We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yellowstone Under Canvas

Booking.comUS$194*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellowstone Under Canvas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone Under Canvas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 502: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our stay was wonderful! The staff was great and very helpful. Restaurant there is fabulous! Major glitch with our reservation on line. We wanted to book the Deluxe tent--tried several times and got bumped off the site...after putting in our credit card information etc., we were returned to find only tent with Tipi went through....much more expensive. I called 3...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear about your stay! I love the Deluxe tents with the deck, wood burning stove, en suite toilet and shower, plus the absolutely comfortable beds. Mother Nature can be very unpredictable, but our tents are able to withstand what she throws our way. We will make sure to address what has happened with the planks and...

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The location of the camp is so beautiful both during the day and at night when you can see the Milky Way. It was fun gathering around the fire with other guests while the kids played the outdoor games they provide. The free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cider was great and it was nice they have a bar and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laureltree74
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com It's great to hear about what you experienced while you stayed with us at camp! The surrounding area with the mountains and the trees really makes you feel unplugged and gets you relaxed. The deck Jenga, life-sized Yahtzee, volleyball and badmitten court, really encourages people to enjoy the outdoors even more! I'm so...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This was a very experienced with a luxury experience in a tent. Having the bathroom and shower in the tent was great, especially since it was very cold the night we were there. The wood burning stove was great ambiance but also kept the tent warm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us! Our en suite toilets and showers are great for a great glamping experience. And the wood burning stove is just perfect for those chilly mornings! If you enjoyed your experience here, you should check out our locations in Moab and Glacier as well!...

babesh
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We booked the Luxury suite with King bed and full Bathroom-tent #32. It was secluded and right at the bend in the creek. The bed was warm and cozy on a night when the temps dipped to 31 degrees. We kept the wood burning stove going all night which was enough to keep the chil off but not enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com I'm glad that you had a great overall experience while you stayed with us! The wood burning stoves are perfect for those chilly mornings. And our super helpful staff is always willing and able to help in case you need any help! Don't hesitate to ask throughout your stay! We have many amenities...

Lake Bluff, Illinois
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We had a great time here - I was going to review it as a 4 but my 7 year old insisted it was a 5! You need to be sure and understand that this is not a hotel - although it is very comfortable. It is a mix of camping with a few more luxuries. It can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duncans168
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to check out one of our other locations in Moab and West Glacier. We hope to see you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a luxury camping... Go somewhere else !! Not worth the money .. You can sleep in a nice hotel with breakfast instead. Worst service I ever got in my life. There is no food allowed in the campground. They sent us to their restaurant who was supposed to be open till 10pm . We came...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am so sad to hear your experience was so unsatisfying. It is always frustrating when unforeseeable problems arise and cause inconveniences. You are correct in the fact that we don't allow food in the tents where guests sleep since we are located in bear country and...

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Yellowstone Under Canvas is located about 5 miles from West Yellowstone in what looks like a former field. You have the Madison River fairly close, some trees in the distance, and of course the beautiful Montana Sky. There is a reception tent where you are checked in. It also provides 24 hour hospitality, and assistance from the staff. There is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you decided to stay with us and experience glamping! We have many amenities that go above and beyond just regular camping. We have the 24-hour front reception, a charging station for your devices, a camp bar, nightly activities that anybody can join, communal campfire pits, a coffee station, and more! And aren't the beds comfortable?! The...

Pelham, Alabama
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

It was cold to start the week so a tent with heat for the family is a better idea. Even in July it was 32 at night. The wood burning stoves are definitely worth the extra $. The staff was great and helped with whatever we needed. The views are awesome! Something worth doing to get away from the normal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uafans
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

This experience is absolutely perfect for families! We have so many games and activities going on at camp that every guest can come and enjoy. And our wood burning stoves are perfect for those chilly mornings. Thank you for mentioning our staff too! We strive to give the best experience for every guest that decides to stay with us. And...

Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Even in a big unexpected thunder storm, we were warm cozy and dry and had a Boone and crocket visit!! Wonderful place to call home for the trip. Staff was great and the nearby restaurant was also great and walking distance Thanks so much

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparcegreyhackle
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.com I'm so glad that you had such an exciting trip! Mother Nature can be very unpredictable and our tents can withstand it! It's an amazing way to combine the comforts of home while also enjoying the great outdoors. Thank you for mentioning our staff. We strive to give the best experience for every...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Yellowstone Under Canvas is not your typical hotel or camping location...it's both! Whether you enjoy camping or not, it's a great idea and a lot of fun! The night we stayed it rained a lot and was pretty cold but the warm blankets and super comfortable bed made it amazing. The sound was a little bit loud...but you have to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jess_mcallister31
Johannah R, General Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review

Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor.com It is so great to see that you really got an amazing experience for the short time you were here! We have the comforts of home while also having the benefits of the great outdoors. The wood burning stoves bring a lot of that comfort, especially for those chilly mornings. And after a...

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
10.9 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
11.0 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
709 reviews
10.8 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
325 reviews
10.8 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
551 reviews
9.9 km away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowstone Under Canvas

Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $287 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Yellowstone Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowstone Under Canvas staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Yellowstone Under Canvas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The temperature got down into the high 30's, but we didn't even need the wood stove.”
cindyf802, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get as close to the bath house as you can”
PHulgin, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Take more pride. Focus more on your guests. Hire adults.”
teaves, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the simple and basic 'Safari' Tent right at the end... sitting outside watching the sun set. Priceless”
  • Inside view
  • What a view to wake up to
  • Safari Tent
W9833OLpeterm, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep two piles of small sticks to light the fire. One when u go to sleep and one if u wake up in middle of the night when it is cold. It will make it easier to relight the fire stove :-) ”
670eitanb, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$194* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$219
TravelocityUS$219
PricelineUS$194
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates