We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stage Coach Inn

Expedia.comUS$295*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Stage Coach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 468: English reviews
Atlantic, Iowa
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We paid $245 for a room which was advertised as having wi-fi and an indoor pool. Upon checking in we discovered the pool wasn't open. The free wi-fi didn't work on the 2nd floor. We were not told this upon check in. When we inquired all we got were excuses, not even an apology. We went to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tynkts
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that you were so disappointed in our Hotel. While our new Pool is complete, we are awaiting the Final Approval from the State of Montana before we can open - and we still have listed it under construction. In response to your informing...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had to inform all who come to this site, to try with all your might to find other accommodations. We did not have specific plans for our vacation and ended up in town with no where else to go. All other hotels were booked and now we know why. Although the night manager tried, our room was not tolerable considering...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bozz44
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review from your recent stay. As I stated in the previous response, I am sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel but, writing multiple reviews does not add credibility to your posting.

Oregon, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Looks can be deceiving. Paid $239 for room, was told at check out that there was an additional $25 pet fee. No mention of that when I asked at check in. Three people, they gave coupon for continental breakfast but would only cover for two people, third would have to pay. Got in late, settled in, air conditioner did not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank doodling1
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. Our pet fee is noted on our website(s) and on the registration form you signed at check-in so, since you brought a pet there is a charge. We do not do coupons for...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked with booking.com also. The cost was well over $200. The rooms and hotel sounded very nice and the few reviews I read were good. I should have read them all. The first pics they show on their website are their new and big rooms. We got a tiny, dirty and out-of-date room with hardly any amenities in their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cara L
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. I apologize that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. Our Historic rooms were originally built in 1946-1948 and are approximately 200 square feet, this is versus our Deluxe rooms being added on to the Hotel in 1990 - with rooms that are approximately...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I booked my hotel on line with booking.com. I chose this hotel (Stage coach Inn west Yellow Stone park) because the photos showed clean, up kept rooms. When we checked in, we were given a dirty room in very bad shape. The lamp shades were dirty, the walls were dirty, the paint was coming off the doors, the bathroom mirror...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elsie R
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at the Stage Coach Inn. I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay in our Hotel but, I was pleased to see that you were able to find alternate accommodations that met your needs for your visit to Yellowstone National Park.

Dunlap, United States
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms had been recently remodeled, and the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked all the taxidermy in the lobby and on the second floor. Be sure to ask for a remodeled room. The desk staff has menus of local restaurants in a notebook for you to view. It is a little pricey for the value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Friendly and Helpful Front Desk Staff and the condition of the rooms. It was also nice to read that you made use of the Restaurant Book we keep on hand. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was definitely expecting much more for my $221. I am thoroughly enjoying the close proximity to delicious foods and shopping district (within walking distance) and of course west yellowstone entrance. The lobby was pretty neat with the decoration. The sink and shower is separated. Breakfast was lacking of variety, I was hoping they would provide sausage or ham or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bthereviewer
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate you comments about the Hotel Lobby and the location/variety of restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the Hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed with the Expanded Continental Breakfast, but as the name implies, there is no hot food. Thank you for choosing...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My Dad and I stayed here on Friday and Saturday nights of Memorial Day weekend. We had a very friendly check in and were welcomed to the hotel by the front desk staff. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had plans to fish in Yellowstone early on each morning before the complimentary breakfast was open. The owner (?) at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kimberly S
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments about the Friendly and Welcoming Staff, the Cleanliness and Comfort of the room, and your comments about our Breakfast Attendant being gracious, helpful, and going above and beyond your expectations. Most importantly, we loved your comments about how you were made...

Montana
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great place, wonderful staff and the location is prefect next to the river. Good food, and you can walk all thru the town, or down by the river. The staff are friendly, warm, and help with everything. Prices are good compared to others in town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C P
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your comments about the Friendly, Warm, and Welcoming Staff, the Location, and the Town of West Yellowstone. Thank you for choosing the Stage Coach Inn.

Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Stage Coach Inn on a recent trip to Yellowstone. We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay there again. The entryway is amazing, even better than the hotel photos show. We loved the way the stairway and entry have all the taxidermy, it did add to the feel of being in Yellowstone territory! Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruising-along
StageCoachInnGM, General Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Stage Coach Inn from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel Lobby and the Grand Staircase, the Cleanliness of the Room and the Amenities, as well as your compliments about Mark - our Breakfast Attendant - being helpful and friendly. It was also nice to read your comments about the...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
709 reviews
0.4 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
678 reviews
0.8 km away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
551 reviews
0.5 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
675 reviews
0.1 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $305 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No traffic so all rooms are quiet but small.”
LarryZ370, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the historic rooms.”
debbieandjim114, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick second floor room to avoid hearing people walk if you're on the first floor”
pamfchang, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Historic rooms are disgusting. Others might be better?”
  • Dirty carpet, balanced with peeling paint on doors.
  • Soap scum and mold in shower.
  • Really? The outrageous prices couldn't cover a replacement lampshade?
  • Was
  • Dust bunnies were living on the hinges. Paint chipped from door.
  • Bad photo of paint peeling between picture frames and window.
jjblues12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room next to laundry facilities (#129)”
ElkIvorysGirl, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$295* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$309
TravelocityUS$295
Hotwire.comUS$295
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates