We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Martinez, California, United States
Reviewed 6 July 2015

errible experience booked a room on travelocity on the reviews from travelocity ( which are biased ). Travelocity stated it was the Sienna Hotel Spa and Casino, upon arrival I was informed the hotel had been sold and it is no longer a Spa or Casino and all but one restaurant is left open. Since it is a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Brian S
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Terrible. We made reservations two weeks prior for 4th of July,2015. Online still showed a casino. Not. Got a "Deluxe King Suite". Our view was the Carrier chiller the floor below us. Charged $150 per night. Upon check in, I was told, Expedia still shows the casino that they had not changed it. This is the responsibility of the business...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Wendy J
Vicki S, General Manager at Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are very important. On-line information has been updated, unfortunately it took longer than anticipated. The valet signs have been taken down. If you did not receive your discount, please contact the hotel so we can make proper adjustments. I thank you for your time and hope we have a chance in the future to...

South San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

This was great to sleep here for me and low price, but that's because the hotel is in transition of being bought by Marriott's and EVERYTHING else is closed for now. I want told this when I booked the room and their website doesn't tell you that the restaurants, spa, and casino are all closed.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Arin B
Vicki S, General Manager at Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

My apologies you were misinformed about The Siena prior to your arrival. We have updated all on-line information. It took longer than planned. I do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to regain your trust in the future.

Reviewed 3 July 2015

So I drove all the way from Sacramento to Reno. I loved this casino and hotel. Anyway, the place is under new management as of 2 days ago. The casino and spa are now both CLOSED, as are most of the restaurants. Of course, there is no mention of this anywhere on their website (false advertising). My other option would...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Casey D
Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

We planned a trip to this "casino" and "spa" about a month ago to visit family for this 4th of July weekend. Unfortunately the booking company nor the hotel relayed the message to us that as of the 1st this no longer a casino and that the spa is only part time (but closed at the moment.) We were really...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SFGGirl
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 July 2015

FRAUD!! Check you credit card statement immediately!!! This is my first online review of anything, ever. But I feel compelled after my experience last week at the Siena. Apparently the casino is shutting down but the hotel is staying open (and the horrible hotel staff are remaining). I believe the staff are taking advantage of the disorder to take advantage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank daveydarko
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I booked this hotel a month ahead of my travel for a special event in Reno. Unfortunately, I did not end up staying there. The reason for that is that one day before my date of travel, and two days before my reservation, I found out from a friend that the hotel was going to be under construction and that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen H
Vicki S, General Manager at Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Karen, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the hotel's renovation project caused you and your family. The staff attempted to contact all incoming reservations about the changes on property, however, unfortunately your reservation was missed. I do understand your decision to not try this property again when your future travels bring you back to Reno, but if you change your...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here at short notice and got an excellent last minute deal of US $48 for a King Room. Service ok, rooms not exactly as shown on line. First room we were given had a broken door handle so couldnt get in. Second room was very noisy due to rattling pipes in the wall and we had to be moved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zane C
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We booked this hotel at the last minute for an excellent price - but we thought we were getting much more of a bargain that we did. Yes it's cheap - and it's still good value for a dated, dark and somewhat noisy (but clean) hotel. The thing is the photos make it look really quite glamorous and modern -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah B
Paradise,CA
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I am so disappointed in the 4 start review by TripAdvisor for this facility. There is nothing 4 star about this hotel, casino or restaurants. We had 5 rooms booked by family members and all 5 rooms were sad. Loud, run down, filthy windows, uncomfortable beds... We were told by several who worked there that they have recently sold to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Witching

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 km away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,164 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.9 km away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.8 km away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.5 km away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Getting away isn’t about holding back. It’s about indulging, rewarding and savoring every moment. As Reno’s only non-gaming, non-smoking, full-service branded hotel, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel offers a different kind of setting – one with state-of-the-art everything, incredible riverfront views, exceptional fine and casual dining, luxury accommodations, a rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, impressive wine cellar, first-rate meeting facilities, and an exclusive bocce venue to take your escape to the next level. Located in the heart of downtown Reno and on the banks of the Truckee River, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel is your ideal home base to explore the incredible Sierra Nevada setting, mere minutes from a thriving Midtown, happening Riverwalk District and endless outdoor activities. Explore nearby Lake Tahoe. Soak up the region’s rich western history. Or plan to attend one of the Biggest Little City’s many acclaimed special events, such as Artown, Hot August Nights or the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. This is getting away the right way. This is Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel – redefining Reno, one guest at a time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel

Address: One South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Siena Hotel)
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Price Range: $205 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel Nevada
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#13 Business Hotel in Reno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
azretiredaz AZ Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

Free parking,

over a year ago
Folsom, California
JSAdams2014 Dallas, Texas Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Yes. The lobby is smoke free as are the restaurants. You can get a nonsmoking room easily; all you have to do is ask. The main casino floor was going smoke free while we were there, with a bar in the back continuing to allow smoking. I'm sure that transition is complete by now.

over a year ago
over a year ago
Bobby Ray H Reno, Nevada Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Pet rooms are very clean and well maintained and even come with a little "Welcome" gift for pet upon arrival.

over a year ago
Frisco, Texas
1 month ago
DaraTheExplorer Las Vegas, Nevada Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

I like Wild Garlic as well. It is along the Truckee River. Pegg's diner is a hoe option for breakfast. Both are about a 5 to 10 minute walk.

1 month ago
Corona
9 months ago
Vicki S Reno, Nevada Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Yes.

7 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Northern rooms face the river and scenes of downtown”
384karlb, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Overlook the river if you can”
sunnski, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor, great view!”
JenniV10, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“find out which floor is being renovated to be sure to be well above it”
517ChrisL517, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 9th floor which is the top floor with views of the mountains. We experienced no noise or other problems.”
189elisem, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5