We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yellowstone Under Canvas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Yellowstone Under Canvas
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone Under Canvas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 501: English reviews
Yorkville, Illinois
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We traveled with our two adult children ages 22 and 18 and had a great experience. Glad we decided to stay two nights. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean the tents and the bathrooms were. The staff was also wonderful. An experience that everyone should try at least once!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahgQ330RT
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to check out one of our other glamping locations in Moab or West Glacier. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The beds were extraordinarily comfortable. We couldn't get the stove to work though, but the beds kept us warm. Staff is friendly but a little vague. Bathrooms weren't bad! Stars were incredible. Noise was a minimum.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathy2030
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, as we strive to make your stay memorable! One of the charms of the property is that we are located 6 miles outside of town where you can enjoy the wildlife, sounds of nature, and the stars at night. Thank you...

Quebec
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This place was amazing. Unfortunately, we only booked one night because their advertising is not telling everything, so we were expectng less than the site actually offers. They do have a pool, a small picnic area, a common room in a lodge with microwave, chairs, tables, etc. Had we known, we would have stayed much longer. Clean showers, lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, as we strive to make your stay memorable! One of the charms of the property is that we are located 6 miles outside of town where you can enjoy the wildlife, sounds of nature, and the stars at night. Thank you...

Thayne, Wyoming
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We tried glamping for the 1st time. It was a great bed and tent was nice and warm. We even stayed dry in a heavy hail storm! The only downsides were the $10 cans of wine. Plus they advertise top of line glamorous bathroom, they wre not. They were camp ground bathrooms,had shampoo but no soap. Would try again with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 53rickj
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Between the comfortable beds, the beautiful outdoor scene, wood burning stoves and many blankets, it's hard not to feel like you're still at home! Be Sure to check out our other glamping locations in Moab and West Glacier.

Greene, New York
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The bed was great in the Tent, that is all that I can say good about the experience. The bathrooms were so busy that they were not able to be kept clean, too many people using facilities. I would book one of the lodge cabins right up the road next time... same price and private bath plus Jacuzzi, no brainer....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherhA5097KE
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize that your stay was not up to your standards. Our goal is to make each guest's stay memorable and enjoyable, and your feedback will be used to make improvements. We hope you will give us another chance to enjoy all of the benefits our property can offer during a stay...

Caldwell, Idaho
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I arrived a little early to check-in. This was the beginning of a remarkable experience! The front desk receptionist, Talya, was beyond helpful and entertaining. I did not mind the wait to check-in, as she was so engaging, funny, and eager to answer every question we had about the property. She was even so kind, she checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer S
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to check out one of our other glamping locations in Moab or West Glacier. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Excellent place to stay. The beds were comfy and warm. The staff super friendly. The view breathtaking. So glad I found this place. Highly recommended by me and all my companions. Loved it the only negative was the showers kept running out of hot water and it was cold in the mornings but quickly warmed up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpinta_511391
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, as we strive to make your stay memorable! One of the charms of the property is that we are located 6 miles outside of town where you can enjoy the wildlife, sounds of nature, and the stars at night. Thank you...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We had a great experience to stay at this property. The staff was very helpful. My two kids love it. The location is a little bit remote but we don't have any issues to find it through google map. The view was awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to check out one of our other glamping locations in Moab or West Glacier. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Aurora, Ohio
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Great comfortable bed with wonderful comforters , make sure to start your stove and open the very so the warmth stays in the tent. Very close to the west park entrance the sky is just amazing with stars at night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dora m
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, as we strive to make your stay memorable! One of the charms of the property is that we are located 6 miles outside of town where you can enjoy the wildlife, sounds of nature, and the stars at night. Thank you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Beautiful rural location, yet still only a 5 minute drive to the restaurants and shops in West Yellowstone and the west entrance to Yellowstone itself. Very comfy beds - if anything we were too warm in all the cosy blankets and duvets! There was also a very loud and windy thunderstorm on our first night and the tent showed no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emsped
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Between the comfortable beds, the beautiful outdoor scene, wood burning stoves and many blankets, it's hard not to feel like you're still at home! Be Sure to check out our other glamping locations in Moab and West Glacier.

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
10.8 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
644 reviews
10.5 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
320 reviews
11.1 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
644 reviews
10.8 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
10.8 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowstone Under Canvas

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $293 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Yellowstone Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowstone Under Canvas staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Yellowstone Under Canvas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The temperature got down into the high 30's, but we didn't even need the wood stove.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyf802, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get as close to the bath house as you can”
 of 5 bubbles PHulgin, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take more pride. Focus more on your guests. Hire adults.”
 of 5 bubbles teaves, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the simple and basic 'Safari' Tent right at the end... sitting outside watching the sun set. Priceless”
  • Inside view
  • What a view to wake up to
  • Safari Tent
 of 5 bubbles W9833OLpeterm, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep two piles of small sticks to light the fire. One when u go to sleep and one if u wake up in middle of the night when it is cold. It will make it easier to relight the fire stove :-) ”
 of 5 bubbles 670eitanb, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5