We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Margate Resort

Save
Share
76 Lake St Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH 03246-2103
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$159
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotelUS$159
Expedia.comUS$159
eDreamsUS$159
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (149)
Pool & Beach (38)
Room & Suite (22)

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Laconia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Vending machine
Game room
Skiing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Seating area
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Lake View
872Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 333
  • 259
  • 142
  • 61
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rad9496 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Harwinton, Connecticut7 contributions4 helpful votes
Now let me start by saying that the COVID-19 era that we all are living in will undoubtedly alter how resorts have to do business. Granted. With that being said, as a guest I expect certain amenities to be present at the place we're staying at regardless of the current Pandemic situation or any other situation. Simple things like having a shower that does not back up every time you use it or having old garbage left in the dresser drawers AND under the furniture in the room is completely unacceptable and should never happen. If anything, you'd think that the housekeeping staff would make the rooms EXTRA clean and sanitized in the COVID era we are in! Other simple things (although it may be Policy for them) like expecting all the occupants of the room to only use 1 roll of toilet paper for the 6 days they're there is preposterous! Use some common sense. You ask how many people are staying there, right? Common sense should count for something! Why should I have to go through the hassle of having to ask for additional toiletries for my room? Really?! Annoying. The WiFi coverage was terrible. Very little bandwidth available and I could barely get online. Mostly all the amenities were shut down because of COVID. No indoor pool, sauna, exercise room, restaurant, game room, etc... Speaking of food, the only open thing was the Tiki Bar on the beach but the prices were jacked up! Unbelievable. No paddleboards or Kayaks or canoes or anything like that available at the beach area, either. Financially, it would've been nice if they offered some sort of a discount or a voucher for a free night to guests who stayed with them since the majority of the resort was not open for you to use. I still paid the full price, though! I understand that because of COVID you can't do certain things. I get it. But offer something back to those of us who still chose to stay with you. We could've chosen to stay home and not give you our hard-earned money or go somewhere else and then where would you be? Probably seeking a loan from the government to carry you through this time. I've stayed here several times and quite honestly, I would be inclined to stay somewhere else in this area next time. Sorry, Margate.... you have some work to do.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay away from the beachfront rooms. Very loud at night.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Sep. 26, 2020
First, let me apologize that The Margate fell short of your expectations. We never want a guest to stay in a room with a clogged drain, but this is not an uncommon occurrence in hotels. We do our best to eliminate these troubles with preventative care, but it sounds as though we missed that issue in your room. Trash being left behind in a room is unacceptable and we want to apologize for that happening to you. Whether it is left in a drawer or under furniture, we do not approve of this and it is not our standard nor should be any hotel’s standard. As with any complaint, we wish that it was registered with management during your stay so we could investigate the issue, determine who was responsible for the mistake, and take corrective action. We understand you believe it is preposterous that the bathroom is stocked with one extra roll of toilet paper. As you mentioned in your review, it is our policy to leave one additional roll along with the roll that is currently on the fixture. We have never refused to provide guests with extra toiletries for their room when requested. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day and is fully stocked in the event you need extra supplies in the middle of the night. The American Hotel and Lodging Association (AHLA) conducted a survey that revealed 86% of travelers nationwide are looking for hotels that are currently suspending automatic daily stay-over services to help alleviate the potential of COVID contamination through human interaction. The Margate has been following that effort since reopening from COVID shutdown. All we ask of our guests is to participate in that effort by dialing “0” to reach the front desk to schedule your stay-over services if desired. Over the past several months The Margate team has put in enormous efforts to ensure the safety and well being of our guests during this time. We have been following the AHLA’s Safe Stay guidelines in a nationwide effort to help combat the spread of COVID-19. Along with following these guidelines, increasing our housekeeping protocols and enforcing new COVID related policies with employees, we had to make the difficult decision to keep the "congregate" amenities closed throughout the summer to maintain the highest level of safety for our guests. We understand there have been a lot of new changes with this pandemic that are out of the realm of normalcy for all of us and we feel badly that it has negatively impacted your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and are very sorry to lose your business.
Read more
Vincent Z wrote a review Aug. 2020
6 contributions21 helpful votes
Once again it was another awesome long weekend at The Margate Resort. We spent 4 days/3 nights on their beautiful property overlooking Paugus Bay. The grounds are kept superb, Michael does a fantastic job on the beach, while the Beach Bar staff is running crazy making sure that all the guests needs are taken care of. A tip of the hat to Ray who makes sure that everything is running smoothly, while constantly checking with the guest. Its a great place to to sit back and relax and just "CHILL" as they say. The accomodations over at the INN side looked great, they were recently done over. Great job by Kyle and his staff, looking forward to my next getaway at THE MARGATE
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Lakeview is the best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 28, 2020
Thank you for posting such an exceptional review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your recent visit. It is great to hear you were able to find the perfect spot to rest and relax down by the water. We want to thank you for recognizing some of our hardest working employees. We are very grateful to have them and your review validates their efforts make a positive impact on our guests. We are so happy you made it to The Margate this year, and can’t wait to have you back in the near future!
Read more
Beachbum22353 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Rowley, Massachusetts56 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed three nights at the Margate. It was very nice. The swimming area is great. There are beach chairs available, and yes people do put their towels on them early, that’s just how it goes. There are shady areas on the lawn to relax as well. The sunsets were nice to watch. The food at the beach bar/deck was decent to good. Servers were friendly but could use a little more training. Coconut shrimp and nachos were great. The bar needs to be kept cleaner, lots of flies. One night they had an outside movie and served complimentary popcorn and snow cones. We stayed in a lake view room. I was disappointed the sliding glass doors didn’t open. The room was clean and yes a bit dated but it seems the entire area is. If you needed something from house keeping you simply gave them a call and they were there immediately. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, along with a nice outdoor fireplace but due to the current pandemic they were not open. Usually they serve a continental breakfast but again were unable to at this time so you could order breakfast items the night before on line and pick it up inside the main building the next morning. Inside there was another fireplace a restaurant and bar which were closed due to the current situation. There is a dock for boats or I saw people anchor their boats overnight to the left of the swimming area. Non guests also anchor their boats there during the day and hang out. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 19, 2020
Thank you very much for this outstanding and well balanced review that not only touches on numerous aspects of your experience, but also offers criticism in a constructive and helpful way. We can't find anything inaccurate about this review, and we are always working to improve the resort so we appreciate all of the observations you have made. So in this response I suppose we will touch upon a few of the planned improvements we have coming up. Having already completed our Inn and West building renovations along with the main lobby, courtyard fireplace area, beach bar, and several other areas, the Lakefront building guest rooms are next and will be completed in stages. You mentioned that the sliding glass doors no longer open, and that is correct. We did this for a half dozen very good standalone reasons that are unrelated to each other, and most likely the upper floors of that building will remain that way. However we do have a new room type planned for the bottom floor of the Lake building. I don't want to reveal too much here, but in the coming years, the beach level rooms of the Lake building will be the accommodations of choice for guests who want to be able to fully experience the beach side atmosphere. Thank you for also mentioning the new amenity we just started this summer. Movie night is set up outside near our beach area and so far it has been a big hit. Due to the closure of our indoor amenities because of COVID, we wanted to offer something outside at night for family fun. And our guests keep asking for more and more movie nights. So I think this will become a permanent summer offering even when things get back to normal. Thank you again for a great review and we hope to see you again!
Read more
Bob M wrote a review Aug. 2020
Pawtucket, Rhode Island68 contributions22 helpful votes
Margate is clean and comfortable, with poor customer service and awful WiFi and internet connections The sad little “beach” is not a good place to swim. You can rent a kayak or jet ski, if that is your thing Try a budget motel instead
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 16, 2020
Thanks for your review although parts of it may leave your readers a bit confused. We do not rent jet skis, and this year our kayak, canoe and paddleboard rentals are closed due to COVID precautions. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable as that is always one of our primary goals. However we cannot agree on your opinion of our beach area. We have never heard the terms "sad" and "little" used to describe our beach, nor do we understand why quotations would be placed around the word "beach". Sandy shorefront next to a body of water is what defines a beach, and we have 500 feet of that, plus a beach bar! In fact, The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private beachfront and lakeside green space compared to any other hotel resort in the Lakes Region. However, we could understand your disappointment if you were expecting our beach on Lake Winnipesaukee to be similar to a beach on the Atlantic Ocean like the ones on the NH Seacoast. In that case, there is quite a difference in size. We also provide a large roped off swim area with lighted buoys to prevent boats from entering the swim area. Unfortunately we are unable to determine what aspects of our customer service was lacking. We were able to identify this reviewer by his username and location, and the only reported issue was that he lost his credit card somewhere. Our staff was immediately notified and were on the lookout while working around the property. Our front desk representative went above and beyond to try and locate the missing card, even asking our beach manager who searched around the beach and beach bar, but the card was never located. As we have explained in our past responses, The Margate provides ample management and staff to assist our guests with any problems that may arise, but lost items are sometimes difficult to locate. We are sorry our beach did not meet your expectations and wish you well on your travels.
Read more
katt51 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Lakewood Ranch, Florida113 contributions57 helpful votes
We were somewhat disappointed with the Margate. It is located on the bay and had a nice outdoor space, but we found that it was completely monopolized by large family groups claiming chairs early in the morning and blocking anyone else's view of their child on the sand. Also, they offered a continental grab & go breakfast which was fine, but unless you went to the beach bar, there was no other option for food because of the virus. The room itself was big, clean and comfy. I would classify the Margate as a family vacation place...it was okay, but I wouldn't go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Dudek, Guest Services / Front Office at The Margate Resort
Responded Aug. 14, 2020
Thank you for being our guest and posting a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you were able utilize the “Grab & Go” continental breakfast we recently implemented. We wanted to provide our guests with all the same food outlets that we’ve always offered, so we created this option as a substitute to the standard continental breakfast and hot buffet we had prior to the pandemic. We are also pleased to hear that your guest room was to your liking. We are definitely a family vacation resort. We always have been and our beach area is our main attraction, so we were surprised to read that it was the only negative impact on your stay. The Margate Resort is proud to offer the largest combination of private green space and beachfront anywhere in the Lakes Region. Countless large families from all over New England reserve multiple rooms at The Margate as their summer vacation spot and most of them know all the inside tricks. One of those tricks is getting to the beach area early to claim lounge chairs, pick a spot, and set up for the day. That being said, with 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and several large lawn areas adjacent to the beach, there is always space for more guests. However we understand that some other guests had negative impact on your stay and would advise anyone encountering a similar problem to seek out our beach manager who is on duty every day. The beach manager can provide extra lawn chairs and also help you find a good spot either on the main beach or one of the other two side beaches that most guests are usually unaware of. We are thankful you chose to stay with us and hope you give us another try if your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the margate hotel laconia, margate hotel laconia
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireLaconia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Margate Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Margate Resort?
Nearby attractions include Annie’s Book Stop (0.4 km) and Lake Shore Marketplace (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Margate Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Margate Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Margate Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Margate Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Margate Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jon's Roast Beef & Deli, T-BONES Great American Eatery, and Union Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Margate Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Margate Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Margate Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Meredith Historical Society (11.0 km).
Does The Margate Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Margate Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.