We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Friendly check in staff, average room. Only one elevator which made for many looong waits. The room was not as clean as I would like (greasy smears on the nightstand, dusty bed rail) but overall it was ok. The bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I've seem - some airplane bathrooms have more room. Our room faced the parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TSAWorld
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear TSAWorld, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is nice to know that the staff that checked you inn was friendly. most importantly, I am very happy that you all slept well in the beds and pillows. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you have had with the long wait on the elevator...

Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If the room had been as nice as the lobby this would have been a good experience. Friendly staff greeted us upon arrival and then it was downhill. Our third floor king room was beyond needing refurbishing. Shabby furnishings, wall paper and bed linen (yes piling sheets) and a poorly draining bathtub. The positives were that the hotel was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegCanada
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear MegCanada, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on our friendly hotel staff. However, we do apologize the experience you had with the condition of the room which was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the...

Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped in here for 2 nights. It is convenient right off I-95. The price was good for the area in the middle of the summer. Coffee and tea were available in the lobby 24 hours. The desk employees were friendly. We received 4 free drink (at the bar) vouchers for being a Priority Club member. I used the washer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delred
Saint-Clar, France
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good location for a stop off on the way to Maine. Hotel decor is a little dated, and the rooms are a squeeze with an extra bed for a family of five. Food is basic but well cooked. Staff are friendly and it has a good pool for the children to relax in. Reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Nick F, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service provided and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like...

Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Clean room, good location, nothing special but some of the other places nearby looked rundown compared to this. I would stay here again. Staff was nice, we had a mix up of beds and they got us a king size bed like we wanted without any problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Sarah T, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Lawrenceville, NJ
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice hotel and clean. However, I was very disappointed because I booked my room 7 months prior to my arrival date. The room I was given was located on the 5th floor right next to the elevator and the ice machine. I went downstairs and asked if we could switch rooms, as it was very noisy. I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NotasPromised
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear NotasPromised, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations....

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Nice location and clean. Little pricey. Bfast included package is only for 1 person even you book with two people in the room. Watch out as their inventory of "Standard Rooms" include a couple of closets with double beds. Make sure you do not get stuck with these rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burly_Swilli
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Burly_Swilli, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read you liked the location of our hotel, but regret falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Again, thank you...

California
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a great stay here! Comfortable, spacious and clean rooms. Very modern and welcoming. Was close to a sea food restaurant where we had the best sea food we have EVER had. We commented on how good it was for so far inland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjjbusiness
Portsmouth
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
Nemacolin, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The staff was absolutely amazing! Our room was nice and clean. The problem I have is when we left our room so it could be cleaned! Housekeeping knocked on our door to clean out room, I didn't want to hold them up so I grabbed my purse and exited the room. Upon returning I noticed that my watch and diamond...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BH85
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear BH85, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Your comments are very troubling and this will certainly be looked into. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $145 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good!”
 of 5 bubbles Jicky28, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“low floor to avoid slow elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TIm902106703, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors mean you can take the stairs and not wait forever for the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Live4VacationTrips, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay down the hall, and avoid the room by the elevator. ...”
 of 5 bubbles 565Rick1958, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Handicapped rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Rick5189, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5