We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$101
View deal
Booking.comUS$101
Hotels.comUS$101
TravelocityUS$101
PricelineUS$101
Vio.comUS$101
TripadvisorUS$101
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 19 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is only minutes from historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire and is convenient to I-95 and Route 16/4. The hotel is situated right outside the Pease International Tradesport and ten miles from the University of New Hampshire. The Hampton Inn Portsmouth is perfectly located in the heart of the seacoast, and for those on vacation, Water Country is an easy ten minute drive and the major malls and Kittery Outlets are less than five minutes away. Our Portsmouth hotel provides complimentary van transportation to and from Water Country and the Tanger Centers at the Kittery Outlets. Guests will have over 100 restaurants to choose from that range from casual fare to fine dining, with most located less than three miles from the hotel. Take a refreshing dip in our indoor pool. Hot breakfast and WiFi are on us. We love having you here!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1027Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 534
  • 293
  • 109
  • 53
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ashley J wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
BEWARE: The Front Desk is only willing to help themselves-NOT you! This happened twice! I tried to get early check in because I'm an essential worker and had to be at work to start my shift and was working until early morning. Asked for Early Check In on the top floor(so it was quiet), and the Front Desk Manager made it out to be a ridiculous request. I called before my flight at 10AM and asked for check in at 1PM which gave them at least 2 hours to get a room available which with all these people checking out highly probable they could find a room to clean early enough! Instead, they said "we have alot of people checking out and cannot guarantee that we will have a room ready". I replied that I am not asking for a guarantee but if the cleaning starts at 8AM and I wanted a room around 1PM, why couldn't they just ask the Housekeeping Manager to have them clean starting on the top floor first? A very simple request to be able to make to work on time. Instead, the Front Desk Manager could not connect the dots of what Customer Service is- sign of poor management and training! The second time I made a reservation and called for early check in, this same Front Desk Manager basically got on the phone and accused me of being beligarent and was refusing to help me. I then cancelled my reservation and stayed at The Hampton Downtown Portsmouth which was a breath of fresh air! I was told by Hilton Corporate when I filed my complaint that got nowhere, that the properties are owned by (2) different owners. HUGE difference! I will never stay there again as long as that Front Desk Manager is working there! The Hampton Downtown Portsmouth Front Desk Manager and staff were so understanding and friendly about my needs- and have had NO friction or nasty treatment as I did at Hampton Portsmouth Central! And to add, the first stay I had at Portsmouth Central, there was a kid sitting there eating breakfast coughing and sneezing, wiping his nose at the breakfast area and nothing was said- disgusting! NO COVID Health & Safety here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Loretta113 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Stonington, Connecticut6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
This Hotel was very clean and well-maintained. Our room (king bed) was clean and the bathroom was updated. The bed was comfortable. We had a microwave, small fridge, and coffee/tea maker in our room. We had all the amenities we needed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nazba Jenulevich, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Aug. 26, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive experience with other travelers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaineJed wrote a review Nov. 2022
maine2 contributions3 helpful votes
Selected this hotel over others in area for indoor pool and indoor hot tub. Arrived-- hot tub broken, leaking, waiting for a part. Totally understand, equipment breaks down, it happens, but..... had king room with stall shower, drain apparently plugged/slow, flooded bathroom and out into room. Fortunately a room with tub and shower was available to move to
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Nov. 8, 2022
Thank you for the review. I am the GM and sorry you had to go through that. We did have a plumber come in and attend to the drain. As to the hot tub it's unfortunate so many parts are on backorder. We tried to post it to the website as soon as we knew it would be out of service. The good news is it will be running by end of week and that doesn't help you. Next time you want to stay in Portsmouth give the hotel a call and ask for Greg and I will take care of you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KevinL41872 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Pelham, New Hampshire392 contributions113 helpful votes
Stayed locally for some team training and we put a dozen or so folks up at this location. I was a bit surprised on the pricing, pretty high and no real value met. But, everyone had good nights sleep and within 3 miles to our office. I didnt feel welcomed and felt the customer service was lousy. I will stay at the properties on the other side of Portsmouth next time
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Nov. 3, 2022
That is very unfortunate to hear you didn't seem welcomed. We pride ourselves on being positive and making everyone feel at home. We hope you give us another chance and have a great winter.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YotaPower wrote a review Oct. 2022
Guilford, Maine733 contributions280 helpful votes
The staff treated us good at check in and the room was clean. The location is a bit off the beaten path which is both good and bad depending on what you are looking for. There are a few thing within walking distance for shopping or eating if you are tired when you arrive. Overall, it was a good evening spent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Nov. 5, 2022
Thank you very much for the kind words. We hope to see you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dorothy C wrote a review Oct. 2022
6 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel was nice enough but we had ants in our room, which were brought to the attention of management. We could see that nothing was done, as this is what we found when we returned in the evening. Also thought the price we paid for two nights was high.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Nov. 5, 2022
Thank you for the review. We do apologize regarding that incident and the miscommunication of you not moving rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yardenaa wrote a review Sep. 2022
Greenwich, Connecticut5 contributions6 helpful votes
I booked my stay (Tues-Saturday) at this Hampton Inn, as I was going to be in town for a family funeral. I booked a king room. When I arrived, they gave me a room with two double beds. There were dirty q-tips on the floor. When I called down to the front desk to let them know it wasn't a king room, no one responded. I tried again a few minutes later. Still nothing. I then went downstairs to tell the front desk who flatly told me that there were no more king rooms, there was nothing she could do, and no, I would not be given a refund. When I insisted I'd paid extra, she curtly told me there was nothing she could do and to talk to the manager the next day. The next day, I came downstairs, and explained the situation to the front desk gentleman (not the guy with the beard, the younger, clean-shaven guy.) I said, again, that I'd paid for a king room and if they didn't have it and wouldn't move me, to please refund me, or do something, as I'd given the motel almost $1200. He flatly refused, and when I got upset, had the audacity to tell me I was being rude. When I told him the room was dirty (q-tips on the floor, a suspiciously sticky hairdryer handle) he shrugged and said nothing. Here's the thing: I work in a customer service field, and when you're wrong, you admit it, and do everything you can to make it right. if you don't have the room I reserved (and paid extra for), or the room is dirty, you bend over backward to make it right. Instead, everyone was dispassionate, and peeved that I was complaining. But under 95% of situations, I'm not a complainer. When I called Hampton Inn's customer service line they told me there was nothing they could do until my stay was over. That means, I'd have to stay another three nights with no change. It's unconscionable. I'm a Hilton Honors member but will never stay at a Portsmouth Hampton Inn again. Even if the staff hates their jobs, the least they could have done was be sympathetic and tried to make things better. (I don't know if the fact that I'm a young woman made it worse, they were much nicer to my father when he spoke with them about his own room.) Truly terrible (not to mention gross) experience. Find somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Sep. 23, 2022
I am very sorry to see this happened during your stay. This is the first I am hearing of something like this happening. Would you please email me at ggirtatos@girihotels.com and I would like to make this right.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hopsing-NH wrote a review Sep. 2022
Gorham, New Hampshire1067 contributions213 helpful votes
I really liked the "tucked away" location and walking distance to Christmas Tree Shop and Bed, Bath and Beyond. Also very easy to get to the Fox Run Mall. Clean property both outside, lobby and room. Sheets were super soft and beds pretty comfortable. Had fridge and pod style coffee in room. AC/heat unit was making some loud noises, fan mode worked fine. Breakfast was good with ample seating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Sep. 23, 2022
Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerfectIslands wrote a review Aug. 2022
New York123 contributions95 helpful votes
The staff at the desk was friendly and eager to be helpful. Alisha and Joanna (not sure if that’s the proper spelling) could not have been any nicer or more helpful. We needed two rooms on the same floor “near” each other. We were accommodated with side by side rooms. Room is very, very basic. It was clean, and it was comfortable enough for a 3 day stay. It probably had the best walk-in shower in a hotel that I’ve had in a long time. The indoor pool (no outdoor pool) area is another story. The heat in the pool area was so bad, they had to open the windows.....except they were only able to open about 3 inches. The doors were locked so there was no access to the outside patio area. It was brutal in there (and this was in July).....I exited after about 30 minutes as it was becoming hard to breath in there. Their breakfast is very minimal, but efficient to get you going in the morning......that is if they refill the trays!!! Breakfast runs till 10:00 am, but at 9 o’clock one day (after waiting about 20 minutes) I asked the young lady working the food station area when they would be bringing out more oatmeal. She informed me they only make it once every morning. The next day by 9:15 there were no more eggs. Needless to say.....the eggs too were never replenished either! They have some cold cereal, make your own waffles, 2 or 3 fruits, yogurts, 2 types of bread a meat (usually sausage or bacon) eggs and oatmeal (maybe on both of those if you’re awake and downstairs by 6:30 am). Best part was (Monday to Friday) the managers “cocktail hour” in the late afternoon (beer, wine, lemonade, soda or water and a bag of snacks) and the warm chocolate chip cookies. Nice touch! Hotel is set back off main road within other stores/buildings parking lots.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hampton Inn Portsmouth, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Aug. 16, 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to our review. We take feedback like this seriously and will use it as a learning block to make the experience the best we can!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tyler D wrote a review Aug. 2022
Stamford, Connecticut177 contributions141 helpful votes
This was a very nice and comfortable hotel to stay for both the Portsmouth and York harbor areas, which are a very short drive. We went with out dog and enjoyed it very much. The hot tub was decent but a little old, but otherwise we would stay here again. Very nice staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Girtatos, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Responded Aug. 19, 2022
Thank you very much for the review! we hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn portsmouth hotel portsmouth, portsmouth hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central (C̶$̶1̶3̶6̶) C$121 - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (NH) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Nearby attractions include Stairway To Heaven Comics (0.9 km), Barnes & Noble Bookstore & Café (0.8 km), and Portsmouth Plaza (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include LongHorn Steakhouse, Olive Garden Italian Restaurant, and Paddy's American Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central have airport transportation?
Yes, Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.