We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth

Save
Share
383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$98
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Wyndham
US$98
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$97
View deal
Expedia.comUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
Lol.travelUS$110
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (112)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (165)

About

#9 of 19 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Portsmouth does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth, a nice option for travellers like you.

While staying at Portsmouth Best Inn, visitors can check out Rundlet-May House (1.3 km) and Portsmouth Black Heritage Trail (1.4 km), some of Portsmouth's top attractions.

Rooms at America`s Best Inns Hotel provide a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at America`s Best Inns Hotel guests have access to 24 hour front desk and newspaper. You can also enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Portsmouth Best Inn.

While visiting Portsmouth, you may want to try some tapas at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Moxy, The Franklin, or Black Trumpet Bistro.

If you’re looking for something to do, Market Square (1.7 km), USS Albacore Museum (1.2 km), and Portsmouth Harbor Trail (1.7 km) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Best Inn Portsmouth.

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Portsmouth.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling
Golf course
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Hiking
Mini golf
Water park
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English
568Reviews4Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 194
  • 215
  • 98
  • 36
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sandi H wrote a review Jan. 1
NH31 contributions13 helpful votes
Wonderful value! This hotel is perfect for a good night’s rest. Located right off the highway, easy walk to downtown Portsmouth. Our room was spotless! Front desk staff was very friendly. Continental breakfast was limited, but fresh and appetizing. I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Terri B wrote a review Oct. 2022
1 contribution
We traveled with another couple along the coast. We drove 4 hours and arrived 1:00. The clerk at the desk was very abrupt and told us our rooms wouldn’t be available until 3:00 We needed a restroom and we were directed to the basement to the Laundry room to basically a water closet We came back at 3:00 and we’re relieved to see a friendly clerk at the desk. Our room was on the 3rd floor. Hotel is very dated but room seemed clean. I always pullback the corners of the sheets to look for bedbugs on the mattress and sure enough there were bugs. We went down to our friends room on the 2nd floor and their mattress had more bugs then ours. The clerk was as horrified as we were and returned our money. The event totally ruined our weekend. It was late in the day and no rooms available elsewhere. We ended driving back home 4 hours. Our weekend was totally wrecked Just an FYI. They advertise breakfast. Breakfast is going to the front desk and grabbing a cup of coffee and a breakfast sandwich I would submit a picture but I’m having trouble with the sight
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbin Shafer-Page, Guest Services / Front Office at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth
Responded Oct. 26, 2022
Hello we are sorry that you had a less then great stay with us. Most hotel check in is 3 pm and after if the rooms are ready we will definitely would have checked you in at the time of your arrival. Our public restroom is a standard size restroom. I apologize for the bugs do to the weather changing they do get in our pest control company confirmed that is was not any type of bedbugs. And as for the breakfast we are still limited on the items that we can get and if what they have in stock.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jgonza946014 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
Everything about this stay was terrible, the staff was rude and disrespectful. Not one person was friendly or understanding. Do yourself a favor and just stay somewhere else! You get no quality for your money, just a horrible experience from start to finish.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbin Shafer-Page, Guest Services / Front Office at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth
Responded Oct. 26, 2022
Hello I do apologize that you didn't have your needs met by our staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel H wrote a review Sep. 2022
Nj12 contributions4 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this Howard Johnson Labor Day Weekend. because we had a better than 4 star stay at the Middletown, RI location a few minutes north of Newport. I will say that the room was very clean and the staff was friendly the bed was comfortable and the location was convenient and safe. However, I gave it 3 stars because you can't designate a half star. The hot breakfast was not a hot breakfast at all. It was a vending machine style sandwich that was terrible and a pack Hostess of mini muffins which was handed out at the front desk. Please don't tell me that there is a hot breakfast included when there is not. We had a real hot breakfast the 2nd morning at a local establishment for an additional expense which we thought we would be spared because of the advertised hot breakfast. That being said if your looking for a clean room, friendly staff, a comfortable bed with a safe and convenient location this place will work. If you like me have stayed at a Howard Johnson's and got a hot breakfast include with your stay, this place does not have that. Other than that issue, I would recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room away from I95 not sure what that side is
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robbin Shafer-Page, Guest Services / Front Office at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth
Responded Oct. 26, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are planning at the beginning of the new year to go back to the full contintal breakfast
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rhoda189 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz, Germany2 contributions1 helpful vote
Not worth the money. Inconsistent service from staff..some absolutely horrible and other wonderful…like a crap shoot, not sure what you are going to get. Minimal bathroom amenities. Quality of a roadside motel. Cleaning staff does not check for damages in room. Better off at McDonald’s for breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BrianA060 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Saint John, Canada181 contributions111 helpful votes
Positive - Large comfortable room decorated in Howard Johnson orange and white. We were there for three nights and our room was cleaned promptly and thoroughly each time. Outstanding front desk staff especially Tyron Fields.Short drive to the centre of Portsmouth, Foxrun mall and the main highways.. Negative - Even though our room and the rest of the hotel was clean the two retro (center peice) chairs in the lobby were filthy, not a great first impression. Our room was next to the ice machine which wasn’t closed in and was very noisy. The breakfast was the worst breakfast we have ever had!There wasn’t hardly anything in the breakfast room so we had to go to the front desk and ask for vending machine like muffins or a breakfast sandwich. The sandwich was a biscuit stuffed with something that was supposed to be cheese and sausage but I think it came from a chemical plant from some third world country. There was a hot water dispenser in the Breakfast room that never got filled in all three days we were there and worst of all, they only had fresh fruit one day and only one apple at that. When we asked about the promised fruit they just said that deliveries weren’t like they used to be ??? Even though it wasn’t a bad experience we will try somewhere else next time mainly because of the breakfast service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms on the second floor near the elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mikaelaemmellsgreene wrote a review Aug. 2022
Portsmouth, New Hampshire12 contributions
The team at this place was awesome. So friendly and funny. Definitely worth it! The price, location, and people make it a fun, at home feel. Free breakfast is also worth the stay. They have corn hole boards you can use for a small deposit that you get back as long as you return everything. It really is the best!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Flymia wrote a review Aug. 2022
Miami, Florida1245 contributions48 helpful votes
We where here just for a stopover with a drive north. You can tell the hotel had some recent renovations. We were here for no more than a night, but everything worked, was quite, and comfortable. Front desk staff was very good as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Guy wrote a review Aug. 2022
Prague, Czech Republic3 contributions2 helpful votes
They should be aware of what to be fixed before renting. The hotel was a little out of the center of the city but close to a few good breakfast restaurants because they did not offer any. Parking was fine. Staff was fine but lacked in class. They looked like they had a little much to drink. We explaned that the shower control was broken and could not use the shower. They came to check and acknoledge but the next morning at check out they gave the description of the break with the wrong room number.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kjdsfor8 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Athens, Tennessee1 contribution
Very nice up to date hotel, staffing was extremely friendly, room was clean & the perfect size. Great location too right off the interstate. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to tour Portsmouth or even Nubble Lighthouse which is less than a 30 minute drive north.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
america`s best inns hotel portsmouth, america`s best inns and suites, best inn americas, best inn portsmouth, portsmouth best inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
America's Best Inns & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth (C̶$̶1̶3̶2̶) C$99 - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (NH) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth
Which popular attractions are close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Nearby attractions include USS Albacore Museum (1.2 km), Portsmouth Escape Room (1.1 km), and Jackson House (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lexie's Joint, The Roundabout Diner & Lounge, and Street.
Does Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth have airport transportation?
Yes, Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strawbery Banke Museum (2.0 km), Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden (1.7 km), and African Burying Ground (1.6 km).
Is Howard Johnson by Wyndham Portsmouth accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.