We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Traveler's Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Traveler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Traveler's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Thought we could roll into town and have several options for lodging - this turned out not to be the case. Previous reviewers have complained about the excessive daily rate, but let's face it, everybody is going to gouge you here due to their easy access to the park. Yes, this place is old, poorly maintained, lousy wifi, bad TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobsCupcake
Billings, Montana
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We arrived in West Yellowstone without reservations. After checking about 8 hotels we found a vacancy at the Travelers Lodge. We were told there were two rooms left so we booked one. It was our first stay at this hotel and will be our last. The room price was too high and the quality of the accommodations did not match...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RJan2
Roy, Utah
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We made reservations a day before we left to go to West Yellowstone. ( I was not sleeping in a Tent again this trip) Hubby found the only room available. Who knew there would be a Huge Wedding in town on the same night? The room was "quaint", another word for old. Bed was comfy, heater worked great. Towels were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
Morrow, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Came to visit my son in Montana decided to go to Yellowstone not for Milyer with a lot of the hotels we ended up staying here for a night price was extremely expensive for what we got even for a tourist area room was fairly clean but door was not sealed and bathroom was an odd shape and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tebeme38
Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The place is a dump. It is dirty and falling apart. The price is over twice what it should be. No one should stay in this place. There is no internet and it is disgusting. We were charged $189 for what should have been $50 at the most. Just horrible. Hotels for half of the price at least have internet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinaAndres
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We demanded a refund immediately upon opening the door. So overpriced it is a disservice to the hotel industry! Save your money, buy some beer and sleep in your car. We did find a fantastic place a couple blocks away that offered secure doors and breakfast. Check out Brandin' Iron Inn for a MUCH better choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54729go
Roger B, General Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you felt that way about our motel. This is one of the oldest in town. We have been upgrading our rooms. You didn't stay here, in fact I wonder if you even looked at the room. This is not a review, but an advertisement for another hotel. I am surprised Tripadvisor even allowed this inappropriate review to be posted....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Ok it's expensive but it's not terrible & I've stayed in worse. We needed a room & they were only place with availability. The room was tired but presentable, everything worked & the bed didn't creek! Despite being fully booked by the time we arrived it was quiet with no disturbances overnight. Wifi wouldn't work in our room but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
Roger B, General Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Wifi is an issue in West Yellowstone. It seems we are at the end of the world when it comes to Wifi. Up until this summer there has been no fiber optics in town. The town is limited to very little bandwidth. We are on the list to receive fiber optic lines and hope to be...

Switzerland
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Unfortunately, we needed a hotel at the last minute and this was all that was available. It was expensive ($180). The hotel is old and worn out. It needs a complete refurbishment. Paint peeling from the outside. Small rooms with old carpet and furnishings. It was clean, however so not too gross to stay there. The old tube type TV...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank docwhiz
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The room is the size of a postage stamp. I am trying to think of something nice to say, I guess the air conditioning worked. The room was $165/night, it seems like something would be nice. The mattress on the bed was slightly bigger than a twin and lumpy. I think they may have found an old sheep herders cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
Oklahoma
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night. We were on our way home from Wyoming and decided to drive through the park and stay in West Yellowstone. We checked in around 1030pm then promptly left to grab a bite to eat. We returned back to the hotel around midnight. My husband noticed the air conditioning was on which, was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank codeswan
Roger B, General Manager at Traveler's Lodge, responded to this review

Once again, I am sorry for the frightful night you had. I think, if you look back, you will remember I did apologize for the incident several times. I'm sorry you felt I was being aloof. If I came across that way to you, it was because I was shocked to hear your story. I told you I would be...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
320 reviews
0.8 km away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
513 reviews
0.4 km away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
188 reviews
0.2 km away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
524 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Traveler's Lodge

Address: 225 Yellowstone Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $228 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Traveler's Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Traveler's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Traveler's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early for this town so you can stay somewhere else...”
 of 5 bubbles jeffd914, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Inn has WiFi but you have to go to the small lobby to access it. We were never able to get a usable connection in our room.”
 of 5 bubbles DIVERSTWO, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own mattress and sheets no matter what room you are in, you will need it.”
 of 5 bubbles 408monicas, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Book a room somewhere else in West Yellowstone than the Travelers Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles RJan2, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book early?”
 of 5 bubbles GwenL393, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5