Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth

Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth

Traveller (160)
                  front view 2
Room & Suite (73)
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 19 hotels in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Upscale all suite property with complimentary internet access, complimentary buffet breakfast 7 days, Indoor swimming pool and fitness area, meeting room with 625 square feet or multi-functional space, business center. Our property is a 5 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth with a selection of great shops and restaurants, and a 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. The hotel is located conveniently off of routes 95 and 16 and only 10 minutes from the Kittery outlets and all of the attractions that the seacoast has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Manchester Municipal Airport
56.1 km
See all flights
Portsmouth International Airport at Pease
1,166Review13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 745
  • 255
  • 87
  • 45
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
209arthurg wrote a review Aug 2022
Batavia, New York21 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rarely do I write about a hotel experience but this is worth it. Arriving around 7 at night in Portsmouth on a Wednesday night without a reservation turns out not to be a good idea. After three failed tries, I called the Homewood Suites and got their general reservation “service” person. The call was a disaster but it seemed they had rooms. So we drove over and were told they were sold out. However, the clerk said to wait a minute and she would search the system. It took a while but a room was found. And although it was expensive, we were so grateful to Mary Lou for caring, for taking the time to find a room and for kindness and humor. It is so wonderful to find someone who goes beyond her job to help strangers. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book earlier in the day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Wilkins, General Manager at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Responded Aug 17, 2022
209arthurg, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that Mary Lou was able to find a suite for you and make you comfortable while you were in Portsmouth. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rahtwins wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for family to celebrate my mom and nephews bday. I called the hotel to request a pack and play for my 5 week old niece and was told they would leave one in our room. However there was none available when we arrived. Also we were informed that daily cleaning of rooms was unavailable due to low staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa N wrote a review Oct 2021
Fishers, United States3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and quiet for a nice peaceful walk around the property. There were an abundance of amenities available for both business and pleasure. The courtyard is great with gas grills picnic furniture and outdoor furniture to just relax from your day. There is a full hot complimentary breakfast every morning but your room is well appointed with a full kitchen if you want to prepare your own meals. The staff is very friendly and will assist you with what you need. It’s a great sea coast location to visit different area attractions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SD Lane wrote a review Oct 2021
Fairfield, Connecticut10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t know how higher ratings than two stars are possible. I’m just going to summarize -

1. The smell on the 3rd floor made us hold our breath every time we got off the elevator until we got to our room. We kept our windows open all weekend. Think old cafeteria food, stale cigarettes and weed, and a dash of something undefinable. We called it “The Smell.”

2. One working elevator. Smudges, scratches and carvings all over the elevator walls.

3. My room had not been cleaned from the previous guest. The fitted sheet had yellow stains, there were crumbled napkins in the bed and wrappers between the bed and nightstand. The pillows were just thrown by the headboard.

4. Bathroom smelled like wet mildewed towels. Tub had stains and the mat over the stains was slippery and also stained.

5. No shampoo, conditioner or lotion. I was told “all Hiltons are out of everything.”

6. I asked Debbie for housekeeping at noon as I was leaving on Saturday, and specified that just clean sheets and towels were needed. 7 hours later I returned to nothing having been done.

7. On my way out at 8 pm I asked for housekeeping and was told it was not possible. I said I needed new sheets and the desk girl went and got linens and handed them to me. I said I was leaving and needed the bed taken care of by someone there by 11 pm. I returned after midnight to the sheets sitting on the couch in the room.

On top of this, everywhere you looked, something was stained, banged up, peeling or dirty. Then there was the cast of disheveled, strange men constantly lounging in the lobby, getting coffee at the coffee station and hanging by the front door all weekend. The front desk person was sitting in a chair in front of the fireplace talking with some of them Saturday night, so it’s hard to tell if they were guests or locals hanging out. I felt very unsafe in a hotel for the first time in my life. I called three hotels trying to find other accommodations, but it’s peak season in Portsmouth and they were all booked.

I booked this hotel from a 3rd party (and non-refundable) app and didn’t check reviews first, so some of the shame is on me, I guess. I thought being a Hilton, it would be basic but decent. Nope.

This hotel may be in a good location, only 1.5 miles to downtown Portsmouth, but that is literally the only redeeming quality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdgrl wrote a review Aug 2022
Owings, Maryland49 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We made two visits to the Homewood Suites in Portsmouth over the course of a 2 week vacation. We have stayed at this hotel many times because it is a great location to start and finish our vacations in New England. This is our first visit post-pandemic and what a disappointment. On our first stay, we found a dirty towel in our bathroom and the bedding for the sleep sofa was dirty and missing pieces. I initially blamed that on the hotel staff just having a bad day. It happens.

However, on our second visit, less than two weeks later, we found our room musty and smelling of stale cigarette smoke. I am not sure if this is because someone actually smoked in our room or because we were on the first floor and everyone was smoking outside. When I asked for a room change, we were informed the hotel was full and no change was possible. There was no apology or offer of compensation. The beds in both rooms we stayed in are tired at best. The springs on the sofa bed mattresses were poking through making it uncomfortable for my son to sleep. The regular beds are also uncomfortable and need to be replaced. The final blow was the breakfast. There was no yogurt or fresh fruit, no waffle maker, nothing you would typically expect from a Homewood Suites breakfast. With the exception of one front desk person, the staff were clearly just going through the motions. When I checked out, there was not the typical inquiry about our stay. When I told her we were checking out, she literally just said "okay". This has consistently been one of our favorite hotels to stay in but after these experiences, I will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jrzgrl wrote a review Aug 2022
Montclair, New Jersey91 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
Great pillows and bedding
Flavored water in lobby
Complimentary cookie
Quiet location
Great view of sunset
Full kitchen
Coffee available before 7 am
It was clear what time breakfast was served
I liked the location. I read office park and panicked but it was tranquil and pretty.

Cons
Smoke smell strong in room
Breakfast could be better
Guys grilling and talking loudly under my window at 6 am on a Sunday like what!?!! Common sense is lacking with many. Not the fault of the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D J B wrote a review Oct 2023
Portsmouth, New Hampshire67 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at your location since Monday afternoon . I have to say charging for parking in an open parking lot , when others don’t is being greedy at a whole new level.

Also , whichever dimwit thought it was a good idea to place the shampoo, conditioner, and body wash on the wall next to where someone would be standing is a common sense lacking dimwit. I scrapped and scratched my arms & elbows serval times because of where the bottles were placed/attached to, where someone normally stands. They should have been placed on the same wall or opposite wall of the shower head ! Not next to someone , in a narrow hotel commercial sided tub which would hit , scrap and scratch themselves.

3rd thing , the clearly bargain basement highly salted , high chemical fake as all hell mass produced eggs , bacon , sausage, microwaved breakfast each morning …. Was absolutely disgusting, bland , tasteless , highly salted crap! You need to buy real food , not unhealthy fake foods , that could also be why most of the hotel staff is overweight as well.
4th thing, Wifi/Internet was VERY slow, and the TV entertainment system is badly outdated, like the old Hilton decor. hotel needs to be updated !

4th thing : WiFi was god awful slow , couldn’t even have teams or WebEx video conf calls in the room. Had to use my phone hot spot because the internet wouldn’t go over 10mb during speed tests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: OK location, highly processed fake salty food, charges for parking end of a street, open parking lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leslieslater wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in staff was extremely rude. She didn’t even tell us how to find the room!! The room had a bright flashing light on the smoke detector right over the bed. Hotel staff said there was nothing they could do about it. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and never had this problem.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Priscilla Pelt, Guest Services / Front Office at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Responded May 5, 2021
Dear leslieslater, We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. It is our goal at Homewood Suites to make you feel at home and provide excellent service. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we take our commitment to our Suite Assurance Guarantee very seriously. Will be sure to mention to my entire front desk staff we are providing and communicating amenities and locations of areas in the hotel during the check-in process. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Respectfully, Priscilla Pelt Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brenda L wrote a review Jul 2020
Troy, New Hampshire25 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We reserved a king one bedroom suite in late May for a late June stay. Upon check in, there were no rooms of that type available and no one could tell us why. We were not offered any compensation for the inconvenience. We had a choice: a king studio suite or a one bedroom with 2 queen beds. We wanted space so we reluctantly chose the one with the queen beds. The carpet was stained and worn, the beds were hard and the pillows were flimsy.
There was no housekeeping for the 4 days we were there. This was not mentioned to us. It was to to the coronavirus. We will never stay at that hotel again.
We were looking for a place to stay for a full week next year, but it won't be there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cbaker499 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not as good as past Hilton locations. I stay exclusively at Hiltons when traveling and this location was not up to par with the rest.
Washcloth from previous occupant hanging on the shower curtain rod, bathroom wasn't as clean as expected, stain on the shower curtain, wall mounted soap dishes held water instead of shedding water.
Full garbage bags in the elevator area 3 of my 4 days there.
Digital key wasn't 100% reliable. I'd activate the key, the door lock would respond but the door wouldn't open. Pulled the door handle back and forth a few times and the digital key did it's job.
Mattress needed to be flipped. Head area was lower than the foot area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chantel-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear cbaker499, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We regret that we did not exceed your expectations due to the condition of your room. We understand the importance of providing extraordinary accommodations for our guests and want you to know that we have taken note of your feedback as we look to make improvements. We are committed to providing you with an excellent guest experience and hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Brenda L
Troy, New Hampshire25 contributions7 helpful votes
Not all hotels have the same guidelines here as far as I know. If I were you, I would call the hotels you are interested in staying at and ask what their rules are. Different brands ( Hilton, Marriott, etc) may have different rules. I hope this helps.
Ann L asked a question Jun 2018
Charlotte, North Carolina26 contributions2 helpful votes
Where does the shuttle go?
Answer from Heather H
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Usually about 3 miles out from hotel location. Hope this helped.
Ann L asked a question Jun 2018
Charlotte, North Carolina26 contributions2 helpful votes
What is the complementary light dinner look like?
Answer from Diane R
Calabash, North Carolina24 contributions11 helpful votes
We had lasagna, salad and bread in the middle of a snow storm! Excellent!
susanwR7859EG asked a question Dec 2016
Lynn, Massachusetts11 contributions20 helpful votes
What are the hours of the complimentary breakfast?
Answer from Chubsyn
Sussex, New Jersey27 contributions11 helpful votes
Weekdays at 0630 until ~1000. On the weekend breakfast starts later. Call and ask: (603) 427-5400
D J B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Portsmouth, New Hampshire67 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"OK location, highly processed fake salty food, charges for parking end of a street, open parking lot"
Read full review
Jenn G wrote a tip Dec 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from This hotel! It has so much false to it"
Read full review
Wendy wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else."
Read full review
209arthurg wrote a tip Aug 2022
Batavia, New York21 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book earlier in the day"
Read full review
LittleSis54 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Chicago, Illinois222 contributions111 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dark room, not much sunlight, but it is nestled away from traffic, etc."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portsmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
C$200 - C$405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
homewood suites by hilton portsmouth hotel portsmouth, homewood suites portsmouth, hilton portsmouth, homewood portsmouth, portsmouth homewood suites, portsmouth hilton
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Which popular attractions are close to Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Nearby attractions include Snap Quack Pop (0.06 km), T.J. Maxx (0.8 km), and Marshalls (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Puddle Dock Restaurant, Applebee's, and Starbucks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 km away from the centre of Portsmouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
All Portsmouth HotelsPortsmouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortsmouthHotels near Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars