!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Double check your billing!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RLKFOM, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Steve, Thank you for your feedback, we will review policies with both the hotel and mall security on where guests are allowed to be during the day and night hours to make sure everyone is fully aware of that. On your second issue I inquired with our accounting department, they were able verify the second authorization stemming from the credit card machine issue on your card has been released and you should be seeing it returned to you shortly. If you have any further questions our accounting can be reached at 406-751-5050 option 4 then extension 2.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sara wrote a review Jan 2020
Kalispell, Montana1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Darian helped me place my reservation and gave me all the pro tips for giving my daughter the best birthday weekend possible! Free hospitality room for the party as well as swimming for the kids! She also made me aware of the family sweet that offers everything I need to keep a group of goofy little girls happy during a sleepover. I already know that nobody will go hungry in the morning because the free breakfast has been excellent every time I stayed there in the past. MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT is that I made my past reservations through the Red Lion Hotel reservation service that you automatically get redirected to that is somewhere in another state. If you want to have the best experience possible, always call directly to the Kalispell location and make your reservation with somebody who actually works there. Excellent friendly service!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make reservation directly through the hotel staff, not an outside reservation agency.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RLKFOM, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Jan 24, 2020
We are so happy to hear that Darian was able to provide you with such excellent service! Our team is all the better for having her and we look forward to seeing you for your visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fairgraders wrote a review Oct 2020
Helena, Montana121 contributions39 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While the room supposedly came with a take away breakfast they ran out and had no back up plan or any particular interest in trying to make it up to any of the disappointed guests. Mistakes in planning can be made, but to just say “we ran out, too bad” is a far worse failure. I tried to call the hotel manager to complain but the number on his business card (406-751-5050, extension 5064) could not be reached through their phone tree. Try it yourself - there is no option to just dial an extension. So bad it’s almost funny.

Even worse was the condition of the room. It was worn and had many flaws but the “highlight” was certainly the blood splatter on the wall (see photo).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Oct 9, 2020
We are very concerned to hear about your experience. We apologize that you did experience the one day that the front desk ran out of the prepared bags, and we immediately implemented measures to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for your feedback and your housekeeping incident will be thoroughly investigated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TL wrote a review Aug 2022
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There were two employees who made our stay FABULOUS!!! Ronald at the front desk and Phillip in Security were both very welcoming and their customer service skills were outstanding for four people traveling on motorcycles after I had a debacle with a flat tire and we had to spend the night.
I can’t say enough about how they raised our spirits after being stuck without a replacement tire and us feeling pretty beaten by the situation. Employees like Ronald and Phillip should be treasured! Many would not have gone out of their way as they did to make us feel at home for the night.
In addition, the rooms were clean, quiet, beds were comfortable and we were able to get a restful nights sleep after a very stressful day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim K wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They could not find my reservation and would not help resolving the problem. The desk was manned by two inexperienced workers and the hotel manager would not come in to help even with more that 10 families in the lobby with missing reservations. Several of us spent more than two hours trying to check-in and didn't get a room because they were overbooked and ran out of rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Sep 30, 2020
We're troubled to learn about your experience. Unfortunately, in the fine print of of booking a reservation through third parties, it may take some time for the reservation to reach our system. We will do our best to accommodate. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen E wrote a review Jan 2020
Libby, Montana66 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Over the past 12 years, we stay here often during the winter months. It is a great location being attached to a dying mall and close to numerous eateries. I attempt to book on our Red Lion rewards app; however, it has not been functional for the past few months; thus, I had to book through a "third-party" company. I have let three employees know in the past month, that the app is inoperable. They are apathetic, at best. In addition, the maintenance and cleanlng has deteriorated--broken coffee maker in lobby, out of order ice machine, air vents choked with dirt and lint. There are no longer Keurig's in the room. I'm very sad that Red Lion doesn't seem to want to maintain a premier asset. What happened?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request to be away from the heating/cooling system.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RLKFOM, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Jan 24, 2020
We appreciate your feedback, our team on property has informed the Red Lion IT about the app so they can work to develop a solution to the issues you experienced. Our new management team is looking for ways we can improve on our end and we take your statements to heart and will look into potential solutions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan H wrote a review Jun 2021
Walnut Creek, California245 contributions128 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first Red Lion Inn experience and it was average and that isn't a bad thing per se.

The hotel is attached to a mall, which appears to be a bit of a dead/dying mall. It is also close to some restaurants on the Main St. and some other nearby conveniences, such as Walgreen.

Our room smelled of mold, so every time we entered the room it took a couple minutes to adjust. The curtains were fifthly. Otherwise everything appears clean and the beds were comfortable. They have great toiletries, which seems unique to this hotel brand. That was nice.

If I were to visit Kalispell again, I suppose I would try this property again. The staff were all great. The breakfast was pretty good too, for hotels of this class that is.

I believe their rates tend to be a bit high relative to the quality of the hotel, at least when folks are visiting Glacier National Park.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morgan S wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was overpriced for the accommodations received. “Free Continental Breakfast” included strictly waffles, juice, and coffee. Elevator broken and hot tub also out of commission. I understand no one plans for items to break or be out of service but price should reflect the current accommodations at the time of booking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear Morgan, We're so sorry to hear that our great value and amenities failed to meet your expectations. We're always using guest feedback to influence future decisions, and we'll be sure to keep yours in mind. Thank you, and we hope to see you again in the future. We'd be grateful for the opportunity to change your perceptions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy Janice Brown wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room here as they seem to be the only place in town that allows dogs.

We had no idea the hotel would be so outdated, dirty, and obviously have thrown in the towel on any resemblance to the hospitality industry.

The front desk guy was strange, not friendly, and delivered bad news without tact. When asked for nearby places to eat (no room service) he directed us to the grocery store across the street. Wi-Fi was off, no reason given, and directions to our room were terse, and incorrect. I doubt he actually cared where our room actually was relative to the elevator as he pointed us to the furthest one from both the lobby and our room.

In the room, any hopes of cleanliness were dashed when our dog discovered old French fries right next to the bed.

I’ve no doubt this chain will go obsolete as it seems they just don’t care anymore.

Stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. The employee in question is no longer with us. We apologize for the housekeeping issue and will remedy the root of this problem immediately.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RetiredInJupiter asked a question Aug 2020
Orlando, Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dogs allowed?
David Y asked a question Oct 2019
Issaquah, Washington
You are pet friendly
Kalispell, Montana
We are pet friendly yes. If the pet is not a service animal there is a 1 time per stay $15 cleaning fee. Service animals visit us for free.
W1922MOpeterp asked a question Jan 2018
Old Bridge, New Jersey17 contributions15 helpful votes
Hello: what months are the best time for a visit . Trying to tie in visiting Washington to thanks
Answer from GeneralManagerLCB
Kalispell, Montana12 contributions2 helpful votes
Anytime is a good time depending on why you are visiting. If you are looking for skiing, now is a great time until first part of April. If you are wanting to adventure in Glacier National Park for the summer, the Going to the Sun Road can fully open anytime between mid June to mid July - mother nature has control there !! Hope to see you soon.
Mary B asked a question Jan 2018
Many, Louisiana67 contributions11 helpful votes
How close are you to airport? Do you provide an airport shuttle? Taxi service?
Answer from GeneralManagerLCB
Kalispell, Montana12 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes we do provide shuttle to and from the airport. It's about 15 minutes away
gbyrne asked a question Aug 2017
Huntington Beach
Do you have elevator? My husband has trouble with stairs
Answer from John W
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota226 contributions28 helpful votes
Yes, they have an elevator, as well as numerous carts to help transport your luggage from the car to the room.
Bobbi G wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool was clean and not crowded, kids had a good time. "
Read full review
SEC wrote a tip Oct 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms near pool can be noisy til late in evening. Breakfast buffet very good!"
Read full review
Roger N wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better places for less in Kalispell."
Read full review
Alahna L wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go here "
Read full review
Jim L wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"fuel is usually cheaper in Whitefish 15 miles away "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalispell area.
PRICE RANGE
C$235 - C$412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red lion kalispell, kalispell red lion
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaKalispell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Red Lion Hotel Kalispell - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Nearby attractions include Northwest Montana History Museum (0.4 km), Mooses Saloon (0.3 km), and Blacktail Mountiain Books (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Desoto Grill, Hops Downtown Grill, and Sykes Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Red Lion Hotel Kalispell have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Red Lion Hotel Kalispell offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Red Lion Hotel Kalispell have airport transportation?
Yes, Red Lion Hotel Kalispell offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Red Lion Hotel Kalispell located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Kalispell.
Are pets allowed at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Kalispell HotelsKalispell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalispellHotels near Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars