The Stonehurst Manor

The Stonehurst Manor

Traveller (400)
Manor Room 23 with fireplace and Jacuzzi
Room & Suite (358)
Artisan bread baked fresh daily in wood fired oven
Dining (126)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#12 of 26 hotels in North Conway
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Discover the unparalleled charm of Stonehurst Manor, a magnificent mansion from the turn of the century, nestled on private land just a mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire. Here, you are poised to enjoy the finest experiences that the Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have in store. Our accommodations offer a blend of romance and comfort, with many rooms boasting scenic mountain views, Jacuzzis, and cozy wood-burning fireplaces. Delight your palate in our esteemed restaurant, known for its culinary delights, including freshly made pasta, artisan bread, and signature pizzas. The ambiance of our Library Lounge is enriched by a massive fireplace and exquisite oak paneling. As a pet-friendly destination, we ensure your furry companions are welcomed warmly. Enjoy our outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, play a game of tennis, or step directly onto a network of trails for walking, sn
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Portland Intl Jetport
81.8 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,080 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Stonehurst Manor offers a quaint charm and an inviting atmosphere, according to various travelers, with its location providing both seclusion and easy access to local activities. Guests have called out the inclusive meal plan as a highlight, though some feel that the overall value is diminished by outdated rooms and inconsistent dining experiences. While the staff's friendliness is frequently praised, reviews indicate a need for improved housekeeping and room renovations, as well as enhanced cleanliness throughout the hotel.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Neglected
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,080Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,255
  • 431
  • 160
  • 97
  • 137
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jdscott17 wrote a review Oct 2020
Brimfield, Massachusetts
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Keeping in mind that this is billed as an old manor house, don’t come here expecting a modern state of the art resort. Having said that, we did enjoy our stay. The property is old and a little tired, it could use some updated room lighting and bedding. The fireplace in our room was nice, there are two Duraflame logs provided, more if needed. We had only one small window, and it had a air conditioner in it. Bathroom was fine with a tub/shower combo. The staff was friendly and met our needs keeping in mind COVID restrictions. Housekeeping dropped off fresh towels each day as they are not able to enter guest rooms.
Our room was clean on our arrival. We enjoyed the grounds. Flowers at the end of September were still blooming. We used the hot tub one afternoon and sat on the manor lawn chairs and enjoyed the scenery and a glass of wine. Very relaxing for us.
My wife and I spent three nights, and breakfast and dinner were included. This was good and bad. It was nice to not have to leave the hotel to eat, but it also meant we were restricted to their restaurant for all three nights. The menu is a little limited with one daily special. It is a popular place for dinner with non hotel guests filling the parking lot. The restaurant staff was very good, although a little short handed. Food quality was good. Keep in mind you get a soup or salad and an entree for dinner included with your stay. Everything else is extra as well as the tip. For breakfast, you get coffee/tea and juice with an entree. We didn’t order anything additional at breakfast, but we did at dinner.
The only dog we encountered was behind the office door. Not loose in the manor. No issues with masks at dinner. Keep it on until seated and then you are done until you get up to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bostonpaulm45 wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful accommodations, superb staff and impeccable food and drinks. We went for a romantic Valentine's weekend and had THE BEST time ever! From the moment you walk in you feel like you're the only guests there. Everyone is hyper-focused on making your stay at Stonehurst the best you'll ever have - and they succeeded. Located near all the skiing and winter activities you'd want, teamed up with the best accommodations, staff, food and ambiance ever - don't miss Stonehurst Manor for your next trip to N.H.!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Rattay, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Thank you! Yes we are very centrally located -- just a mile and half north of the center of town -- very close to skiing at Cranmore. Wildcat, Breton Woods and Attitash are all not too far away as well. And of course, when you stay with us your rates include both dinner and breakfast. Thank you again we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Chris J wrote a review Feb 2020
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the second time we have visited the property. The first time, we LOVED our visit. We specifically picked our same room again, and really looked forward to this visit. However, the rug in our room was VERY wet when we arrived (not just moist, but sopping wet in several areas). We didn't notice until our socks and some luggage got wet. We talked with the front desk and they told us they had shampooed the rug, and had "hoped" it would dry prior to our arrival. They told us it was because of muddy boots, although the room started to smell like throw-up as we got into our visit, and this was VERY disappointing.

However, the rest of our stay was amazing like it was the first time. The lounge is really, really nice, the restaurant was great and we really would recommend this place, but it would have been nice if the front desk offered to do something related to our room issues. We hope we can return again, based on our first amazing stay and I'm sure this was just a one time issue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nanci R wrote a review Mar 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was not pleases with the services or amenities of Stonehurst Manor, upon checking in and paying for the remainder of my stay, the person moved on to something else and after a few minutes asked me what I needed, I said the key. Once we got to our room, it was not anything like the website had, the bed was not a queen, and nor was I told at check in that the bathroom was across a shared hallway, although it does say it on the website, however I was not assigned a room at the time of booking, bathroom was not newly renovated as stated. When i inquired about another room, they told me they gave me a discount, not sure what that was, because I paid $258 per night, however website has it as $196. Room was clean, but you needed to request ironing board and hairdryer, also had to get ice at front desk. Don't bother plugging anything in, as the plugs were loose, there was a smoke detector that had a strobe light and it would be going off every 30 seconds, very distracting when trying to sleep. Also, they lock the main entrance, which is fine, I needed to get to my car for something and it was very difficult to unlock the door, if there had been a fire, well who knows what would of happened. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room 1 on the “Mountain View” wing. Never again! The walls are so thin, you can hear absolutely everything in the adjacent and above rooms. The stairs are also adjacent to the room. It is nearly impossible to sleep with all of the noise, footsteps and stomping! It felt like a dormitory. The beds are very old and uncomfortable, we had two little beds so we do not recommend this room. It was very dirty, had not been vacuumed. The majority of our “free” meals at the restaurant were a disaster! They only offered us dinner reservations for 7:45 or later, and it took over an hour to get our meals with a really poor waiter.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Rattay, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor
Responded Nov 26, 2020
It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all your expectations. Regarding the Manor, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities as having been built in 1876 while maintaining the historic integrity of this beautiful Victorian mansion. We recognize that there are great properties in the Mt. Washington Valley and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities of our historic boutique hotel so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations. I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debbie s wrote a review Feb 2020
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently spent a weekend at Stonehurst Manor in North Conway. While it’s a quaint 1800’s inn on the outside and on the first floor lobby, library bar and dining area the actual rooms left much to be desired. Realizing they are trying to keep it in the 1800’s era the room we had could use some updating. The rug was torn where the TV wires were the chairs need updating and the lamp behind chairs though it worked the lampshade was broken. However with that being said. The rooms and a nice screened in porch where you could sit and a nice view of the Moat Mountains. Our stay included breakfast and dinner both days. Breakfast was great. You had plenty to eat so you could actually skip lunch. Dinner on the other hand not so good. Both my husband’s meals the meat was way overcooked to the point it wasn’t enjoyable. My dinners were ok. The staff was very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler07002485800 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hanover, Massachusetts
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying this place is one of the worst in the valley.The manager was rude when I tried to nicely complain about the noise. Our room was in the back under another room that we could hear everything up there including the shower running, the toilet flushing and the people laughing and partying until late at night. 5:30 in the morning they started again as they were leaving. Jolted us right out of bed. We also could hear all the noise from the restaurant which was just beside our room. The room was very small and barely enough for the 2 beds. We could not even walk around to get to the small table. The room smelled musty which added to the misery. It was however clean so they get one star.
The food in the restaurant used to be good but it was not. The food was cold and the wine was stale. Cabernet served cold as they refrigerate it after it's opened. It was in the verge of turning into vinegar. In the morning the breakfast was plentiful but not good. It was cold the toast crumbled when we tried to butter it as it was cooked in the oven until it was so dry it crumbled into a million little pieces, Apparently they do not have a toaster. I was told they would bring an english muffin but never got it. The grapes in the side of fruit were brown and rotten. We actually left and went someplace else for breakfast. Spoke to the manger when leaving and she just looked at me and walked away.
You could not pay me to go back to this place. Just horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jerome J wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel with our cat a lot and it is not always easy to find a establishment that allows pets, let alone a cat. This place highlights being pet friendly, but no where on their website does it say that only dog's count as pets. We booked a reservation, specifying a pet friendly room. It took 2 months to get a confirmation, they of course took our full nights payment the same day we made the reservation. Because we didn't get a written confirmation I called to confirm and to tell them we were traveling with a cat (which they of course deny I ever said). At that time they made no mention this was an issue. We had to make some changes to our reservation and wanted to add an extra night at this place. When I called the second time, and asked if the same room was available for the previous night, they said, no but there were other rooms, I said we are in a pet friendly room as we are traveling with our cat. Then the trouble began. Long story short, now they don't take cats, even though weeks earlier had already had the cat conversation and there was no issue. They were rude and condescending, (was I angry and have a tone, sure but wasn't swearing at them). Needless to say, reservation was cancelled, but they don't appear to want to refund our deposit, even though we are well within the 14 day cancelation policy, and their misleading "pet friendly" policy was the issue in the first place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Rattay, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor
Responded Nov 5, 2020
Long story short, we do not accept cats as do not travel well. You had made your reservations online and only mentioned that you have "a small pet". When you called to make a change to your reservation, you accidently "slipped" and said you had a cat. When we questioned you you, you initially said it was a small dog then finally admitting you have a cat. We are very sorry that we are not able to accommodate guests who choose to travel with cats.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Odette P wrote a review Nov 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the inn a few years back and the room was wonderful so I thought I would try for Thanksgiving weekend. We could not stay in the inn because we were bringing our dog. We rented a dog friendly room. When we arrived at our room we found that the screen door was broken and swinging in the breeze. The television did not work. There was no hair dryer or alarm clock, no curtains on the windows just mini blinds. When I sat on one of the beds it sounded like metal springs and very uncomfortable. Outside there was no poop bag stand or nearby trash container. Unfortunately my dog became ill because there was too much noise from the room overhead and she was very nervous. We checked in at 4 and checked out at 6 because I was not comfortable leaving the dog in the room while we went to dinner.
Even if she wasn't sick I was not going to stay 3 nights in that room. I was informed that we may be compensated only if they were able to rent the room that night and thursday night, like that was a possibility!
So, lesson learned. Guess we'll be going back to the White Mountain Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Rattay, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor
Responded Jan 24, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us during these challenging times. We do wish to express our sincere apologies that we did not live up to your standards as we are all navigating these troubling and changing times together. We wish you and your family health and happiness.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey S wrote a review Feb 2021
Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I can’t say enough about how great our stay was at Stonehurst Manor....the only negative is that we have to leave today.

Booking was easy, check-in was smooth, room was great - very clean and exactly as pictured. Super comfortable sheets and pillows. We forgot a few toiletries in our haste to get away, and they had them available at the front desk. Food was incredible and servers were excellent. Scenery from the Adirondack chairs was beautiful (see pictures below), and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub as well. We didnt partake of the Martini bar, but the Library Lounge is gorgeous and it was always jumping.

We enjoyed hearing the history of the inn, but we were sad to hear that there are no longer any Mr. or Mrs. Bigelows (cats). Others may of course agree with the choice, LOL. Dogs are permitted in one wing of the inn; we spoke with a couple that had their dog with them on this trip, and they were very pleased with their room. (For those not a part of the canine set, know that we didn’t see or hear one dog all weekend, even though we knew they were here.)

Between the inn’s beautiful public spaces, attractive rooms, the two included meals, and all the amenities available onsite like the pool and hot tub, Stonehurst Manor is an incredible value. Other similar lodgings in the area charge as much or more, and provide way less.

The delicious homemade cookies for the ride home that they gave at checkout were another nice touch. We are already planning our next stay in the fall. Thank you for a WONDERFUL anniversary weekend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Rattay, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful kind words--we are very honored to be a part of your anniversary celebration and so delighted to hear that your stay went above and beyond your expectations. See you for your next anniversary! (or sooner)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joyce C asked a question Oct 2022
Manchester, New Hampshire4 contributions
Do the rooms have mini fridges?
Answer from jan m
ROCKLAND98 contributions41 helpful votes
No
Kei S asked a question Dec 2018
Are cats allowed?
Answer from WallingfordEl
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania155 contributions123 helpful votes
I'm pretty sure, no though it's worth calling and inquiring about. I think I saw that dogs are welcome.
Donna V asked a question Jul 2018
Nashua, New Hampshire41 contributions9 helpful votes
Are dogs allowed?
Answer from Rachel K
1 contribution
Yes they are
Answer from Kathy B
Needham, Massachusetts111 contributions39 helpful votes
Yes, a few are accessible. Pool is closed. Avoid rooms in back unless you are bringing a pet. They are basic rooms.
dreamin2travel asked a question Sep 2017
Pennellville, New York82 contributions12 helpful votes
Which room, 6-10, offers the most privacy or is at the end of the wing?
Answer from expoteddy
Longueuil, Canada47 contributions30 helpful votes
There would not be any that offer exceptional privitcy,I would stay in the lowest number available just for convenience. Enjoy your stay.
Pamela S wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not recommend"
Read full review
Bella wrote a tip Mar 2024
Mansfield, Massachusetts6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overpriced Inn, dining and drinks. Food not good. "
Read full review
Brian D wrote a tip Dec 2023
West Kennebunk, Maine2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed in room 8 was almost impossible to sleep on . "
Read full review
Judi P wrote a tip Nov 2023
Grantham, New Hampshire33 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room in the main building if you want an "inn" experience. Room 10 in the "mountainview" room is not an "inn-like" room. "
Read full review
Pam S wrote a tip Oct 2023
364 contributions571 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat dinner at the Rose but don’t book a room!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the North Conway area.
PRICE RANGE
C$393 - C$492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the stonehurst manor hotel north conway, stonehurst manor north conway, stonehurst manor hotel north conway
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireWhite MountainsConwayNorth Conway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Stonehurst Manor - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Stonehurst Manor
Which popular attractions are close to The Stonehurst Manor?
Nearby attractions include The Original Cigar & Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Stonehurst Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Stonehurst Manor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Stonehurst Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Stonehurst Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moat Mountain Smokehouse & Brewery, Trails End Ice Cream, and The Local Grocer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Stonehurst Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Stonehurst Manor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Stonehurst Manor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting North Conway Train Station (2.2 km).
Does The Stonehurst Manor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All North Conway HotelsNorth Conway Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in North ConwayHotels near The Stonehurst Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars