We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Exeter Elms Family Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Exeter Elms Family Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Very bad signage for entrance to camp!!! Missed it and couldn't turn around easily!! Lady somewhat nice and curt at same time!! Road into campground is awful, almost dangerous!- ruts, potholes and mud!! Once in our site it was ok. Exiting was AWFUL!!///# WILL NEVER GO BACK!!! Price was not acceptable for this camp!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Adams, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Seemed to be a great spot for camping in the beginning. There was a very unpleasant experience at night. A lot of other campers being annoyed with one another and loud! The staff walked right through our campsite THREE TIMES rudely to go to another site to have them be quiet. This was extremely rude and ruined my experience. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meagshep
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Every staff member was really cool. The price for guest stinks $8 a person add adult and $5 a kid and over night $15 for adults. So we end up paying $46 for one day for 2 day guest and 2 over night guest. The park was basically a slide and one little thing you sit on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank popupcamping
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here in the Ash area with a large group of people. We found this area to be very buggy! Staff at check in was very friendly and welcoming. Small playground across the way from us. Bathrooms were clean and fairly close by. Activities for the kids at the pavilion. Large pool. We had a good time and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _michelle_moran874
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed here two weeks - the entire time the dumpsters at the entrance to the campground were overflowing and surrounded by trash on the ground. Our campsite had a very pleasant couple with two children on one side and a group of two guys and a girl on the other. This second group was loud and almost every sentence...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RVtraveller2016
Pittsfield
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed here at the Ash Area (primitive camp area - no electric/water). We were only staying there to sleep, not to have the camping experience per se. We found the primitive area VERY buggy and had tons of tree canopy. There were water spouts very close and a bath house that was clean. It was very dark and you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin R
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 July 2016

My family camped here for three nights over July 4th 2016 holiday. We had a good time but there are definitely improvements that need to be made at Exeter Elms involving the bathroom and shower areas. First of all there needs to be cleaning, restocking and maintenance more than once a day, especially during a very busy holiday weekend! Dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our campground over the holiday and we apologize for any time you may have been unhappy. Our pool hours are from 8am-dusk and we do let them swim longer as an incentive and on occasion we will do an adult swim for an hour after hours per request of the campers to let everyone relax and...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 May 2016

This was there first weekend and our first trip of the year. We were looking for a nice quiet relaxing weekend and that is what we got. A nice fire along the river morning and at night. A walk through the campground and seeing some friendly campers. There is a lot going on here so it looks like a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryWT
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you Gary WT for your review I am very glad you enjoyed your weekend and have noticed the hard work being put in to the place. We are trying to make it a fun place for the family to get away, relax, and make some wonderful memories too! Hope to see you again soon! :-)

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We traveled there after a long trip from the south. We had planned to stay 4 nights and visit with family in town. We pulled in and they could not accomodate a 50 Amp camper and water hook up. The place looked as if everyone were long term residents. Dirty kids running around, deplorable appearing conditions and junk around everyone's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 24Bert2424
Nicole R, General Manager at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello "so bad we didn't even stay" and i want to first say i'm very sorry you were unhappy when you came to our campground. I would like to let you know we currently are under new management and when you came we just got here ourselves. We worked with what was here last season that we walked into the...

Sandwich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Worst campground I've ever been to. I'd give it no stars if I could. The bathrooms were foul and the staff are idiots. We were traveling and rolled into town after the campground hours. They appeared to be friendly and accommodating by agreeing to leave us a parking pass on the door. When we got to our campsite we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank crystalline420
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like your stay we are doing alot of new renovations this year and we have upgraded our hickory bathrooms in the past week we are going to be doing ash tenting next. And we offered a credit so you could simply try our campground at another time and next time you will be accommodated to a spot...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
2.1 km away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
194 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
4.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
21.9 km away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.6 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fun for the Whole Family! Exeter Elms offers a perfect camping location, with a mile of frontage on the beautiful Exeter River for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking. Well-spaced, wooded sites are designed to provide a maximum of privacy. Exeter Elms is only 15 minutes from Hampton Beach, an hour from Boston, and two hours from the White Mountains. Use our clean, first-class facilities as your base to explore and enjoy the entire Seacoast Region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exeter Elms Family Campground

Address: 190 Court St, Exeter, NH 03833-4027
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Price Range: $39 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Exeter Elms Family Campground Hotel Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Exeter Elms Family Campground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Easthampton, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Exeter Elms Family Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“friendly clean cabins”
 of 5 bubbles atthere, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“Site #18 has good space and backs to a small river.”
 of 5 bubbles 756scotts, 20 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! There are way too many camping places in NH to waste time here!”
 of 5 bubbles sarahc644, 22 Aug 2012 | Read review
“If you want quite and very private the ash section is good for you. If you like being with people and meeting people then hickory and oak is the place you want.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenbB_12, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
“NOT SITE #1, you want something away from the entrance!”
 of 5 bubbles c_lynn129, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5