We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Kearney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Kearney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Kearney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
Leadville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Good to stay in clean room; great selection for breakfast,. included hard-boiled eggs, waffles, pastries, and fresh juice. Nice to find luggage trolley available. Quiet room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Louis J
HOJOKearney, Manager at Howard Johnson Kearney, responded to this review

Dear Louis J, Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure that our excellent breakfast, personal service and warm welcome are ready for... More 

Ainsworth, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

The room had a terrible smell, stale cigarettes-mold, floor wasn't vacuumed, stained towel, exhaust fan in restroom vibrated and so noisy , deafening, plumbing fixtures rusted, broken window on outside entrance, hot tub had a slimy film on the surface. Overall a poorly maintained, dirty, smelly excuse for a hotel. Plenty of other hotels in the area to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Donc742887
HOJOKearney, Manager at Howard Johnson Kearney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you have faced with technical issues during you stay at our hotel. We will certainly inspect as to why that happened in detail, as the mentioned shortfalls should not have occurred. I would like to apologize for the inconsiderate guests that ignored our Smoke Free Policy. We would have been more than... More 

maple grove, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Booked on line. Got a great rate and room on 1st floor. Breakfast items were stocked and room was clean.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Janet K
HOJOKearney, Manager at Howard Johnson Kearney, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property and breakfast. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that... More 

Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The hotel was very smokey and dirty. There were guests in the pool that were drinking. The pool which is supposed to be heated was ice cold. The hot tub jets did not work and the temperature of the water was tepid. I was very disappointed as I was looking forward to the hot tub. The room was not that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank jessicaj16

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Kearney
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Kearney
30 reviews
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Kearney
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ramada Kearney
Ramada Kearney
#20 of 22 in Kearney
1,092 reviews
0.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
0.3 km away
New Victorian Inn & Suites - Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in central Nebraska, this motel is 7 miles from Fort Kearney State Historical Park. it serves a continental breakfast every morning and features an indoor pool. Free Wi-Fi access and cable TV with HBO are included in every room at Howard Johnson Kearney. They are furnished with a work desk and equipped with an iron. Select rooms feature a 48-inch flat-screen TV. Guests can relax in the hot tub or exercise in the fitness centre at Kearney Howard Johnson. The reception is open 24 hours a day and there is also a business centre on site. The Museum of Nebraska Art is 1.5 miles from the Kearney Days Inn. The Great Platte River Road Archway is 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kearney

Address: 619 2nd Avenue East/I-80, I-80 & Exit 272, Kearney, NE 68847 (Formerly Days Inn Kearney)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Price Range: $74 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kearney 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kearney
Kearney Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Kearney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel is on a major highway and the rooms in the front are noisy”
  • The beds looked like they had been slept in before I checked into the room
  • This is how the threadbare pillows looked with all their wrinkles when I walked in the room.
 of 5 bubbles lonereignger, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to another motel!”
 of 5 bubbles RobertShroyer, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lindamC4183QN, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I don't think there are any 'good rooms' in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles softballmomUsa, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“They have smoking rooms”
 of 5 bubbles saral470, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay