We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Martin Hill Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Martin Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a very attractive B&B with exceptionally well-appointed rooms that satisfy all the traveler's requirements. A large informative notebook in the room is an excellent guide to Portsmouth. The inn is located within easy walking distance to the fine shops and restaurants of downtown. There was an exceptional breakfast served in the morning by our ever helpful and charming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bowdude
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in the Cathedral Room which was spacious with a large bathroom and decorated with the charming details you would expect in a New England B&B. The nice surprise was the addition of modern conveniences such as power strips to plug in electronics and a mini fridge. Breakfast is served between 830 and 930 am and was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
Vermont
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here mid week last week and had a wonderful time. It is just out of the downtown (10-15 minutes) and certainly worth the walk, especially on a beautiful summer evening after a terrific dinner at any of the amazing restaurants in Portsmouth. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling--no need for lunch after the lemon mousse and tart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VTXCskier
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Oozing romance, attention to detail in the room and at breakfast, and a good location make this inn a perfect place to stay. We were in Portsmouth last year for a night and stayed outside of downtown, so when we returned this year for a few days, we wanted to stay close to downtown. This inn is a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My 17 years old son and I spent two wonderful nights at Martin Hill's Inn. I love the B&B concept, and have stayed in quite a few around Europe, Canada and the US. I have to say that Russ and Meg are doing an excellent job here. You can tell the minute you walk in, how passionate they are about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eyes-wide-opn
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived early...........and were told our room was not ready which was understandable. I then asked if I could use there bathroom and explained we had just driven for 3 hours to get there. The innkeeper's response was........''we don't have a bathroom people can use".........and susggested I use the public bathroom downtown which was horrible!!! She knew we were staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marci B
Meg_and_Russ, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for your review. We are so sorry you didn't have a better experience with us. We really wish we could check guests in whenever they arrive, ( I believe you arrived at around 12:30?) but our late check out time at 11AM doesn't allow us the time to get all the rooms ready in time....

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. We were made to feel welcome, everything was clean. The B&B was quite charming and a less than 10 minute walk from the center of town. Beautiful shade garden to relax after morning activities. The breakfast was out of this world! I hope to visit Portsmouth again, and I would not hesitate to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolynT1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A very charming B&B which enhanced our family trip to the NE Coast from the UK. We had two rooms, both of which were excellently presented and maintained. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating and helpful without being obtrusive. The house itself is located close enough to the town centre to be convenient, without being so close to be affected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thelbs
Mainz, Germany
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The old house in the center of Portshouth (15 min walk to Strawberry Bank) is charming and very nice. Rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable, clean and well maintained. The two course full breakfast is superb and tasty, and the owners manage very well special food requirements. They also offer good tips for your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verleihnix2013
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a very nice Inn. The price was right and the quality was high. The bed was very creaky, had dents and I did have trouble sleeping. It may have been due to eating chocolate ice cream after 9:00pm. The air conditioner was a simple window model and was very noisy and rattled. Otherwise, I am very happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S T

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
457 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Martin Hill Inn provides traditional New England Hospitality in the heart of vibrant Portsmouth, NH. There are two buildings dating from the early 1800's with a large shade garden connecting the property to an off-street parking area for our guests. The Inn has a total of 7 bedrooms in the two buildings. We serve a full complimentary breakfast. Favorite menu items include Banana-Walnut muffins, Orange Cardamom Baked Pears, Baked Ham and Swiss Omelets, Cornmeal waffles with Strawberry sauce and traditional Blueberry pancakes with real 100% maple syrup. The Inn is located a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Portsmouth's shops, restaurants, theaters and museums. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martin Hill Inn

Address: 404 Islington St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4208
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $141 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Martin Hill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There was a room behind us with a separate living area, and enclosed porch with more privacy than ours.”
purpleij, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Require a preview before paying.”
Pizor, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Sea Witch is a perfect retreat! Cozy, comfortable, quiet.”
755danielg, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check website for info on all the rooms. Each has its own charm. I liked being in the annex, as it was off the main street and quiet.”
Lovewell54, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a nice bathtub, they provide bath bombs!”
  • Cathedral room
pushplay, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5