We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottage Place on Squam Lake

Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (76)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good13%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fire pit”(17 reviews)
“private beach”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Hotel deals
Offers from Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Hotel deals
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Cottage Place on Squam Lake
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
123
23
12
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
123
23
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsfire pitprivate beachsquam lakecrystal clear waterget awaynewfoundland dogsguests gatherclass reunionmain buildingsized refrigeratordirectly across the streetfantastic place to spendwinter staymost important factorlovely gift shopfun weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 166 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Cottage Place was perfect! Friends from as far as Oregon, Virginia, Long Island, NJ, MA, VT, and NH enjoyed our reunion on Little Squam Lake. The cottages & rooms are great. They rent canoes & kayaks.More

1  Thank sarahordonald
Response from Susan S, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam LakeResponded March 7, 2017

Thank you so much for posting a review on our property. We are hosting many reunions, wedding guests, family celebrations for this upcoming year. We are an excellent choice for large gatherings. We can accommodate about 82 people in our 16 accommodations which vary in...More

Reviewed February 19, 2017

Sometimes the best time to make a review is when you're still there. Booked in to a cottage for a cozy winter stay on the long weekend and it didn't disappoint! We're writing this review on a Sunday morning with a roaring fire going while...More

Thank LM106
Response from Susan S, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam LakeResponded April 30, 2017

Thank you for submitting such a great review. You painted the picture and experience we wish for all of our guests. We very much look forward to your next visit! We are open year round and our property changes immensely in the spring, summer and...More

Reviewed December 4, 2016

We were looking for another location for our Girls' Weekend, which was more difficult because of being late in the season. We found the Cottage Place and will probably not look anywhere else no matter what season it is! We had a Very quaint, comfortable...More

Thank NHhistorybuff
Response from cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam LakeResponded December 6, 2016

So glad you will be coming back and that you had such a great time. We do have a great location for relaxing or going out for a really nice dinner! We are very close to the White Mountains and the towns of Plymouth, Ashland,...More

Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic place to spend the weekend!! The owner, Sue, is just amazing and her entire staff is made up of the nicest people you could imagine. The cottages are warm, cozy, and everything about the place is designed to make you feel like...More

Thank Beth R
Response from Susan S, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam LakeResponded April 30, 2017

We love our big dog friends and cannot wait for your return! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed November 14, 2016

The cottage we stayed in had plenty of room for my husband and I and two large Newfoundland dogs, plus an extra bedroom we did not use. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, glasses, pots and pans, so no need to go out to eat....More

Thank gotNewf
Response from cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam LakeResponded January 26, 2018

Thank you so much for this review. Our Newfember weekends are one of the favorite times of year! We love how this breed just takes everything in stride and they do not mind the weather in November which is why we call it Newfember. Cannot...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Holderness
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (76)
Pool & Beach (16)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carcham
August 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from cottageplace | Property representative |
Our coffee makers are 12 cup - basket filter type - we provide coffee filters - just need to bring coffee and condiments. We make coffee in the gift shop every day if you don't feel like making it in your own kitchen. Look... More
1
Vote
Dacarter123
January 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from cottageplace | Property representative |
Check in is usually 2:00 pm (sometimes it could be earlier) and check out is 10:00 am in the busy season (sometimes we can be flexible) - check with our front desk
0
Votes
Jon F
When you stay at Cottage Place on Squam you can expect these things: -Rustic, reasonably-priced, affordable suites or cabins. These cabins are all clean and well-kept. But maybe some of the furniture isn't in band new condition. Go elsewhere if you're looking for 5-star amenities. -Owners and staff who are genuine, friendly, helpful, patient and ready to help you enjoy a relaxing stay at their place. -Every weather-friendly evening, count on a fire by the Adirondacks set up in a circle. Meet the other guests. Occasionally, people will show up with guitars, bongos and enthusiastic singing voices. -Across the street a nice beach with a swim raft, kayaks and boat docks. -Dog friendly! I've read some of the less favorable reviews, and I wanted to offer that, in my opinion, most of the complainers missed the point entirely. Cottage Place is relaxing and fun. If some of the amenities aren't brand new or first-class, I'm totally OK with it. I don't want a hotel experience that leaves me feeling like I'm at my aunt's house with the plastic sofa coverings being told not to touch anything!
August 29, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from whiteseabird | Reviewed this property |
It's the wonderful rustic feel to the cottages, and the friendly welcome we receive, that keeps us coming back. For years I was a "beach person", but after finding Cottage Place, I've turned into a "lake person". I want a... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Pick a room away from the road or stay in the guest rooms in the main building."
Read review
"Cozy and Quiet"
Read review
"I would recommend booking a cottage as they are cozy and private."
Read review
"All the rooms are beautiful! I stayed in Cottage 6 perfect for a couple and two fur babies"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing