We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stage Coach Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stage Coach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 450: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is very charming. It is decorated in a more rustic motif with stuffed animals littering the lobby. There is Bear Naked brand granola in your room when you first arrive but is not replenished everyday. The hotel is quite old and the rooms are a bit musty. It bothered my allergies to sleep there but we left the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jvalliant
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn. I apologize that the newly constructed Pool and Exercise room was not open while we were waiting for our State Inspections, but we are please to report that this facility is now open daily. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Edwards, Colorado
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When arriving at the Stage Coach Inn I noticed immediately that this was a third rate hotel that I booked at. I made plans without too much foresight It this was the only place available at a very high price. The room we had had a musty smell- almost smoky smell. The room was severely dated with an air conditioner...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mrellgee
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this stay by your comments about the Guestroom and the bathroom and that you were disappointed in the Expanded Continental Breakfast. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at Stage Coach in mid-spring. The inn is located in the center of West Yellowstone with convenient shopping and dining within walking distance. The staff was helpful in giving directions to the park and gave a cheery greeting whenever I walked into the hotel. Complimentary breakfast was decent but nothing outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeff N
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Location, the Friendly and Helpful Staff, and the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We are eagerly awaiting our final inspection from the State of Montana to open our new pool and fitness center. It was also nice to read your comments about...

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The size of the room is great for a family of four (two adults/two teens). As people have mentioned, the wi-fi in the room is pretty much non-existent. Works good in the lobby. The breakfast is nice with waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit and juices. Food is put away immediately at closing time so don't be late. Some laundry facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4BandE
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Size of the Guestroom, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, and the Location. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I recently booked a Yellowstone and Grand Teton trip that included a one-night stay in West Yellowstone. I booked at the Stage Coach Inn for one room at $300. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel, I knew it was a mistake. The lobby was outdated and very musty and moldy smelling. The staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WadeK2013
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We apologize that you were so disappointed in your stay. However, we disagree that the pictures on-line are misleading since they are the actual rooms we are selling everyday.

Brunswick, Maryland
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you go here for wifi or pool, my review is NOT for you. Room was basic but decent, actually good considering the other options in the area (area not the same as other places) and right in the heart of town, so you can walk to dinner. The free breakfast had cereal, yogurt, and muffins/bagels what more do you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C F
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Guestroom, the Expanded Continental Breakfast, the Lobby Décor, and the Friendliness of the Front Desk Staff. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 31 July 2014

They advertise Wireless in the rooms, which does not work. They rooms are not clean. The staff at the front desk does not speak fluent english, the room rates are extremely expensive and worst of all the management is rude and completely unresponsive to simple requests!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat1950535
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations for this stay. Your simple request to return items you left in the room at the Hotel's expense or suffer a negative review is now complete. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Germantown, Maryland
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed there after finding it as a last-minute booking on Expedia. I see now that the hotel is probably in on it with Expedia and the ad and reviews on that site are far from reality. The rooms are pretty good BUT they are falsely advertising they have wifi in rooms and actually don't. Even in the lobby, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane A
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach In from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments although I have to say that we disagree with your claim of false advertising. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for three days at the peak of tourist season. The good news is the room was decent, the beds were comfortable, and the location was great. The bad news is the pool was closed, the wifi didn't work at all, the breakfast had exactly zero items available for low carb diets, and we only managed to coax...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marie H
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We were pleased with your comments about the Guestroom, the Bedding, and the Location. I am sorry that our pool is not open yet - until we receive our approval from the State of Montana - and the problems you had with the WiFI. Thank you...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and clean.the hotel is in walking distance to all of " downtown " W. Yellowstone". But: They have is non-working room keys when we arrived (there was someone else in the room!). After they sorted that out we got a different room.when we got back the next day that key did not work either (they had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Cleanliness and Spaciousness of the Guestroom and, the Friendliness of the staff in the Expanded Continental Breakfast. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your room assignment, room keys, and WiFi. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.4 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
645 reviews
0.4 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
934 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $100 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Historic rooms are disgusting. Others might be better?”
  • Dirty carpet, balanced with peeling paint on doors.
  • Soap scum and mold in shower.
  • Really? The outrageous prices couldn't cover a replacement lampshade?
  • Was
  • Dust bunnies were living on the hinges. Paint chipped from door.
  • Bad photo of paint peeling between picture frames and window.
 of 5 bubbles jjblues12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room next to laundry facilities (#129)”
 of 5 bubbles ElkIvorysGirl, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 255”
 of 5 bubbles KimFirth, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice lobby to hang out in”
 of 5 bubbles gdr23, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the historic part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles pattij0l, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5