We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kootenai River Outfitters

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troy
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Start your review of Kootenai River Outfitters
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved it! The cabin was amazing & the view was too! The hosts did a great job of making you feel welcome & comfort. The retreat was very informative & helpfull. It would make a great family or individual get away .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the weekend program - we look forward to offering it again in October when we will have even more space to share!

Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little slice of heaven on earth! The cleanest,loveliest and most scenic getaway ! The owners, Jeanie and Robert have provided the perfect retreat for those looking for a quiet getaway or an adventure beyond expectations ! I will be back !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suezmomz
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review - it was our great pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Robert and Jeanie are wonderful people, the location, views, stream, cabins, comfort and quiet were all way beyond my expectations. I really enjoyed walking the property. The stream is right outside your door and it is healthy, full of fish and wildlife. It's a very special place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainDrewby
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it was our great pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great family vacation! We, my husband, our two boys (14 and 16), our dog and myself, had wanted to visit Montana for quite a few years now and we finally got to do so. After travelling for two days we arrived at cabin 2 in the afternoon of 12/23. Wow, what a beautiful site. This was exactly what we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srevolin
R_Winstrom, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to have you stay with us and the cookies that you brought for us were wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Robert and Jeanie

Colorado
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The setting can't be beat, we loved being right on the water. The cabins are secluded and you really feel like you have gotten away. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful, with attention to every details. Everything in our cabin was new or updated. Can't wait to go back! I'm sure we will be visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j2powell
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we are so happy to hear that everything was wonderful! We look forward to your next visit and to sharing some new spaces for guests...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

My wife and I had booked this trip three years ago and as life would have it we couldn't make it happen. Robert and Jeanie just said make it when you can. normally when you cancel a reservation that is nonrefundable. That's it. Not here they kept our deposit but applied it to our new reservations. These are truly wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Steve, we always understand when life happens and we are thankful that you were able to make the trip this time and use your deposit. I promise to keep baking and making jam for your next visit!

Richland, WA
Reviewed 20 September 2016

An easy 6 hour drive from the Tri-Cities, WA, which included stopping to eat in CDA and a brief stop at a grocery store in Sandpoint to pick up a few perishables before continuing on to the cabin. Shortly after our arrival at cabin #1 we were greeted with a little rain, thunder and lightening! We sat on the covered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HucksMomRichland_WA
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Those moose are elusive, so please do come back again - we would love to see you again!

Cookson, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My husband and I took off on a vacation with no destination in mind and happened to come across this wonderful place. Robert and Jeanie had cabin #2 available for 3 nights so we booked. Due to unavoidable circumstances, the people in cabin #1 had to cancel and we took their place for 5 wonderful days. WOW! WOW and WOW!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moorejk1995
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Judy and Ken - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are so delighted when people understand the amazing place that we have - and your words will help others to understand - you have to experience it. We are glad that you liked the jam - remind me to be sure...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

As a vacation destination for our nature-loving family, this place was captivating! We enjoyed hiking, canoeing & paddle boarding to Bull Lake, s'mores by the fire, star gazing and critter watching, all accompanied by amazing mountain views. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a spacious, immaculate cabin, containing every amenity and heavenly homemade jam to boot! The pristine surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Gina - Thank you so much for the glowing review - it was our pleasure to host your family and we hope that your travels will bring you our way in the future. Thanks again - we appreciate your business!

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The pictures truly describe this one. There are 3 cabins total-spread out over acres of land. They sit on a creek at the top of Bull Lake. Luxury is a good description. One is a true log cabin and the other two are more modern log cabins with logs and drywall. w stayed in #3 and WOW - we loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Kathy - thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted that you are happy and I appreciate that the steps were helpful to you in getting down to the fire pit and stream. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
24.6 km away
Venture Inn
Venture Inn
#1 of 6 in Libby
149 reviews
24.2 km away
Sandman Motel
Sandman Motel
#5 of 6 in Libby
50 reviews
21.8 km away
Bobtail Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#3 of 6 in Libby
43 reviews
24.9 km away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#4 of 6 in Libby
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests will stay in one of 3 hand hewn log and cedar modern guest houses. All are spacious and privately situated on the water with gorgeous views of the high peaks and the creek. Full size covered decks on each provide comfortable relaxation in a stunningly beautiful environment. All have fully equipped kitchens, full bath, wood and /or propane stoves, propane heaters, power, wi-fi, phone, gas grills etc...in short everything that you will need for your stay with us. Just bring food and personal items. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kootenai River Outfitters

Address: PO Box 775, Troy, MT 59935-0775
Region: United States > Montana > Troy
Price Range: $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kootenai River Outfitters staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kootenai River Outfitters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a cabin with no curtains on the big dining room/living room slider windows that faced west. May ask for different one next time.”
j2powell, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can't go wrong with any of the KRO cabins.”
HucksMomRichland_WA, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful luxury cabin creekside at Bull Lake, Troy MT”
494kathyd, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Let management know what you need.”
paulstai, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“This is a cabin, not a hotel room.”
beans55, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5