We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

School House Motel

12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
School House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of School House Motel
 Click to rate
Lutes Mountain NB
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the School House Motel Fr the 5th to the 8th of May.....cabin 23. It is very spacious with 2 double beds. The owners are very pleasant and will do what they can so you can have a great stay. Walking distance to down town and and five minute drive to the outlets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sadie_Girl_99
Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I've been staying at the Schoolhouse Motel for about 15 years at all times of the year. The place is always nice and clean and the owners are very friendly. I stay here when coming up to the North Conway area to hike, ski, climb, or even to shop. It is comfortable. Close to restaurants and all kinds of activities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IceClimberDW
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Hey, How nice. Thank you. You know if you have been coming here all times of the year, how hard we work. We all need a pat on the back sometimes. Please keep coming and God Bless You.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Loved my stay here. The room is small, but not so much that it would bother me, and it has all the basic stuff you need with a very nice view out the window. The staff is really kind and helpful, they spent some time recommending us places to go. The location is pretty good too, close to restaurants, hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enrique A
ANDOVER
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Inexpensive motel, small room and small bathroom, but it was clean. Room had mini fridge, but there was no in room coffee (although coffee is available in the office, I didn't bother). Front desk person was friendly, very chatty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good day, Thank for taking the time to review our motel. We work hard to make everyone comfortable. Happy Holidays.

Reviewed 2 December 2016

We have stayed at several north Conway B&Bs and inns. The School House Motel is not fancy but a clean, quiet, convenient option for basic accommodations. Friendly owners. Wi-Fi did not work. Cellular was iffy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our little motel. We strive hard to make everyone comfortable. The internet got a great big expensive upgrade last Fri. Whew , it works great. Sorry about the day you were here. Happy Holidays.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This motel is centrally situated in North Conway on the main road. Very pleasant, friendly and chatty owners. Room was OK with a nice big view of hillsides from the back window, but disappointed not to have our own coffee-making facilities, as we'd had in most other motels we stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David4758
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Coffee in the office was a alternative to coffee in the rooms. Less messes in the rooms. Sorry. I always think, hey , "something for my significant other to do". Have a nice day.

Pascagoula, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 November 2016

As with a SchoolHouse property, there are rules you must FOLLOW (check behind the door)!. This is a true "drive in, sleep, get up and go hotel." Amenities don't exisit here. The property managers presume to know your comfort zone in the hotel. Proprietors are super nice friendly type. You can get your coffee in the front office and ice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank db_dot
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. In this business, we think we have seen it all, and then we see more. We do try to anticipate our customers comfort. The ice is outside in a cooler ,because the ice machine is located in the back of the cellar. Have a good day.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms were small & old fashioned decor, but cute w/matching curtains/bedspread. Nice views of White Mtns. from rear window in room. Had fridge, no microwave. New flatscreen tvs but no matching remote control & was disappointed could not turn on the closed captions for a relaxing evening of TV. No continental breakfast but coffee served in lobby. Friendly proprietor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingCAgal
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Good morning, First , thank you for taking the time to review my little motel. Good description of my property. One of the reasons we never put a microwave in the rooms is that I noticed some rooms with cooking facilities attracts little critters, (ants) when we travel. We do have a microwave in the office to reheat food, if...

Greenfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The motel is right on Route 16, which is a busy and noisy roadway. Tarrfic continually going by. The room was very clean and the owner was very friendly. The only thing I didn't care about this place was the very fact that its right on the busy roadway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathyaconley62
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. You were also very pleasant. I'm sorry the traffic disturbed you. The steel doors my husband installed 5 years ago cut the traffic noise by half. We really can't do much more . Have a great day.

Geneseo, Illinois
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed two nights here while doing a fall foliage tour through New England. It's not a luxury motel, but the people are fantastic and the service is great. From here we were able to make an easy day trip to Mt. Washington Cog Railway, Alpine Adventures zip lining, play in streams, and visit covered bridges. It's a great location!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLHTravel
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this review

First, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We live in a beautiful area. I'm glad you had a great vacation. Come back again.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.4 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.0 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.5 km away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#23 of 24 in North Conway
103 reviews
1.2 km away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 

Additional Information about School House Motel

Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, RT16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Price Range: $102 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from School House Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Amherst, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from School House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabins are very nice.”
Sadie_Girl_99, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“they had small rooms perfect for cabins and cottages too for families :)”
newhorizon124, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the office have better Wi-Fi. Ask if the beds have been replaced recently.”
W7708KObriank, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty much the same in one long strip, but the end rooms are probably quieter.”
WendyG76, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Cottage(s) might also be option there (saw one with a few bikes outside), but we got last 3 rooms so no further info available.”
RuthD, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates